Time Warp Tuesday: Car

February 8, 2012

For the first time I’m participating in Time Warp Tuesday, run by Kathy at Four of a Kind. This week’s topic: an old post you like which got few comments the first time around.

First, please read the post I have chosen:
Car Trouble

Done reading? Good.

I wrote this post within my first month of blogging, so it’s understandable that it did not get many comments.

The reason I chose this post, though, my children never did sit in that car after all — though not because my infertility lasted longer than the car’s natural life, though it was close.

That car saw me through all of my appointments for the RE, for acupuncture, and eventually for the OB and perinatologist. That car drove behind the ambulance when I was rushed to a tertiary care hospital to prevent the babies from coming way too early.

In a blog post more than a year later, I alluded to the car’s fate very obliquely: “A loved one almost dies in a car crash.”

The car that crashed was the same car I’d bought for the purpose of having babies, and the loved one was DH.

Everything about the crash indicates that he should have died or at least been critically injured. Instead, he walked away (okay, limped away, but that got better eventually) almost unscathed, thanks to that car and its fantastic safety features.

When I had the car, mostly I liked it fine and even called it by an affectionate nickname, but occasionally I got mad at it. Now, I only sing its praises: the car sacrificed itself to save my husband. For the rest of my life, it will hold an extra-special place in the garage of my heart.

Join the Time Warp!

7 Responses to “Time Warp Tuesday: Car”


  1. Ha! I actually remembered all the pieces of the car/babies story before I read the end of this post!

    Funny how things turn out sometimes. What a fantastic TWT debut.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Typing through my tears after being so very moved by your first Time Warp post. Wow.

    I know I have been here off and on over the years, but did not know (or at least didn’t recall) that your husband survived a serious car crash.

    I absolutely love the idea that though you never got to see your children smiling at you from the back seat of the car that you bought with them in mind, that very same car (which held your hopes and dreams for your family), carried your husband safely through such a close brush with fate.

    Just as you blamed the car maker in your old post, I suppose you can thank them in this one. šŸ˜‰

    It is heart warming to read this blog entry knowing where you are in your life now with your husband and those two children that you wanted so much and worked so hard to bring into your life. I have some catching up to do here, but it looks like you also recently moved into a new home?! Congrats!

    Having done the same myself last year, I appreciate how wonderful and overwhelming that is.

    Thank you for doing the Time Warp with us this week! It was such a nice surprise to see you link up your post tonight! I hope you will join us again in the future! šŸ™‚

  3. jjiraffe Says:

    What a heroic car: I’m so happy it saved your husband! What a lot of adventures it has been on, and carried you to.

    Also, you write beautifully. Gorgeous post.

  4. Deborah Says:

    Back from reading your car trouble post. How scary about your husband! And so nice that the car now has happy memories for you, instead of just being The Car That Your Kids Didn’t Ride In.

  5. a Says:

    It sounds like the car came to a good end (for your husband,anyway) after all. Sometimes the things we find annoying have immeasureable value, I guess.

  6. strongblonde Says:

    i love the time warp idea. and what a great post. šŸ™‚ funny how things just have a way of working themselves out sometimes, huh?

  7. Heather Says:

    Great post! Glad to hear your DH was OK after that accident!!!!


Please leave a reply

