Thoughtful Thursday: Cranky

October 13, 2011

Thoughtful Thursday

Welcome to the October Intelligentsia, the people who have commented on every Thoughtful Thursday post in September.

#24: Elana from Elana’s Musings
#21: A from Are You Kidding Me?
#21: Lost In Translation from We Say IVF, They Say FIV
#16: Strongblonde from Strong Blonde
#8: Tara from Turkey In My Oven
#6: St. Elsewhere
#5: Lori Lavender Luz from Write Mind Open Heart

Thoughtful ThursdayOh man, this morning, I was no fun at all.

I’d slept 3 hours. (Working late the night before.)

The nanny was 3 hours late. (She called and had a good excuse, but still.)

I had to make an incredibly important work phone call but I couldn’t do it with toddlers screaming in the background. (Not that they scream nonstop all day long, but they raise objections if I talk on the phone, plus if you leave them unattended for more than 3 minutes, someone will push someone else down or take someone’s toy or try to hug someone too aggressively or something.)

The nanny being late I can handle — it happens almost every day (though almost never that late). Work stress I can handle — plenty of that. But I could not handle them in combination, plus toddlers throwing food on the floor and hurling cups of milk across the room and bashing each other and biting me and kicking me, on 3 hours sleep. Hence, cranky.

I do fine when I’m hungry, and I do fine when I’m sick (except for tummy problems), and I even do fine when I’m sleep deprived for one day, but cumulative sleep deprivation does me in. By the afternoon, my urgent work thing still hadn’t been resolved and my work day had still been hijacked by the nanny’s absence, but I had taken a nap, and all was right with the world.

My husband is crankiest when he he has gone too long without eating, which only happens once a month or so. The problem is that he doesn’t realize that’s why he’s cranky. His stomach doesn’t grumble, he doesn’t notice how long it’s been since the last meal, he doesn’t put two and two together. Every single time, he becomes off-kilter, deeply dissatisfied with life. I ask if he’s hungry. He says he’s not. I ask how long it’s been since he’s eaten. He gets flustered and says he doesn’t know. I tell him to eat. He says no. I tell him to eat. He begrudgingly eats something. Three bites in, all is right with the world.

What physical state makes you the crankiest? Sleepy? Hungry? Sick? Something else?

14 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Cranky”

  1. a Says:

    For me, it’s pretty much “Holy PMS, Batman!” And strangely enough, I only have PMS with my husband. He can just take my hormonal imbalance and turn it right up to crazy with approximately one statement. Anyone else – I’m fine.

    Well, to be honest, I always answer “How are you?” with “tired and cranky, as usual.” I am pretty much generally irritable, and the things that make me really cranky are people who want me to do extra, unnecessary work and unfairness.

    My husband and daughter, however, become extremely cranky when dehydrated. My daughter is especially susceptible – she acts like a surly teenager. Give her some juice and she’s back to sweet and loving in an instant.

  2. Sara Says:

    After 9+ years together, and plenty of traveling, in between, over summer my husband and I finally discovered that what gets me cranky is when I am hungry and cold with no prospective of getting either fixed in the immediate future. We were wandering around Vienna trying to find someplace to eat, and I was getting progressively grumpier and grumpier. Finally he took off his jacket and gave it to me, and almost instantly my outlook improved (and three blocks later we found a great little pub). He confessed to me a few weeks ago that he’d always thought that I would just randomly get peeved with him for no reason that he could determine, and that that was life. Thank goodness I was able to tell him that it wasn’t him at all, just that when I get cold I get grumpy, and when I get hungry, I want to eat NOW.

  3. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    I have a t-shirt that says “Sometimes crabby, always cute”. We joke that it really should be reversed, “Sometimes cute, always crabby”.

    I need my sleep but that can be compensated with some personal alone time. I should eat better- less sugar, less caffeine, more water and fruit. And I’m a bear with PMS. And I don’t do well with temperature extremes- too hot or too cold and I’m complaining.

  4. St. Elsewhere Says:

    LOL.

    Seriously, LOL.

    I am a little cranky when I wake up from sleep. I can’t be expected to be bubbling with sunshine and restless energy, and I expect to be given the time to come to my senses completely.

    The other thing that has me cranky is hunger. Sometimes, I will not even realize that the reason for my being so irritated is the fact that I haven’t had anything in a while.

    And yup, sometimes PMS makes me a crazy chimp.

  5. strongblonde Says:

    mine is definitely about food. the funny thing is that it doesn’t happen every time. some days if it’s been HOURS since i’ve eaten I can get over the hump, go on with my day, and it’s not a problem. other days i feel like i’m going to lose my mind. in fact, there have been instances when i’ve had to schedule check offs or long student days and i told them “for best results, bring food”. lol. maybe i tend to get crankier if i’m doing an unpleasant task?? i need a distraction from my hunger!

  6. Cat Says:

    I used to get crankiest when I was hungry. Then I had triplets and stopped sleeping. Now that makes me crankier than not eating.


  7. I’m more or less like you in this respect – lack of sleep and job stress will make me pretty cranky. This week has not been good at all – going to bed after midnight, getting up at 6:30, while being six months pregnant and having DH walk around frustrated and depressed about his boss… our poor toddler has had to endure some snappy mommy!

  8. BB Says:

    Hunger! I am very bad when I am hungry, and then if that gets coupled with anything else… I can be a bitch!

  9. Dora Says:

    Pain. The one time I truly felt at my wits end, Sunshine was having her worst ever public tantrum, I felt like it was my fault, because I’d taken her for a walk in the neighborhood with her new doll stroller, and it quickly became clear she wasn’t ready to walk that far (shrieking if I tried to get her moving, point her in any direction, or even dare to touch the handle of her precious stroller), and my back had been in spasms all day. As much as I adore this girl, by the time we got home I wrestled with her and carried her home, I didnt want to be in the same room with her. A single mom friend rescued me by coming over and playing with Sunshine in her room with the door closed for an hour while I decompressed.

  10. Elana Kahn Says:

    At the moment I am 100% cranky and can’t get rid of it, so little things set me off: ie the baby sitter never showed up, I’m hungry and have nothing to eat, and I barely got any sleep last night cuz I was up crying for several hours. I’m just a complete and total mess. But that said, in a usual state, being hungry makes me SUPER CRANKY.

  11. Rebecca Says:

    Hunger, for definite, because I feel all shaky and sick and dizzy.


  12. It’s funny (not haha) because I read your post this weekend when *I* was being super cranky. I was tired (had trouble sleeping the night before), hungry (had to take DD to get a throat culture before the office closed; hence didn’t work in enough time to eat), and had about 12 things that needed to be done Right Now. That last one is the thing that makes me the crankiest.

    I hope your nanny and you are back on track.

  13. Heather Says:

    Can I say “all of the above”? I’m grace under pressure with stress, but mostly when I’m not tired, hungry or sick.

  14. Karla Bond Says:

    I didn’t see a contact me anywhere but just wanted to let you know another site is scrapping all your contact and putting it on their site. If you would like to know more please email me. They are doing it with one site I manage and wanted to pass it on to you.


Please leave a reply

