28w3d: Progress

August 28, 2009

Not the bad kind of progress, as in “labor is progressing.” The good kind of progress, as in “there is some progress toward a positive outcome.” No contractions at all during any TOCO monitoring in the past 2 days. I have only noticed one contraction in the last 24 hours (but I didn’t notice them at all when they were rampant, so I may not be the best judge). The medication seems to be holding.

They’re talking about sending me home early next week.

I don’t know if I want to go.

As long as I’m here, if anything bad starts to happen, I feel like they can make it okay. At home, I’ll go to the doctor once a week and continue with medication and bedrest. I will most likely wonder constantly what symptoms I’m not noticing, and I will dwell on whether I can catch them in time. If I go home, there will almost certainly be another ambulance ride in my future. It could be after one week or one month, and it could result in another stabilization or an emergency C-section, but none of the doctors think I can make it to 34 weeks.

By all accounts, November is now laughably out of the question. Early October seems to be the best case scenario. For now, it seems pretty sure that we will at least get to September, and that is so much more than I had a few days ago.

Thank you to everyone for your kindness and hope. Apparently all of the other patients around here are blaring the TV all day long (I wouldn’t know, since I haven’t left the room), but your comments are way better than TV.

31 Responses to “28w3d: Progress”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I am so glad to hear the docs are pleased enough with your progress to want to send you home but, I too would be scared to death at the prospect of going home.

    Just to give you a bit of hope, one of my best friends was in a situation similar to you. They really didn’t expect her to make it past 34 weeks at the best (and she was pregnant with a singleton)but, she was still hanging in there at 36 weeks when it came time to discontinue the meds. She held on almost 3 more weeks and delivered at full term. I’m praying for a similar outcome for you.

  2. Lissie Says:

    I’m happy to hear that the contractions have all but stopped… I haven’t commented before, but wanted to let you know that I’m thinking of you and wishing you and your family all the best

  3. Ruth Says:

    So glad to hear that things are looking up for you. We adopted twins that were born at 27 weeks. They are now almost 9 and doing very well, but will always have some issues they have to deal with. May God grant you peace and comfort as you wait – hopefully to full term!

  4. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    I hope and pray that things continue to go well for you, and that you are able to find peace of mind even if you get sent home.

    Hang in there!

  5. Rebecca Says:

    I wouldn’t want to go home either. Glad to hear you’re alright – and lots of good thoughts to Baby A, Baby B and DH too 🙂


  6. Thanks for the update! I’m so glad things have stabilized and hope it will stay that way for a few more weeks! Hang in there, I can imagine you want to stay in the secure hospital environment. Sending positive thoughts your way…

  7. birdless Says:

    Glad you are doing well! Do you have your laptop in the hospital? I hope you are not going out of your mind there. I really believe that your babies are going to be just fine at this point. You are doing a great job taking care of them already!

  8. rosesdaughter Says:

    Glad you and the babies are doing well! Yeah for getting to go home(maybe). I understand why you would want to stay, but think positive!!!!!

  9. strongblonde Says:

    this is good news. every time my doc asks if i’m having contractions i always tell her that i don’t know. i’m constantly worried that i just have no clue. her response is always, “you would know”….

    glad that it looks like you will make it to september. can you ask to stay at the hospital for a little longer? what about going back to the other hospital that you were at first? i agree that i would feel better there….but i suppose it is what they can get insurance to pay for as well, right?

    i’m hoping that those babies stay put for MANY more weeks!!

    xoxo

  10. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    I am so happy…every day like this is such a blessing…Here’s to atleast touching October…I want the best case scenario to be true.

    If you are worried about staying at home would make you more anxious, can you not talk your doctors to let you stay in the hospital for a little while…like till about 15th September or so?

    Much love. Much luck. Take Care.


  11. I hope you make it till October. But just know that medical care is so fantastic for premies these days and they can do wonders. Your little ones will be fine no matter what, you have to keep believing that. It’s so very hard to do when you expect bad things to happen, but try to stay relaxed about the idea of going home. It’ll probably be more comfortable for you than being at the hospital.

    I just want to give you the biggest (((HUG))) right now. Hang in there, you’re doing great, really!

  12. Michele Says:

    I am still holding out for November for you (and for me too! My cerclage is due out Nov 7ish). I know that it is scary when they talk about discharge, but I firmly believe they wouldnt even discuss it if it werent safe. We are still looking at going home in 2w (which will be about 9w in the hospital). As some point, when things are unchanged, I think they feel like that, as long as you are duplicating life in the hospital at home, things will be okay. We are hopeful too.

