Why I Like Belonging to the Local Twins Club

November 27, 2011

A woman I just met for the first time at a Twins Club meeting told me:

My sister has twins too. Everyone asks me if twins run in the family. I say, “No, but infertility does!”

9 Responses to “Why I Like Belonging to the Local Twins Club”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I love her response!

  2. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Ah…..love how open she is about it….

  3. Heather Says:

    That is the best response!!!

  4. loribeth Says:

    Good one!! And good for her!! : )

  5. a Says:

    I was thinking recently that the best way to spread the news about infertility is second-hand. I had a similar experience, with someone telling me all about her sister’s trouble having children recently.

  6. Cat Says:

    What a cool response.

    I love my twins club, too. We had an overnight getaway last fall. Of the four women who went, myself included, only one of us had spontaneous twins. One was another triplet mom who had IVF with the transfer right after fertilization as some kind of study, one has twins from Clomid, and then me with triplets from IVF. It was cool to actually not be in the minority of being infertile AND having multiples.

  7. BB Says:

    That’s a very smart response!

    Not a part of a twins group, but I am a part of a Mommy group and its crazy how many women out there have been through fertility treatment! It just makes me feel more normal! lol! 😉

  8. strongblonde Says:

    🙂 that’s much more simple than my explanation about how there is no real genetic link for twins and that identical twins are unpredictable and that fraternal twins result from two different eggs. lol. …i guess it just kills me that the follow up question that i get most often is “are they identical??” uhm….one has a penis!!

  9. Sam Says:

    Good for her. As much as I don’t have twins from my treatment, I also am very open about the fact that Kade is an IVF baby. If I help even ONE woman feel not along in her struggles, it’s worth it.

    xxx


Please leave a reply

