Show and Tell: Sock It To Me

April 11, 2009

It has been delightful to participate in Kym’s Sock It To Me Sockeroo.

First, I did some shopping in Madrid to find the faux-Chuck Taylor socks that I sent to Katie from The Happy Hours.

Then, I received two pairs of socks from The New Life of Nancy. Amusingly, when I opened the package, I knew exactly who had sent them. I had only seen one preliminary blog post showing socks that the blogger had sent for Sock It To Me: Nancy’s post about the socks she sent me (which I didn’t know when I read her original post). Over-the-knee socks, perfect for roller derby. I’m not actually this much of a badass, but I can pretend.

socks

How does the Adoption/Loss/Infertility blogosphere make me feel warm and fuzzy?

  • I can connect to people at every stage of the infertility journey. Unlike my IRL support group, where I was the veteran explaining everything to the newbies, in the blogosphere I can impart wisdom as well as draw on the experiences of others. Sure, 7 years is a long time, but it’s by no means the longest around here. 11 treatment cycles? Not so many, compared to some. Blogging has shown me what to anticipate, and what to be thankful that I’ve managed to avoid.
  • It teaches me about aspects of this process I barely thought about, and in many cases didn’t want to think about. Adoption, surrogacy, and donor embryos are scary next steps to think about for myself, but they’re totally manageable — and quite fascinating, in fact — when friends like, respectively, Lori, Kym, and Dora (as well as Miss Conception) talk about them.
  • Having recently become pregnant with twins, there are a lot of people around who get it. They get the twin thing, and the twins-from-treatments thing, and the scared-about-pregnancy-after-infertility-and-miscarriage thing. Plus the thing where I feel like an impostor.
  • There is a receptive and appreciative audience for my writing… and my pottery.
  • Some of my bloggy friendships have turned into real friendships. Lori is the first blogger that I’ve met in person, but she won’t be the last.
  • Over 100 people have accepted my invitation to be thoughtful over the past three months.
  • Despite keeping sooo many secrets about infertility (and now pregnancy) over the past 7 years, I have found people that I rush to tell about everything: good, bad, and silly.

Many other Show and Tell offerings involve socks, but many others do not. At least one involves some very interesting pottery. 😉

18 Responses to “Show and Tell: Sock It To Me”

  1. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Cass, you got beautiful socks from Nancy. Congrats!

    ….and we enjoy listening to you.

  2. Kristin Says:

    Love your socks and your post about how the community makes you feel. I truly feel blessed to have found this group.

  3. fatty Says:

    I love those socks! Nice legs too!

    That feeling like an imposter thing can be slow to fade to. Yes I think we all get that.


  4. Great socks! I got some awesome socks from Justmedebbie. You should check them out on my blog. Very creative! I like your Thoughtful Thursday. I tried my hand at a weekly post which happens to be on Thursday as well. Maybe stop by and check that out too.

  5. rosesdaughter Says:

    Love the socks!!!

  6. strongblonde Says:

    i also love the socks that you sent. very cool 🙂

  7. becomingwhole Says:

    Great socks!

    My life has been crazy, and I have been a little behind, so I missed the news that you’ve got twins (I did know you were pregnant)–wow! How wonderful and frightening, all at once! Double sticky thoughts going out to you. I’m so glad that you are in this community that has been so supportive of me, and I am so glad that you have it to be supportive of you during your pregnancy, which I can imagine would be so joyful and fearful. Good luck and I’ll be thinking of you. (and trying to keep up with the news a little better) 🙂

  8. Mel Says:

    This needs to be turned into a full article about what people can get out of blogging that they can’t get from a face-to-face support group. Beautiful.


  9. I, too, love this community, and all the ways it enriches my life.

    Especially the herringbone-dish variety. 🙂

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Great socks!! Love the blue especially.


  11. It’s all pretty amazing, isn’t it? I don’t know how I would have ever been able to manage without the support of my online friends. A very important community, indeed.

  12. Malky B. Says:

    Great socks and a great pair of legs to go with them – enjoy!

    Should mention great post! Can’t wait to read the next post!

  13. Erika Says:

    Those are some AWESOME socks! I hope it is done again so I can participate next time.

    I too greatly appreciate this online community. I have learned so much.

  14. Candice Says:

    Congratulations! I love the socks. I call them Julie Berry socks… I’m not sure what I would have done without the support of my “infertility sisters”. I wish it wasn’t so hard for others to “get it”, but what a relief it is when you don’t have to explain or justify yoursef.

  15. Kymberli Says:

    This is one of my favorite SITM posts!

  16. Nancy Says:

    I can ~not~ believe you saw my freaking post about the socks! Not that it ruined the surprise, since you didn’t know it was you – but crazy you happened to see that one. I am so very glad you liked them. 🙂

    And what a great post about the warm fuzzies. Great post (and not just because it was a picture of the socks I sent you!)

  17. romi Says:

    I loved this post because it gave me great insight about why and how people use online communities. I hope that my site (truuconfessions.com) is helping other women in the ways you say your community is helping you! And loved the socks!

  18. Karen Says:

    Hi! Thanks for sharing your story about your journey to pregnancy….and congratulations on your multiple bundle of joy! I’m a nurse at Texas Children’s Hospital specializing in multiples. Just wanted to forward an article I recently wrote about a what expecting moms of multiples should ask their doctors. Link below. Again, congratulations and enjoy your pregnancy! – Karen (twitter: http://twitter.com/tttsRN) http://www.expectantmothersguide.com/library/houston/top-5-questions-expecting-moms-of-multiples-should-ask.htm


Please leave a reply