Perfect Moment Monday: Zen Returns

September 26, 2011

Perfect Moment Mondays are back!

My perfect moment started with a non-perfect moment, one that harkens back to a post in 2008 and another one in 2008 and another in 2009. Pottery is a fragile endeavor, whether through my own error in the creation process, someone else’s error in the pottery studio, or a butterfingers accident at home.

Before Burrito and Tamale were born, I’d reached a pleasant pottery homeostasis. I’d made pretty much all of the projects I’d had in mind: a full set of dinner plates in three sizes, all sorts of bowls, cups, mugs, garlic pot, vases, even a couple of serving dishes. Then, a few months ago, I opened the kitchen cabinet, and every berry bowl I’ve ever made came crashing down.

(Sorry about the takeout containers, and the avocado pit, and the granola bar wrapper, and — uh — the dirty diapers.)

These demolished berry bowls had been some of my very best creations, and they were all gone. To make it even worse, I would have to live indefinitely without any berry bowls, because who knows when I’d get back into the pottery studio again. It would be years, right?

Wrong!

I’m back!

Oh, how I missed you.

Head over to Write Mind Open Heart for the triumphant return of Perfect Moment Mondays.

8 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Zen Returns”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Welcome back Perfect Moment Mondays and welcome back to the pottery studio! I am in awe of what you shared that you have created in the past and am sorry to hear that you lost so much of it with that accident. So exciting to be back at it. Enjoy! 🙂

  2. Ana Says:

    So glad you have managed to get back to something you love! More important than we give credit for, I’m realizing.


  3. Oh, the horror of losing everything you’d potteried! (clearly not a word, but I don’t know what is the correct verb). Looking into that trash bin almost makes me cry. I love your work so.

    But. But! You are back! How awesome that must feel! I’m so glad you’ve been able to arrange things to that you can indulge your passion.

  4. strongblonde Says:

    yea for being back to pottery!!! so glad. sorry about how it happened, though 😦

    we throw diapers in the kitchen garbage, too. it gets taken out every other day, so it never really smells!

    can’t wait for additional pictures to see how this progresses!

  5. a Says:

    Oh no! I would have died to see all that destruction! I’m glad you’re getting back to it, though. Your creations are lovely.

    There’s a special place in my heart for handmade pottery – especially when someone uses unusual glazes. My aunt used to make free-form bowls and platters, and she always did something unique with color or inlay. So I love to see someone who does such beautiful work.

  6. Dora Says:

    Oh! I know that awful feeling. And, yes, it is something one needs to become okay with on some level when working in a fragile medium. But it still stings. So glad to hear you’re back in the pottery studio! Pictures of new berry bowls soon?

  7. Cat Says:

    Yay for getting back into a hobby you enjoy that’s just for you!

    I just do the paint-your-own-pottery thing, and not in the last few years, but a decorative plate from a set of three that I painted for my kitchen wall just jumped out of it’s hanger a couple weeks ago. I have no idea what made it fall, but when it did, it smashed to smithereens. Hopefully I can find another plate to match the others and paint a replacement.

  8. St. Elsewhere Says:

    The loss of your bowls made you go back to the pottery studio.

    I don’t know why, but as I typed the comment, I thought of bow(e)ls.

    Here’s to great new stuff coming out of that studio!


Please leave a reply

