Thoughtful Thursday: Happy Place

November 10, 2011

Thoughtful Thursday

Welcome to the November Intelligentsia, the people who have commented on every Thoughtful Thursday post in October.

#25: Elana from Elana’s Musings
#22: A from Are You Kidding Me?
#22: Lost In Translation from We Say IVF, They Say FIV
#17: Strongblonde from Strong Blonde
#9: Tara from Turkey In My Oven
#9: Rebecca from Get Lost With Me, Darling
#7: St. Elsewhere
#6: Lori Lavender Luz from Write Mind Open Heart
#3: Heather from Joys in My Life

Thoughtful ThursdayI just visited a Happy Place. Not my Happy Place, but Mel’s. I’ve written before about how it brings me peace to walk through kitchen stores, but this particular place is much more than that.

While I was there, aside from the regular thoughts (“Can I get them to eat this lentil salad?” “Aaaah stop running, Burrito! Please don’t knock over any displays!” “Mmmmmm frosting.”) I kept thinking, “This is Mel’s Happy Place. She has driven many hours out of her way just to come here.” Being so special made it more special to me.

My Happy Place is sometimes the pottery studio, particularly when I’m alone there, but this new place (which is otherwise far better than the old, in so many ways starting with the impossibility of disasters or calamities destroying all of my work) doesn’t have open studio time, so I’m always there with the teacher and other students.

I enjoy consignment shopping — I never pay retail for kids’ clothes — but I really enjoy the semi-annual consignment sale at my local multiples club. That is absolutely a Happy Place for me.

Last week, I was in a city about which I have mixed feelings (in large part because DH’s mother lives there; otherwise it has a lot going for it). There are many wonderful things in that city, but we usually end up staying in the suburbs and only spending time with people. I do have a Happy Place there, though. A city block that has three of my favorite places anywhere. I suggested going there during this trip, but DH poopoo’d it. He was right. This particular Happy Place wouldn’t be so happy while juggling toddlers.

Then, today, a new Happy Place when I came home from work. As soon as I walked in the door, Burrito and Tamale each burst into applause accompanied by joyous exclamations of “Yay! Mama! Yay! Mama! Yaaaaaay!”

The happiest Happy Place ever.

What is your Happy Place?

10 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Happy Place”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Oooh, lookit me commenting every week!

    My happy place is my attic, but I need to have Mary Poppins powers so I can snap my fingers and have it be tidy.

  2. strongblonde Says:

    🙂 honestly, my happy place is anywhere that i am with B and the kids!! i know it sounds cheesy, but it’s true. this week the kids spontaneously started telling me that they love me. there’s no greater thing.

    if i had to pick something other than family i would say the gym is a happy place for me. i can remove myself from everything, work hard, sweat, and just feel better.

    and school supply stores 🙂

    and beauty supplies. but only if they’re free.

    🙂

  3. Sara Says:

    I have two happy places, one which gets frequented often, and the other only in spurts ’cause it often ends up costing too much money and space.

    The first is my bathtub. Unless it’s been above 70 consistently for more than a few days in a row, by the time evening comes around I’m going to be cold and tired and just a bit grumpy, and an hour’s soak in the tub with a book does the trick every time. It’s also my escape, my compensation for having to share a bedroom with someone (I will admit, before marriage, I was nervous about this, since it would be the first time I’d ever shared a bedroom with anyone).

    The other is used bookstores. I’m generally good so long as I don’t walk past them, but if I do, there’s an undeniable magnetic pull, and I simply cannot actually make it down the street without at least drifting over and browsing the books in the window. Heaven forbid I actually get inside…days may be lost before I surface again. Books always make me happy.


  4. My yoga mat is my current Happy Place.

    And my home. I love my home. That’s a really good thing, isn’t it?

    There’s a certain beach near you that is a Happy Place. And not just because it makes me think of my MIL :-).

  5. Elana Kahn Says:

    I think the rocking chair in the nursery is my happy place. I love sitting there to read even if I don’t have the baby in my lap. I also really love nursing the baby since it’s time for me to sit and relax…and read! 🙂

  6. St. Elsewhere Says:

    My apartment in UsualCity is my happy place. Every evening as I unlocked the door coming back from the office, there was almost always an excitement and relief I felt.

    My bed is my happy place.

    I enjoy visiting a particular store at a local mall.

    And oh, take me to a place where there is a spread of chocolate delights…my happy fuzzy warm place would be it.

  7. Cat Says:

    My Happy Place is my kids’ room. Getting them up in the morning and after their nap is the best, especially the mornings after I’ve been out and missed their bedtime the night before. Their faces just light up and they yell, “Mommy home!” I love reading them stories before they go to sleep. Changing their sheets and putting away their laundry are reminders that we finally have the children we tried so hard for.

    My non-home Happy Place is probably day 3 or 4 of a mission trip. By then I’m over the hump of missing home and we’ve had a couple productive days of working and are looking forward to a couple more before we head home.


  8. When I’m on the road, I love curling up in bed with a book. For most of my life, alone with a good book has been my happy place. But as far as my child is concerned, I do love picking her up from preschool. She often runs to me and gives me a big hug, and it’s just a nice heart flood of love and mutual appreciation as I hug her back.

  9. Ana Says:

    Our bedroom, with its Tiffany blue walls and king bed covered with gorgeous white bedspread has been my refuge since we moved into this house 2 years ago. Its on its own floor, the 3rd floor of the house, and opens onto a deck with a great view of the city. I would get through the chores & demands of the day and just head up there as soon as I could to be alone, read books or blogs, and just rest—I did a lot of that during the pregnancy. Now that our littlest guy is up there with us at night,its a teensy bit less relaxing, but still my retreat, especially now that our house is frequently overrun with relatives–no one goes up there to bug me! There is also a casual restaurant near work that a good friend & I would go to when we needed a chat or a drink; its calming to think of it, even though its associated with work stress.

  10. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    This was a really hard one for me, thus the late comment. Anywhere where I’m alone for more than a potty break is probably my happy place right now.

    With my family, Busch Gardens Williamsburg is my happy place. We love having season passes and just renewed knowing we won’t be here for very long next season. We go every other weekend it seems. Everyone loves it. The boys are now old enough that the recognize everything and have their favorite rides and can tell you all about the park. It’s a fun time with lots of smiles.


Please leave a reply

