Catching Up, Part 4

October 28, 2017

So the biggest effect of the concussion? Jealousy. All-consuming, up all night in fight or flight mode, total personality change jealousy. Anger, also, but mostly jealousy. Magnifying glasses and fine-toothed combs and dirty bombs trying to find evidence that my jealousy was justified. After more than a decade and a half of jealousy-free marriage, I was consumed.

Until one day I wasn’t.

The weirdest thing about this personality change is that it took me some time to figure out that it was related to the concussion. I’d been without concussion symptoms for several weeks, and except for the jealousy I still felt like myself. Once I put it together, ohhhhh, that’s where that came from.

Yet another thing I didn’t know about concussions to add to the long list in Part 2. I didn’t know that symptoms could be delayed by weeks, and I didn’t know that it could change a major personality trait even though most of the rest of you was exactly the same.

🕵🏻

6 Responses to “Catching Up, Part 4”


  1. Wow. These insights are helpful to people trying to understand what it’s like to live with a brain that struggles to function well.

  2. Elsie S Says:

    Very intriguing.

    How did your husband deal with this jealousy?

  3. babysmiling Says:

    @Elsie: Once we figured out that it was from the concussion, with patience and reassurance. But it was rough until we figured that out.

  4. a Says:

    Wow! That must have been so strange to experience. Did you realize at the time that you were maybe…acting unusually?

  5. babysmiling Says:

    I really didn’t, not for far too long. I felt like me, I just didn’t act like me.

  6. loribeth61 Says:

    I’ve heard about personality changes, but wow, this is interesting…! Thank you for sharing about this!


Please leave a reply