Thoughtful Thursday: Medium

April 12, 2012

Thoughtful ThursdayI love blogging. Not quick Tumblr-style blogging that you do from your phone, but crafted, deliberate, edited and re-edited blogging. Email is good too, for the same reason. Most people would be shocked at how many times I edit and tweak even the simplest emails. Lack of editing is why I don’t like hand-written letters… that, and the ink that my left hand smears across the page.

Unlike regular blogging, micro-blogging is a challenge for me. How am I supposed to think complete thoughts in 140 characters? Where is the nuance? I’m the only person I know who not only doesn’t abbreviate when texting but uses full punctuation: I’ve never received a semi-colon in a text, but I’ve sent plenty.

Long-form is too long for me. I’m such a perfectionist that I can’t see a very long piece of writing through.

In the olden days, pre-Twitter, DH used to say that instant messaging was perfectly suited for him. Now, he is a masterful Tweeter. He, somehow, can encapsulate nuance and wit and depth into 140 characters. He’s great at mid-length like blogs and longer-lengths too, but on Twitter he shows a gift for brevity that I can only dream about.

What medium is best suited for you?

17 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Medium”

  1. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Oh well, between mails, and blogposts and tweets, I prefer the first two more than the last one.

    I am active on twitter too, but am inconsistent with it. I have a few thousand tweets on it, but my biggest grouch is poor searchability and archiving on twitter.

    Archiving, referencing and searchability are better on blog posts and mails. I don’t edit my posts or mail much (which explains the typos that often land up there). If I tweak my words, it is usually because a) I don’t think the words are conveying the punch as much as I want them to, and b) to check for any grammatical mistakes, if I can catch them in the first go. Spontaneity is the key for me.

  2. jjiraffe Says:

    I’m on Twitter, but I don’t do it well. I always run out of characters and have to edit my tweets. I think my best blog posts are actually the really long Faces of ALI profiles: they’ve all been over 2000 words and take a really long time to write and edit. I guess I’m long-winded! I’m like you with texting too: I always write complete sentences and get really mad at auto-correct.

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    You know, I really like writing e-mails! I find it easier to address a specific person than an imagined general audience. It’s easier to know if I’m going to say something inflammatory or insensitive if I can screen it through my perception of one reader, than of who-knows-who.

    But I also like writing FB status updates. I guess in that case I also “know” my audience.

  4. sarauckelman Says:

    My media are LJ and FB, and I like them both, for different things. I find FB irritating when my friends post too often, so I always wait to say something until I have something pithy and useful or interesting to say. But on LJ I can say whatever I want, as verbosely as I want, and if folks don’t want to read it it’s easy enough to scroll away.

  5. strongblonde Says:

    i honestly don’t “get” twitter. perhaps it’s because that’s not the way i think. i’m more of a rambler!! thus, blogging is better suited for me. or, these days, commenting as i barely have time to breathe! i do have a fb, but use it mostly for stalking purposes and have considered MANY time closing my account. emails are fine, although it’s hard not to take someone’s brevity personally, you know?

    …and somehow i knew that you were left handed! these days my hand hurts when writing too long, BUT there’s just something that is so fun and exciting about a hand written letter. from my mom i use it as a guage of her disease progression: has her tremor worsened to the point where i can see it in her writing? from my friends it’s being able to connect with them on a different level: knowing the way that my friend H makes her “i” or noticing if their letters are rounded or pointy. you get the point.

    ….and it’s always fun for me to see if people print or write in (gasp) cursive!!!!!

  6. Ana Says:

    I don’t Tweet, just never could imagine coming up with something meaningful in such a short form.You’ve read my blog, you know I’m usually pretty wordy:) I like texting mainly for conveying small amounts of info–“be there in 5”, “pick up milk”, etc… But if it goes beyond that, I’ll email or call.
    I never really notice the lack of handwritten communication, but strongblonde’s comment had me thinking—I used to be able to recognize all my friends’ handwriting, and especially that of boyfriends…I met my husband in 2001, and our “love letters” were all by email…I’ve only seen his handwriting on birthday cards, not sure I could pick his out of a line-up—-so weird!!!

