Thoughtful Thursday: Really Really

January 24, 2013

Thoughtful ThursdayFirst, an explanation of last week’s blog title: It comes from one of my all-time favorite SNL sketches. It aired my freshman year of high school. I didn’t even know anything about sports, but I enjoyed the punditry of George F. Will, philosophy, and fish-out-of-water humor.

Something else sticks out about Thanksgiving aside from the Gravy Incident. The husband of the gravy lady, i.e. the stepfather of the hostess, came up to my husband after the meal and said:

Your wife is reeeeally reeeeeally…

As my husband recounted the conversation to me at home, before he finished the sentence, my mind filled with possibilities. Pretty? Nah, no one has declared that in years. Busty? Maybe. Devoted to her children? Quite possibly. A fan of dessert? Always. Thirsty for gravy? Not intentionally.

I have other attributes, like being helpful or conscientious, that are rather dominant in my personality but which don’t necessarily come across when first meeting someone. What could it be?

…smart.

Oh. Of course that’s what it was. That is my #1 first impression for almost everyone (sometimes they say “cerebral”), but I was surprised in this case as I didn’t think I said anything that evening that required much intelligence. No work talk. No discussion of the impact of cobalt on glaze chemistry. No being or becoming. No need for encyclopedic knowledge of SNL sketches from the 1980s. But still, smart was the impression I conveyed.

If I go around that Thanksgiving table and declare my main impression of the people I met that night, the adults were: Warm. Funny. Kind. Quiet. Jovial. Bitter. Gentle. Brash. Into sex (ahem, TMI at Thanksgiving). Chill. Wise. Genuine.

Some of those might be nice, but they’re not me. I’m happy with Smart.

Fill in the blank: Someone who meets you for the first time would say that you are really, really _________.

13 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Really Really”

  1. Kelli Says:

    Well, after feeling completely stumped on this, I asked my jokester DH what he thinks and he said, ‘endowed’, which is pretty much the polar opposite of reality. Har, har, har, husband of mine. So, I guess I have to go this one on my own…
    Nevermind. He just gave me a legitimate one. He said ‘random’, which is true, for better or for worse. I’m a little silly and nutty and that leaves me saying some pretty left field things in the hopes to entertain (we both have the weakness to play to a crowd). I’ll take random, I guess. I’d rather ‘smart’, but I’ll take what I can get!

  2. Sara Says:

    I think it totally depends on the circumstances. In a lot of contexts, if they think anything at all, they’re going to think “shy”, since I’m probably off awkwardly standing somewhere trying not to feel out of place.

    If it’s in an academic setting, then it’s probably going to range from “precocious” to “enthusiastic” to “woman” depending on the person I’ve just met. You kind of stand out when you’re a young female at mathematical logic conferences and what you’re talking about is ~500 years removed from what everyone else is talking about.

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    When I went to college in the Midwest it was “exotic.” Now, if I have the kids in tow it’s probably “tired.” If I’m with my husband, “patient.”


  4. rational

    and I have no idea what else to write about it right now, sorry…

  5. Anne Says:

    Talkative. Which is bizarre as I’m a natural introvert. I think I overcompensate in company.

  6. Mel Says:

    Probably short 🙂 My small stature seems to come up often.

    I agree, a lot of it has to do with context. People who see me in various situations probably walk away with a different adjective to describe me.

    Small is the only consistent one. I guess my size doesn’t change from situation to situation.

  7. Mina Says:

    Funny. Even when that is not my intention, I still manage to say something that makes the other smile or snigger. Which depending on the level of intensity I feel during an argument, it can defuse or ignite the situation. 🙂

  8. Ana Says:

    On FIRST meeting me, almost always “quiet”, or “shy” or some synonym thereof.

  9. Elana Kahn Says:

    Either sweet or short, depending on the person… Especially if the person I’m meeting is very tall, then most likely they’ll be shocked at how much smaller I am. But if it’s someone average sized, they might notice my sweetness first. 😉

  10. a Says:

    Generally, I get “smart” because I have a vocabulary and I’m not afraid to use it. But I also get “short.” Sometimes “bitchy” or “cranky” I think, but people don’t always tell me about that.

  11. strongblonde Says:

    i have NO IDEA. quiet? friendly? those are the two that come to mind first, but they seem like opposites….so how can that be? i asked B and his response was “smart”. no joke. ha. but you have to SPEAK to people to give off that impression, i suppose. my sister’s response was “successful” or “ambitious” or “dedicated”. maybe ghetto? firm? i would LOVE if people said “fit” or “healthy”, but that’s not generally the thing that people think of first. or maybe it depends. i’m totally talking in circles….but that also makes me think of this: do people seem to notice internal or external attributes first? old research suggests that men notice external while women notice internal. i’m not sure that holds anymore.

    see that? i managed to NOT answer the question. again. 🙂 and i cheated and asked two people for what THEY thought! is it still thoughtful thursday if i get someone else to think?

    I’m going to committ: one word to describe me is thoughtful.

  12. St. Elsewhere Says:

    I have been labelled ‘nice’.

    I always feel that I am not forgotten easily. And that people tend to pay more heed to me once I open my mouth, since my attire does not often justify my inner magnificence (yadda yadda).


  13. I think they would say Smart.

    Unless I’m sitting next to you 😉


Please leave a reply

