Perfect Moment Monday: Autumn

October 13, 2008

This weekend was what autumn is all about. These kind of days make the long winter worthwhile.

The weather could not have been more beautiful.

The foliage is just incredible this year. The best I’ve ever seen.

The colors, the scents, the sunshine; the earth was more alive this weekend, and in turn I felt more alive.

To top it off, on Saturday I stopped at a local farm stand. I’ve passed it dozens of times, but never stopped before. The signs for beets don’t entice me enough to make me pull over. But the signs for apples, apples grown right here on their property, were too hard to resist.

I bought a couple of apples and a couple of vegetables. But they also had a field of beautiful pumpkins, and hundreds of fantastic gourds. Little bumpy gourds of every color. Three-foot tall smooth speckled gourds. I’m sorry that I didn’t have my camera with me to show them to you.

This perfect moment was bittersweet, though, because it reminded me that I do not have a child to bring to a pumpkin patch. Pumpkin patches are just made for young children. And although I’m sure that most kids are not particularly interested in gourds, I always imagine that they are. Because when I was a young child, I loved gourds. Strange? Probably. But as a toddler, there was nothing that I found more amazing or joyous than gourds.

For years, I have had fantasies of bringing a child, my child, to a pumpkin patch and marveling at all of the gourd shapes, colors, and textures that nature has to offer. This year, I wandered alone among hundreds of gourds.

Maybe next year.

 

Head to Weebles Wobblog to see more perfect moments.

5 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Autumn”

  1. Lori Says:

    I can sense the strange juxtaposition of feelings. First, the harmony with and beauty of the season, the incredible bounty.

    And then the lack.

    Very poignant, and perfect.

  2. luna Says:

    lovely post. right now I am writing about my experience at our pumpkin patch yesterday. same tough feelings…

    I love fall too.

  3. Martha Says:

    Thank you for sharing, beautiful post. I hope you have a little hand to hold very soon in the pumpkin patch.

  4. Nity Says:

    I went to a farm stand on Monday too. It was amazing to see all the beautiful fall produce and leaves. What a bittersweet post. I hope next year brings a new someone to the fall for you.

  5. Cara Says:

    Ahhh- did we pass each other by the Honey Crips?

    We, too, breathed in the Fall scenery and harvest this weekend.


Please leave a reply