  7. Mel Says:

    Blog posts (well, if I’m being honest, blog posts that are tooooooooooooo long). I need a lot of space to think. I have a tendency only to record passing thoughts in Twitter. Or quotes from the twins. They just say stuff and I stare at them and then I grab the phone and send it out to everyone else. To record it? To ask, “how does one respond to this?”

  8. clumsykisses Says:

    I’m really good at Twitter, too – I’m blunt which I think helps. But I also still write looooong letters 🙂

  9. a Says:

    I’ve never gotten interested in Twitter. I don’t have time, and I don’t think I’d send out amusing tweets. I don’t have much to say on my blog either. We’re big fans of text messages around here. I also like email. I used to write letters, but my correspondents seem to have all died off.

  10. Cat Says:

    One reason I haven’t started a blog yet is because I can’t just crank out a post quickly. I would edit, edit again, check for any typos, tweak sentence structure, and it takes me too much time to do regularly. I was usually OK with the old character limits for facebook statuses, though I did run over sometimes. Now there seems to be no limit, or at least I haven’t hit it yet. I can’t imagine having enough space in Twitter, and frankly, I have no interest in yet another place to spend/waste my time.

  11. Lavender Luz Says:

    Sounds like I should follow your husband on Twitter.

    I do like Twitter. I go through spells where I think in 140 characters. And like Mel said, that’s often just the right length for awesome things the kids say or do. Example:

    “Son was disappointed at dinner to discover that a swordfish doesn’t actually come with a sword.”

    Funny moments to capture.

    But I also like blogging. Anything longer form is really hard, I’m finding!


  12. I’m like you in that when I text I used proper spelling and grammar… most of the time. 😛 I don’t use twitter, but even on say FB, there are times when I do think up somewhat thoughtful posts that are very short. I sort of imagine it as free form poetry (which I am rather fond of) and so that frees my mind to think smaller, and simpler than my regular blog posts.

  13. Sam Says:

    I’m a bit of a grammar nazi and check and re-check all my blog posts and emails over and over again. I do tweet but mostly just little snippets of what needs to get out my head at that point in time… I love playing with the words I have in my head that need to get out – so for me my preferred medium would be the blog or email formats.

    xxx

  14. Elana Kahn Says:

    I’m all about Facebook!! I love being able to write as much as I want, but I don’t have to make it formal like a blog post. I can do pictures with one click and put them into folders. LOOOOVE FACEBOOK!

  15. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    I don’t get Twitter. And would someone please explain why one gets 140 characters on Twitter but 160 in a text? I need all of my 160 allotted characters because I don’t abbreviate and use proper punctuation. Well, unless it’s the end of the month and I’m at my monthly quota, then I do use a few shortcuts because I don’t want to pay the extra for going over. Nav and I mainly text so each one is at a premium.

    I like blogging but lately don’t have the time for my normally long-winded posts. It takes a long time (and a lot out of me) to really write a proper post. Lately, I’ve either not been updating (though I have soooooo much to say) or just doing our Tot School posts because those are pretty short.

    Nav and I still hand-write a message in all of our holiday cards and we each sign our own names. We both hate when we receive one that doesn’t even have a signature. C’mon it doesn’t take that long to write “Happy Holidays, Nav & Tara and Alex & Benjamin” even for 60 or so cards. Most of the time he’s just signing his name in the blank spot I leave so I spread out the signing over a few days to avoid the hand cramp.


  16. I’m a bit like you – email and blog posts work best for me. And FB messages (with a photo). I can keep those pretty short, they would probably fit in the Twitter format too, but somehow I cannot get into that, I’ve tried it a few times and also had to keep up a twitter account for a conference once, but it just doesn’t click with me. Maybe also because everyone can read it which somehow makes me uncomfortable, which is weird, because everyone can read my blog too (but that’s anonymous, and my twitter account isn’t, and through the conference people have found my personal twitter account too).


  17. I’ve discovered as of late that Facebook is the best medium for me, because it allows for more back and forth than blogging. Though, I’ve been thinking about giving Pinterest a try …


Please leave a reply

