Thoughtful Thursday: Photogenic

September 29, 2011

Thoughtful ThursdayI was just corresponding with a photographer about a family photo session, since Burrito and Tamale are about to turn 2 (!!!). I was giving some background on how to coax different family members to smile or cooperate.

Me, talking about me: “I’m a pretty consistent subject.”

It seems that people are not allowed to say they’re photogenic.

Most people think I am very photogenic, but a large part of that is that I am very skilled at selecting photos. If I’m sending out a photo that involves me, you’d better believe I will look good in it.

Part of being photogenic seems to be that you look like yourself, and since I look like myself almost all of the time — and have genuinely not changed in over 20 years, just ask people at my high school (or elementary school!) reunion — I am therefore photogenic.

Part of being photogenic also seems to be that you don’t make weird expressions. Having an unexpressive face, I’ve got that one down. My husband and son are both very expressive, facially and emotionally, and so they both get caught by the camera with weird expressions fairly often.

So yes, I’m pretty photogenic — at least in the face, and the hair. My stomach, though, is wildly inconsistent on film. Thank goodness for cropping.

Are you photogenic?

18 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Photogenic”

  1. Jjiraffe Says:

    Ha, totally agree on the stomach thing.

    I am generally pretty photogenic but I cannot do the pouting thing so popular on Facebook right now. I look like a total idiot when I do that.

  2. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Oh my, you mean, me with eyes shut, or teeth hanging out, or something of that sort, would you find pics of me of that kind?

    Yes!

    I have no issues with my tummy, let’s not talk of the area below that….we are talking wiiiiiide here.

    I don’t consider myself photogenic. And I have very few pics of myself that I consider good enough.

  3. a Says:

    Totally not photogenic! Oh, the unfortunate photos I have taken…
    I shudder to think of it! Recently, due to my clothing, the lighting, and probably the photographer, I ended up with a photo in which I look orange (generally, I’m pretty much stark white with freckles). It’s emphasized by the fact that I’m standing next to one of the big bosses, who is all silver (silver hair, silver suit). It’s hideous. Then there’s that fantastic one at Christmas when I was 12 or 13, where someone caught me mid-eye roll. I love that one, actually – I look like I’m possessed.

    Now I just try to stay out of pictures as much as possible. So, what do my in-laws do? Insist on a family photo. That one didn’t turn out too terribly. I hope I’m good for a loooong time.

  4. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    Nope, not one bit photogenic. It comes from talking too much while taking pictures. I’m always nervous so I just chat away and that makes for unflattering expressions. If I don’t talk then then tend to have the deer in headlights look.

  5. strongblonde Says:

    omg. i’m NOT photogenic at all. last week i just had my “professional” photo taken AGAIN because too many people told me the one they did last year didn’t look like me. the new one? doesn’t look like me either. i don’t know if it is the posing, the lighting, or something else…but MOST pictures that are taken of me over the last year don’t seem to look like me. i’m not sure what it is. B is pretty photogenic. both of my kids are hit or miss. although i suppose that means that they’re not?? most pictures they look great. i tend to take like 100 pictures in a row, though, so i will always manage to get a photo where everyone looks like crap! it’s a special skill, i suppose!


  6. You ask the best questions! I always savor your posts because they require me to sit and dwell on something.

    I think I am not allowed to say I am photogenic. Like you, “If I’m sending out a photo that involves me, you’d better believe I will look good in it.”

    I have odd expressions that get captured on camera. Those images get deleted.

    What sees the light of day, though, would indicate that I’m photogenic.

    Can’t believe the takeouts are almost TWO!


  7. P.S. I agree that you are photogenic because you are beautiful, inside and out, top to bottom and front to back.

    Not that I’ve checked you out or anything 😉

  8. loribeth Says:

    Not really. I probably dislike 90% of the shots of me, tolerate 8% & really like 1-2%. I have a friend who somehow manages to look good in just about every single shot she’s in (& I have taken hundreds of her over the years). It’s a gift!

  9. Elana Kahn Says:

    I’m somewhat photogenic. When I was skinny, I was super photogenic, but now that I’m totally chunky and my teeth are turning yellow, heck no. *sigh*

  10. Mel Says:

    This is so funny; I’ve never thought about this before. I don’t think I’m photogenic. I tend to be fairly tense in front of the camera (though totally relax when I’m behind it) and it shows on my face. I am very uncomfortable with being recorded in any medium, hence why I can pretty much guarantee that you will never see me on a reality television show.

  11. Ana Says:

    Yes, I guess I am photogenic—my face, anyways. I can turn on a nice bright natural-looking smile which i think is >90% of it. My husband used to like taking tons of pictures of me (amateur photographer) without much notice, so I could flash a dazzling smile & pose before he could blink. He hasn’t done that in a while—too busy trying to get pictures of a whirling dervish (toddler). I am generally happy with pictures of me—the face. Not so much the rest these past few years.

    I refuse to try any kind of pouting/model-type faces, I know would turn out ridiculous.

    My poor husband cannot fake a smile. Some of our wedding photos came out like Chandler from “Friends”.

  12. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Enjoyed reading the comments on this one….


  13. Love it! Thank God for empire cut tops trending high. Luckily I had a few publicist friends tell me how all the stars pose. When you smile put your tongue on the back of your top teeth, head down, eyes up and turn one hip toward the camera. Ever notice how all the red carpet ladies pose crossed at the ankles? That is if you forget the hip thing. Watch all the weather girls too. Thanks for a fun post and lively intelligent blog!


  14. You’re right! I forgot to add that you must have creative control of photogs and double chin right of refusal!


  15. Ah, I thought there might be a slight chance that I could catch up and comment on all the September TT posts in time, but that’s not going to happen…

    Yes, I do think I’m photogenic, especially since I had a photo shoot a few weeks ago where the photographer told me so! However, when hubby’s making pictures and I need to pose, it usually doesn’t work out that great (he makes great photos though, and when I don’t realize he’s shooting I’ll look nice on them too – but asking him to do a semi-professional shot for me was a big frustration for both of us).

  16. Cat Says:

    I am decidedly not photogenic. My facial expression is almost always as intended, whether smiling or sticking my tongue out, but I just look awful otherwise. Digital cameras seem to flatten my face and make it look really wide and round and flashes wash out my already-pale coloring. Don’t even get me started on all the weirdness below the neckline – none of that is flattering.

    I’m making a concerted effort to put all that aside, though, and asking my husband to take pictures of me with the kids as often as I think of it. I once took a mission trip with 30 other people and kept almost 900 of the pictures that I took and I was only in two of them. I don’t want that to happen with pictures of my kids’ childhood, no matter my opinion of how I look. I should start wearing S.panx more often or something, though.

  17. Heather Says:

    I definitely am not photogenic. I usually hate myself in pictures as I’m very critical, and I’ve never quite figured out how to hold my features so that they are presented in their best light. I mean should I pick my face up a bit to hide the dark circles under my eyes? Or does that make my nose look bad? I’m very jealous of your ability!

  18. ernessat Says:

    I’d like to believe that I’m not, since I think I look much better in real life than I do in photos. But it’s all subjective, so who knows?


Please leave a reply

