Thoughtful Thursday: Making Your Bed

September 22, 2011

Thoughtful ThursdayHaving had my house on the market for almost a full year, I’ve gotten used to the routine of preparing for a showing.

Best case scenario is that the house is already tidy and clean, and a few things need to be staged. This has never happened.

2nd best case scenario is that the house is moderately messy and moderately dirty, and we must scramble to tidy and clean and stage. This has happened sometimes.

3rd best case scenario is that the house is a disaster area and we must scramble hard to tidy and clean and stage. This has been the most common.

The tidying and cleaning are things that should be done anyway, and the house showing is a nice excuse to make them happen, just as we used to throw parties to force us to make the house presentable. I don’t consider this a waste of time.

The staging is not stuff that needs to be done anyway. For example, I move furniture, hide all of the toys, and put back dangerous objects like fireplace implements to convert the living room from toddler paradise into adult living room. As soon as the showing is over, I have to put everything back. That room alone takes about an hour. This is a waste of time in the sense that it does not need to be done for me, though I understand that it is the cost of doing business when selling a house.

Then, there’s the stuff that may or may not need to be done, depending on who you ask, such as making the bed. We sometimes put the blanket and comforter back into position in the morning, sometimes not. If we don’t fix the blankets in the morning, we end up needing to do it at night before we get into bed, so it’s not really wasted time. The big time waster: decorative pillows. We never position the shams unless someone is coming over. DH has such disdain for shams. He openly mocks people like his stepmother who have a dozen decorative pillows on their bed, all of which must be displaced and replaced every single day.

Do you make your bed every day? What’s your stance on decorative pillows?

14 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Making Your Bed”

  1. Elana Kahn Says:

    Oh gosh no. I never make my bed except the first time I put the sheets on. I’m just going to mess it up again, so what’s the point in making it pretty? No one’s going to see it anyway! No decorative pillows here either…

  2. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Nopes, I don’t make my bed every day.

    I WON’T leave my bedsheet ruffled or anything, but I will fold the blanket only if I am really feeling like it, which is not very often.

    I don’t have any decorative pillows on my bed. Just the plain, simple, functional ones. That’s it.

  3. strongblonde Says:

    omg. my dad was CRAZY about the bed being made. we couldn’t leave our room until it was done. now? i have to have it made!! there were some instances when the babies were little when the bed didn’t get made until right before we were getting in. i guess it boils down to the fact that i love crisp sheets and things to feel freshly made. 🙂 i’m also so anal about making my bed that i can’t let B do my side. he’s too sloppy for me. i like my corners a certian way! haha! we each have a large feather pillow, a smaller feather pillow, and a pillow with a sham. the thing is that they are all used in our bed. each night before we go to sleep we’ll read, and we’ll use all three to prop us up. then, two of mine get tossed onto the floor when i actually go to sleep. for the most part, i feel like we should really just have functional things. the pillows look pretty, right? but what do they DO?? 😉

  4. Ana Says:

    I was in the NEVER camp, but my husband likes having the bed made. At first, I was all “you want it made, you make it yourself”, but I started to really enjoy seeing some semblance of order…I’m a convert. Now an unmade bed just symbolizes utter chaos—its like not showering or brushing my teeth, and only happens if I’m sick.

  5. Rebecca Says:

    We never make the bed, we both straighten our pillows at night but we don’t even pull the duvet up in the morning, the duvets are just in disarray.

  6. Quiet Dreams Says:

    I wasn’t made to regularly make my bed while growing up, but at some point I started to do so (post college), and now I do it everyday. I don’t do bunches of pillows, so that makes it easier. Somehow the rest of the room looks cleaner (even if it’s fairly cluttered) if the bed’s made, and it takes very little effort (I don’t do any crazy hospital corners or anything like that).

  7. a Says:

    I have no strong feelings on having the bed made. Sometimes I crawl back in for a nap, and it helps if I’m not disturbing anything. However, I do have a stance on pillows. I really only want the one I’ll be putting my head on! My husband needs one for his head and one to hug, so we each have 2 (for symmetry, of which I am also a big fan). But I don’t see the point of fancy pillows which are going to be thrown onto the floor while I’m sleeping.

    However, I believe I’m about to violate my policy. We’re going to redo our daughter’s room for her birthday, and I will probably get her some animal print pillows so I don’t have to get her a zebra comforter.


  8. I pull the sheets and comforter over the bed and smooth it out. We each have 2 pillows, which serve as support when reading in bed. But we each need only 1 to sleep.

    I’m much too practical to bother with decorative pillows. Waste. of. my. time.

    But I do like having the bed covered. Course that takes about 5 seconds.

  9. JP Says:

    We do not make our bed every day. I must have it smooth and straightened before entering it though. I do like shams, but I am not big on decorative pillows.

  10. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    If making the bed is pulling up the sheets, blanket, and comforter, then yes I make the bed every morning. It drives me crazy if I don’t or if Nav does it because he leaves everything all bunched up and wrinkled. I’d prefer tucking the sheets in but he hates that so we compromised with it all pulled up. We have 2 pillows each- 1 regular and 1 in a sham. I use both at night. He varies between 1 or 2. We used to have a decorative pillow but that was before twins. Now we’re lucky if the pillows stay on the bed at all.

  11. Cat Says:

    I do not make our bed everyday, but now that our house is on the market, too, I make it more often than I used to.

    I agree wholeheartedly with your husband about decorative pillows. I dislike having to excavate a bed in order to sleep in it.

  12. Mel Says:

    Absolutely beyond no to decorative pillows (though extra squashy pillows on the sofa totally okay to encourage napping). And I can’t remember the last time I made the bed. I like it unmade to encourage bed re-entry.


  13. Yes, I do make the bed every day, but it’s pretty simple – when we get up I turn the covers (duvet) over so the mattress can air out a bit and I shake up the pillows. Then a few hours later I will straighten the covers over the bed.

    We don’t have any decorative pillows. I think that’s a very American thing and even if it would also be Dutch or French, we wouldn’t have them, completely useless in our opinion!


  14. I make our bed every day but only because I make myself do it as part of my morning clean routine. It’s not a natural instinct and I really don’t believe in decorative pillows. This gets me to thinking that I might need to start teaching my daughter how to make her bed in the mornings. Hopefully it’s a habit I help her set up, b/c it does make the room look so much better.


Please leave a reply

