29w0d: Omen

September 1, 2009

Still in the hospital, we’re all hanging in there. Mostly uneventful except for a resurgence of contractions over the weekend, now back under control. Cervix has actually grown from .5 cm back to .9 cm! They would let me go soon if I wanted, but I’m not ready to leave just yet.

Now for the omen. I received these chips with my hospital lunch.

DSCF0855

The “guaranteed fresh until” date is my ideal date to finish helping these babies get “baked,” for several reasons.

It would be 36 weeks, an excellent twin gestation. That is too much to hope for me now, as 36 weeks would be well beyond all doctors’ expectations. But, it sure sounds good.

It is the birthday of my late grandfather, the first birthday since his death.

It is even the birthday of another set of twins in my family.

I can’t think that far ahead — it’s one day at at time, one hour at a time right now. But wouldn’t it be nice? Until then, I’ll just be lying here with my little taters.

30 Responses to “29w0d: Omen”

  1. kat Says:

    Good news!! Bedrest just plain sucks! I’m a nurse on a high risk unit and I think that people in your spot have it the hardest. I’m sure it feels like the medical staff is not doing a whole lot for you minute to minute…but the safety of your babies is worth the boredom. Can I say that I think you are brave for enduring this, without sounding corny? Well, if not – too late. Hang in there…sending you and your little ones good vibes.

  2. Jamie Says:

    That is a good omen if I ever saw one!

    Thinking of you and your babies . . .


  3. Love a good omen ๐Ÿ™‚ Thinking of you and your babies.


  4. That’s not just a good omen, but a GREAT one! Glad ya’ll are still baking. Stay in there little ones!
    *HUGS*

  5. Michele Says:

    One day at a time! You can do this! Oct 20th here you come! I was told when I was admitted that I wouldnt make it to 26w, let alone our goal of 36w (Nov 7). And now we have crossed the 26w mark and are heading towards 28w. You can do this!!! Try to stay positive (even though it is hard) and just take one day at a time.

  6. Lavender Luz Says:

    Know what’s weird? I’ve typed in comments to you before (and then overwritten them) that contain this exact date. More than once! I like the number.

    But I didn’t want to get too controlling. Now I have permission!

  7. Dora Says:

    Heehee! Love this omen. I sure hope so. Glad you’re staying where you feel safest.

    Keep baking babies!!! I’m looking forward to seeing you, but I can wait!

  8. Kristin Says:

    I think it’s a great omen and I’m hoping and praying you prove those doctors wrong! 10/20/09 sounds like a great birthday.

  9. strongblonde Says:

    i think that’s too cute!! i totally agree, too….the longer they can stay in the better!

    i’m officially off work as of today. the doc took one look at my legs/feet, weight gain, and blood pressure and told me i’m done. i’m officially 32 weeks today…so i’m hoping that being at home with my feet up will help things out a bit.

    i’m hopeful for several more weeks for both of us. ….or should i say all 6 of us? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Carrie Says:

    Oh HELL yes, that is a great omen! I am a bit of a superstitious freak about dates and things, so this photo makes me smile! (For the record, our best-case date is 10/27 for a scheduled C-section at 34w3d).

    My cervix wants the floor: Hey Cassandra’s Cervix, Way to go! It is much better for you if you just grow a little bit and stay that way. You should hear how they will talk about you, like you are Superman! (I think my cervix is male.) If you play your cards right, you’ll be parked on the couch at home and they won’t poke or shoot Doppler waves through you as much.

    You are doing a great job baking those taters, Mama!

  11. Shelby Says:

    I too subscribe to omens and like this sign for you! Go taters, go!

    (by the way, I think all of us landing in the hospital sometime in the future should go checking out the expiration dates on our food there…they’re cutting it awful close with that Oct. 20th date ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. clio Says:

    OMG! I’m so behind on some of my reading that I didn’t even know you were going through all that. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts sending prayers for you and your babies.
    This omen looks very good to me. I totally believe in omens.
    **hugs**

  13. samcy Says:

    I love signs like this – hang in there hon – you’re doing GREAT @ baking those babies.

    HUGS
    xxx

  14. Cat Says:

    Nothing wrong with aiming for 36 weeks, regardless of what the doctors say!

  15. Heather Says:

    That sounds like a great birth date. I’ll be hoping you get there.

  16. Kathy Says:

    Glad to hear that they babies are stil “baking” (like your Baked chips) and I love the omen! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Blogger Bingo! Today’s category is to find a post that “talks about the future (or wishes for the future) from any time.” I came to your blog to see how you were holding up and to look for such a post… Ironically your most recent one fit the bill.

    I love that you hope to keep the twins inside until the date on the chips and for all of the significance that date holds in you/your family’s life. I do hope and pray that happens for you or that you get as close to that time as possible. I can certainly relate to taking things one day and one hour at a time these days… Hang in there and I wish you and your “little taters” the best! (((HUGS)))

  17. a Says:

    I’m all for omens…it’s only 7 weeks…anything is possible!


  18. Ooh! I love good omens. Back when I was writing my book, I always took a certain songs coming on the radio as omens that I should keep going forward.

    And great news about your cervix, too. Did this news come before or after the potato chips?

  19. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    What a nice omen! Hope the potato chip makers know what they have done with a manufacturing routine!!!

    Excellent milestone that I hope you are able to touch!

  20. Jamie Says:

    Hang in there! Crazy things do happen. Somehow I’m still pregnant… and even my doctor said yesterday that she didn’t expect I would be. It can happen. I hope you get your ideal “baked” date!

  21. jodie38 Says:

    I think it’s a lovely omen. Hang in there – thinking of you…

  22. birdless Says:

    I’m so glad other people look for signs like that! I do it all the time! Glad to hear everything is looking good with your cervix.

  23. t Says:

    yes, yes, yes! keep on baking!

  24. Chelle Says:

    I am totally a person that follows signs!! It is a great omen. You are doing such a great job-I’m always thinking of you.

  25. Elana Kahn Says:

    I love it! My twins were born at 35 weeks and did great, so hopefully you’ll make it all the way there! A friend of mine just delivered hers at 32 weeks and they’re also doing well. One day at a time…you can do it!

    (Here from Blogger Bingo, a post that talks about the future)

  26. April Says:

    Hang in there – my little guys were born at 33 weeks – seven months ago – and are doing great. Every day makes a difference. Grow babies, grow!

  27. coffeegrl Says:

    I can’t imagine how this can be anything other than a scary time and I don’t blame you for wanting to stick around the hospital, but I’m hoping that this omen portends nothing but good things for the future of you and the little taters ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. trish Says:

    OH I can so relate . It is a great omen.
    My twins were born at 35 weeks 4 days and they did well I can’t imagine how you are feeling right now.
    Keep holding onto the positive.
    I remember my OB a prof saying anything past 28-29 weeks was a good start, so hopefully youโ€™ll make it all the way there!
    He also said 34 weeks was what he was aiming for.
    A friend of mine delivered her b/g twins (a 2nd set of twins for her) at 30 weeks and they are now almost 4 yrs old – normal and energetic bundles of laughter.
    Another had her little boy twins at 28 weeks and now they are 4 months old.
    I repeat the mantra …One day at a timeโ€ฆyou can do it!
    Here from blogger bingo …a beautiful future to you.


  29. Great omen, I’m rooting for your babies to stay in there as long as possible!

  30. Photogrl Says:

    That’s the kind of omen I like to see! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep baking, little ones!


Please leave a reply