Thoughtful Thursday: Wind

September 15, 2011

Thoughtful ThursdayThe last time the wind got knocked out of someone in this house, an infant Burrito kicked the nanny in the stomach during a diaper change.

The last time the wind literally got knocked out of me, I was 7 years old in gymnastics class.

The last time the wind figuratively got knocked out of me, I was in the car, last week.

About a mile and a half from my house, there is a retirement home. I very rarely drive in that direction, so in 5 years I’ve probably passed it only half a dozen times. Aside from driving by, the only time I’ve ever heard it mentioned was last year, when the town parents’ group was organizing the children to visit the home for Halloween in their costumes to amuse the residents. I didn’t bring Burrito and Tamale, mainly because it seemed wrong that my mother should be in a similar assisted living facility thousands of miles away but that Burrito and Tamale would be oohed and aahed at in their costumes by other kids’ grandparents but not her.

Sometime between last Halloween and now, the home, which was formerly independent, was bought by a national chain of assisted living facilities. The same chain that owned the facility where my mother spent most of the last year of her life.

I didn’t know this until I drove by last week, when Burrito and Tamale started daycare on that side of town. When I saw the new sign with its too-familiar name, its too-familiar font, its too-familiar color scheme, I felt like I’d been punched in the gut. The wind got knocked out of me.

I will be driving by several times a week now, so I suppose I’ll have to get used to it. So far, the punches haven’t been as hard and the wind is no longer being totally knocked out of me, but I’m torn between averting my eyes and stopping the car to stare at the sign.

I have no idea if I’ll bring them there for the Halloween parade this year.

When was the last time the wind got knocked out of you, literally or figuratively?

10 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Wind”

  1. Cat Says:

    The only times I can think of are all the pregnancy announcements from friends while we were TTC – especially when it was their second pregnancy and we still had none.

    I can remember exactly when DD2 got the wind knocked out of her. We were at some friends’ house and she fell off their plastic climbing thing flat onto her back. She didn’t even cry right away so I knew it was bad. Afterwards, her left leg was giving out underneath her. It was terrifying and on a weekend. The after hours nurse said she didn’t have any concussion symptoms, but we woke her up a couple times overnight to make sure. She was very confused about that, but fine physically. I was a mess, though.

  2. St. Elsewhere Says:

    The last time that I got the wind knocked out of me was –

    Realizing I could be pregnant, having a positive test, and simultaneous dawning of the fact that I had taken the complete dose of Clomid

  3. a Says:

    It’s about 2 weeks short of 5 years ago…and I’m still angry about it.

  4. strongblonde Says:

    most recently it was in a meeting with representatives of my school and a foreign government when my Dean and mentor told them that I was a statistical “expert” and would be the perfect person to analyze their country’s health data! yikes! i am NO expert!!! scary and exciting at the same time. but i definitely lost my breath in the meeting!!!

  5. Elana Kahn Says:

    Actually it was yesterday. I recently became a doula and was visiting with my first client – she was being induced, but then they turned it off at night so we could all get some sleep and have turned everything back on now. In any case, I posted to my Facebook that I was at the hospital with her “doing my doula thing”, and the first person to like it was my favorite midwife (who helped deliver Tzipora). I haven’t heard from her in months and was happily shocked to see her “like”. 🙂


  6. Oooh. I wish there were something I could say to make the drive-by less punched-in-the-gutty. {{{{BabySmiling}}}}

    For me, figuratively, it was last month when Melissa (Our Full Circle) told me her husband had died suddenly. My knees buckled and I had to remember to inhale.

    I can’t remember having the wind literally knocked out of me. Probably a flag football game 10 years or so ago.


  7. The first miscarriage knocked the figurative wind out of me, but strangely enough, not the second, which was more cruel, since it was 8 weeks in. I think I was more prepared for the eventuality the second time. But I had the wind knocked out of me a couple of times while learning to paddleboard in Hawaii. It was an amazing experience, and made me realize that I really should take the risk of learning to do something new with my body every year.

  8. Heather Says:

    Literally, would be Tommy kicking me while I changed his diaper. He’s known for that. I cringe sometimes when I change that kids diaper. Thank goodness he is interested in using the potty these days. Sorry to hear about your figurative kick in the gut.

  9. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    I suppose it was finding out we were expecting twins while Nav was deployed and we were preparing to move across country. Nothing like a triple whammy to get your heart racing.


  10. Oh my, I might still make the October intelligentsia, even though I don’t really know what to write as I start answering this question and I really need to go to sleep…

    Literally probably, as someone else describes above, when my toddler kicks me in the stomach when I change his diaper – but since I’m pregnant again I do my best to avoid that (which works, although diaper changing has become more of a wrestling game at times).

    Figuratively seeing a photo of my mom a few months after her death, on which she was so alive and looking me straight in the eye.


Please leave a reply

