8w0d: Graduation

April 7, 2009

I graduated from the RE today!

I didn’t realize this was coming now — I thought I’d have one more visit before the transition.

I’ll happily take it, especially given how little prenatal health care has actually been occurring with Dr. Full Steam Ahead: ultrasounds only; no asking about symptoms, no bloodwork, no suggestions about nutrition… “Just keep doing what you’ve been doing” doesn’t really qualify as medical advice.

Of course, this means that both babies were doing well at today’s ultrasound. I don’t usually have a lot of Dead Baby Thoughts, and it’s been a helpful distraction to be out of town for most of the past week (coming tomorrow: encounter with the Weebles family!), but the Dead Baby Thoughts did descend last night.

Turns out that DH isn’t fond of hearing Dead Baby Thoughts. Last night, he said that he really needed to spend all morning working, and he was considering not coming to the ultrasound. He said, “I want to share in the joy and all, but…” I replied, “It’s not about the joy. It’s just that if the babies are dead, it will be hard to drive myself home.”

That did it. He set the alarm earlier, accompanied me, and managed to get his work done on time.

Enough about Dead Baby Thoughts. Time for Live Baby Pictures!

Both babies are big for their age — my due date has tentatively been moved 4 days closer, even though the date of conception is an incontrovertible fact.

Here are both gummy bears together.

8w0d-both

Baby A, heart rate 170, 19mm long, measuring 8w6d! They’re already growing up too fast — it seems like just today they were only 8w0d old… oh wait, that was today.

8w0d-a

A much better picture of Baby B, heart rate 174, 18.6mm long, measuring 8w4d.

8w0d-b

Dr. Full Steam Ahead says that given their well-matched heart rates and sizes, the odds of twins becoming a singleton, which were 20% at 6w0d, are now less than 5%.

I think this might really be happening.

29 Responses to “8w0d: Graduation”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Wow, wow, wow…I think you are right. I think this might really be happening. I am so damned excited that y’all graduated to the OB and that everything looks so good.

  2. Sue Says:

    Fabulous news!!!
    S X

  3. Kymberli Says:

    OMG – breathtaking. There’s just no other word. Breathtaking. I could stare at those beautiful pictures for hours!


  4. Those are the two cutest gummy bears I’ve ever seen.

    I’m so glad you were able to drive yourselves — your FOUR selves — home.

    I am still on a high from our time together.

    πŸ™‚


  5. Happy graduation day! Your gummy bear babies are very cute! Congratulations again!

  6. WiseGuy Says:

    Happy Graduation!

    Bubbas looks cute!

  7. nishkanu Says:

    Congratulations – that they are growing so strong so quickly must be a big relief. Happy for you!

  8. Murgdan Says:

    That is just so cool. Happy Graduation!!!

  9. Callie Says:

    Happy graduation! I’m so excited for you and your DH. I can already tell that they are going to be stunners!

  10. Heather Says:

    Yeah!!!! Congratulations! Beautiful ultrasound pics. I remember that ultrasound like it was yesterday. Now I’m twenty-four weeks and big as a house with these boys. My do they grow!

  11. Anita Says:

    Yay! Happy Graduation! Your ultrasounds look amazing, i’m so excited for you πŸ™‚

  12. Cara Says:

    I’m in stunned awe. Twins – the word gives me chills. I’m just so very happy for you – and if I may…a small word of assvice, this does tend to be where the male/female grief road takes a great divide. Not that we were really every taking even steps through the hell that is losing a baby…but…wel you know – that is why we are here – ALWAYS!

  13. strongblonde Says:

    πŸ™‚ you’re officially a big girl!! yea for moving to the real OB. it’s totally different!

    xoxo

  14. Nity Says:

    AWESOME news! This is so exciting. I’m so excited for you. I graduated from RE at 8 weeks too and totally thought I’d be there till at least 10.

    I’m continuing to pray that all things go well… ~~HUGS~~

  15. Eve Says:

    THey are GORGEOUS!!!! I also graduated at 8 weeks with my son, it sort of freaked me out though, because I was spoiled with all the extra betas and u/s just to be a ‘regular’ patient at my OB.

    8 weeks is an ENORMOUS milestone! Your risks go way down now….try to keep those scary thoughts at bay.

    Take care of yourself and those beans!!!!!

  16. Photogrl Says:

    Great pics of the gummy bears!

    Yay for graduating to the OB, as well. πŸ™‚

  17. Jane G Says:

    Congratulations!

  18. Raggedy Ann Says:

    Congratulations! Those are beautiful baby photos.

  19. Cat Says:

    Woohoo!

  20. jones Says:

    So many congratulations!!

  21. Dora Says:

    Happy graduation! Beautiful images. Guess that means you have to have chocolate for 3 when we get together! Can’t wait!

  22. Amy Says:

    One word – “WOW” That’s all I’ve got. Congrats.


  23. Oh, I love that you’re calling them gummi bears! So perfect. And congrats on graduating. My doc didn’t let me go until week 10!

    Much like Eve, I missed all the extra stuff. Now we go in and the doc’s like, “Looks healthy, see ya later!”

    Have you picked an OB yet? If you can, try to pick one that does an ultrasound at every appointment. A few of my friends have OB’s that don’t for whatever reason, and I don’t think I could live with that. I need to see for myself at every appointment that she’s happy and healthy for my peace of mind.

    On the DH tip, my husband had to talk me into getting out of bed for doctor’s appointments for the first three months. I would wake up paralyzed with fear that something had gone wrong and I wouldn’t want to go to the doctor’s office for fear of the worst news. He literally would have to spend 10 to 15 minutes before appointments convincing me that knowing was better than not knowing.


  24. Gummy bears, love it!! So glad to hear everything is going great. I can’t tell you that the thoughts ever goes away completely but it does lessen. I’m 13 weeks tomorrow and still alomst can’t believe that things are still progressing. My ever expanding belly should tell me that but my head forgets sometimes.

  25. Nancy Says:

    wow!!! Congratulations!!

    (since I haven’t heard anything – have you happened to get your socks from me??)

  26. Liv Says:

    Awe, so cute are those little gummie bears! I love it! I am just so happy for you guys. Congrats on making it to the OB milestone…that’s huge! I hope for continued blessings at every additional milestone for you.

  27. mekate Says:

    Congratulations on your wonderful graduation and scan– those babies look great! And good for you for asking for what you need– so glad it was good news.
    I’ve left a sisterhood award for you on my blog (soon to be posted), nothing you need to do but soak in the appreciation– thanks so much for your support on my journey, and your wonderful bloggy way of sharing yours. Warmly, Kate

  28. Trish Says:

    I found your blog through Kym at Smart One. I am so very excited for you. I am sending good thoughts your way!

  29. Malky B. Says:

    Great news all around! I know what you mean on the dead baby thoughts. I had Aaron come with me to all my nine month appointments when carrying Rivky because of that.


Please leave a reply