    One day at a time. That is all we can take…

  13. mekate Says:

    I’m with Wiseguy– here’s to “touching october”– what a great phrase. Of course, I would like you to embrace October fully and hang on tightly– but right now- I get that your news is better, and while I cannot imagine how scary this is for you I trust that they will take no unnecessary risks for you or your babies. That being said, I am a great proponent for asking for what you need to be as comfortable as possible– and if that means- when the time comes– that you would rather stay in a while longer– please just ask.

    And you can also do the halfway thing of staying nearby if that offers any relief (shorter ride etc).
    Thinking of you and hoping that everyone hangs in there, and that you get many more weeks before eventfulness.

    (actually, you know what? I am starting to think that a “normal” pregnancy is pretty darn eventful)–

    wishing you all good things,
    Kate

  14. Carrie Says:

    Hoping and praying that you can surprise the doctors and keep those babies in longer than they predict.


  15. WOW! That’s a good sign the doctors wanting to send you home! I would be scared, too. I don’t blame you one bit.

    I’m hoping, praying, and wishing that those little miracles stay in until AT LEAST the end of September.
    *HUGS*

  16. Carrie Says:

    I am so very grateful that the situation has changed and not only will you see September pregnant, but you should see October that way too! I know that no one wants their babes to be preemie, but I am sure you know how well long term 30+ weekers do. You have passed that all important 28 week milestone and I am so very thankful for that!

    I would not want to go home either. Or perhaps I would WANT to, but be afraid to. I am sure your docs will happily keep you if you want- as you pointed out to me, patients usually fight to go home. It does seem to be a good sign if they think you are stable enough, right? Could they see you twice weekly?

    Sending you much peace and many more weeks with twins tucked inside.


  17. Wishing you the best and hoping for October arrival

  18. S Says:

    Like everyone else, I’m stoked that you’re doing well enough to go home, but honestly, I hope you don’t. I’m of the “if you’re at hospital, they can fix a problem quickly” opinion, even if it means enduring the ass-numbing experience of being on hospital bedrest and dealing with some nice, some painful nurses and such. Not to mention lovely hospital food!

    Can you ask to keep staying there? The babies are the highest priority and although I don’t doubt that you have the best care possible…another ambulance ride or not noticing something is wrong are great fears of mine.

    In any event… I hope the babies stay inside / healthy and keep cooking for as close to term as they can.

    xx

  19. Aunt Becky Says:

    28 weeks is just incredible. So happy to hear it.

  20. Magsy Says:

    The last time I checked your blog I read the “clean sweep” post. What a week you’ve had! I am so sorry you are going through this and so relieved things are looking better. You and your babies are in my thoughts.

  21. Heather Says:

    Good luck over the next several weeks. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers. Keep us posted.

  22. Cara Says:

    Oh My! I was so scared when I clicked over not knowing what I’d find, but you are right this is the best kind of progress. I’m with you though. Get them to keep you!!!

    You will have babies soon enough. For now, you get to be the one loved and cared for hand and foot!!! Keep them safe docs!

  23. niobe Says:

    Thinking of you.

  24. Shinejil Says:

    I’m glad things have stabilized, and I hope your little ones hang in there for way longer than the docs are predicting, only to come out around 34 w thumbing their noses at your OB. 🙂


  25. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.

  26. samcy Says:

    Super glad to hear that no progress is the progress you need…

    xxx

  27. Shelby Says:

    Progress is great to hear, but I totally understand your reluctance to leave. You’ve been through quite a lot in such a short period of time. Thinking of you and your little ones and hoping that they stay put for a good long while.

  28. May Says:

    I felt the same way when I was discharged after being in the hospital on mag sulfate from 24w4d to 26w4d. I was terrified that I would have contractions that I didn’t notice. What I did was take 2-3 times a day where I’d lay quietly with my hand on my uterus, feeling for tightening/hardening from a stealth contraction. I had a limit that my docs said I could contract per hour, after which I would call them. Three times in 10 days they had me come in for monitoring and medication adjustments, and then after 10 days they gave up and hospitalized me again so we could go back to the mag sulfate. That held things off until 35w6d, when we stopped all drugs and I was freed. I didn’t deliver for another 4 days so we almost made full term!

    So I guess that’s my longwinded way of saying that you can always call or go back in for extra monitoring if you think you’re starting to contract. And I found it fairly easy to detect painless contraction just with my hand pressed against my belly!

    Good luck!


  29. I’m so glad that you might get to go home this week. That’s a really great sign. Though I understand wishing you could stay at the hospital. It’s scary the idea of not having a nurse nearby and that call button gets addictive. But it’ll be so much better in the comfort of your own home.

    I also love the phrase, “touching October.” I’ve been sending prayers and thoughts up for you every day and will keep on doing so until the kids get here.

  30. t Says:

    just thinking of you. hope you’re hanging in there lady.

  31. Dora Says:

    HEY! We need an update! Hope everything’s holding steady. Thinking of you!


Please leave a reply

