Thoughtful Thursday: Blogging Hours

July 12, 2012

Thoughtful ThursdayMel has written several times about starting her work day with a blog post, to warm up before doing the writing that constitutes her actual work. I, on the other hand, blog at the very end of my night. Until recently, that would typically be anywhere from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. Now, since I have a day job with standard hours, blogging time is closer to midnight, or 10 p.m. if I am either efficient with my other duties or if I totally shirk my other duties.

I suspect that I write differently late at night than I would early in the day, but I can’t say for sure, since I am a night blogger through and through. Occasionally when I first started this blog I’d write posts in the middle of the work day, but now that seems ludicrous, in many ways.

You’d think that blogging right before bed would mean that I’d go faster, but I always prefer to sacrifice sleep rather than sacrificing length or detail.

Except tonight. 🙂

When do you write your blog posts?

14 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Blogging Hours”

  1. staciet Says:

    It is funny this is tonight’s (or today’s?) topic. I just finished a post a few minutes ago. Rather than hitting publish now, I scheduled it for the morning because I had already posted today. I don’t know why it matters, but it bugs me. Anyway, I scheduled it for tomorrow at 9 am, which made me laugh — there is no WAY I’d be blogging at 9 am!

    I’m another night blogger through and through. 🙂

  2. Sam Says:

    I blog when I find the time to. It used to be predominantly in the evenings and I would schedule the post for the following morning, but then Kade came along and that all changed. So now I might steal some time at night or during the work day on my lunch time or first thing in the morning. I’m not nearly as consistent with my blogging as I used to be cos trying to juggle work, motherhood and life in general sometimes the blog takes a back seat.

    Like the commenter above I can’t stand posting 2 or more blogs per day. I also don’t know why is irks me but it does. (weird)

    xxx

  3. St. Elsewhere Says:

    My usual time is forenoon when dear daughter is napping.

    It used to be anytime in the day before she was born.

  4. Sara Says:

    I have no schedule or regular arrangement; I write when I have something to write about and the time. Though I have noted lately that often posts get written in the middle of the afternoon, between 2pm and 3pm; these are times when I’m at work and often need a bit of a break, so writing a post is a nice change of pace from whatever I’d been working on.

    When I’m traveling, and thus have fewer claims on my time in the evenings, I often write summing up posts in the evening, if I have internet access; but if I don’t, then they all get bogged up in my mind and are emitted either days later or not at all.

  5. a Says:

    Rarely. Otherwise known as, whenever the mood strikes me.

  6. strongblonde Says:

    well. first of all, i’m the worst b/c i rarely write blog posts anymore 🙂 but when i DO post, it’s generally when i get a minute at work. okay…let’s be honest, i’m usually procrastinating! 🙂 i’ve experimented with all kinds of times. i don’t see a patter for when i feel like i produce my best “work” on the blog. i’m generally a morning person, so that is probably the best time of day for me. perhaps i’d fare better if i set up a day/time to do some blogging? i used to write down ideas for blog posts, and i’ve found that those are lacking lately, too!

  7. Lavender Luz Says:

    You’re funny.

    My writing schedule is dependent on my kids’ schedule. Meaning, I write when they are occupied. Sometimes that’s during the day, and sometimes not until the are occupied by dreams at night.

    I might be one of the slowest bloggers ever. I can work for hours and hours on a post. I rarely type one up and hit publish — I often write a post over a span of a few days and almost always reflect for a time in between writing and publishing.

  8. Ana Says:

    ha. apparently “never” is my answer. which makes me think I need to schedule a time to do it…I keep waiting for the mood to strike at the same time nothing else is competing for my attention and it happens once every few weeks these days. i’m more of a morning person so I may have to come up with a morning schedule.

  9. Elana Kahn Says:

    I don’t have a specific time that I write. I almost never blog anymore, and when I do it’s usually really late at night on spur of the moment when I’m feeling I need to.

  10. Heather Says:

    I need to find a specific time to write. I think that would make my blog posts more consistent.


  11. I wish I still had regular blogging hours. But now I’m trying for once every other week on Sundays. Like I’ve said before, it really does feel like working motherhood is an 18 year struggle to balance everything in your life.


  12. Usually in the evening, when the kids are asleep. But only if DH has work to do, otherwise he gets annoyed at me typing away… Sometimes also during baby’s naptime, but lately I’ve been too exhausted so I nap too (or have too much other stuff to do if it’s the morning nap). I haven’t found enough blogging time lately so my posts (and comments) are way too sparse. Can’t wait for September when baby goes to the sitter and toddler goes to preschool! (but I don’t want summer to be over just yet either, to many fun things planned).
    Today I’m commenting during breakfast, first time that ever happened I think (DH is already off on a business trip, toddler is watching videos on my phone and baby is asleep).

  13. Mel Says:

    Late in answering this, but as you know, I almost always write a blog post first — before any novel writing — as a prep exercise. But sometimes I write at night or the middle of the day if a thought strikes me. I think those tend to be more emotionally driven — upset, angry, etc.

  14. Cat Says:

    Well, I don’t have a blog, but I’m commenting anyway, at 12:32am, because I want to make it on your monthly Intelligentsia list. Does it count if I can’t actually answer your question? I would probably be a nighttime blogger, or perhaps a nap time blogger, maybe both on some days.


Please leave a reply

