Thoughtful Thursday: Pee

August 25, 2011

Thoughtful ThursdayA silly one for you this week…

Tamale has a problem with peeing. She pees a lot. It’s very common for her to overflow her diaper overnight, during naps, and especially during car trips of any length. Last week I changed her the moment before we got in the car, and within 40 minutes I had to pull over because she’d soaked herself and wouldn’t stop screaming. I’ve tried to be prepared and bring an extra pair pants when we go out, but so many times she’s ended up wetting the original pair plus the backup pair. Now I try to bring two extras. She loves beverages, but even when she drinks the exact same amount as her brother, she leaks but he does not. It’s not the diapers; it’s her.

I have a different problem with peeing. My life is full of (usually, but not always successful) mad dashes to the bathroom. I get so engrossed in what I’m doing that I don’t get up, for anything. Yesterday when I was leaving work I realized that I was in danger of having an accident while walking to the car because I’d sat at the computer for 4.5 hours and forgot to go to the bathroom. It’s not like I was taking in liquid; I didn’t get up for that either. I was in the zone, and that zone does not involve taking any breaks.

I also had pee problems during each of my embryo transfers. The first time, I didn’t drink enough water and had to drink more and make them wait. The second time, I dutifully drank a lot of water — so much that the RE insisted on removing some of the urine via catheter before the transfer, and the rest via catheter after transfer because “it’s humanly impossible for you to hold it for 10 minutes after transfer with that much urine in your bladder, and we don’t need you to pee on the table.” The first time I was a not-good-enough patient; the second time I was too good a patient.

My husband has yet another peeing problem. When he worked in an office, he drank so much water that he’d need to go to the bathroom constantly. Like every half an hour. Many people in the office laughed at him, and many others gawked at the weirdo who appeared to have a bladder the size of a walnut. They also wondered how he could get any work done if he spent that much time walking to and from the bathroom and to and from the water cooler; he works just fine. A medical professional friend of ours once insisted that DH get bloodwork because no one should drink that much water and something must be gravely wrong with him. Nope, just well-hydrated.

My pee problem says that I get engrossed in what I’m doing. DH’s pee problem might seem to say something about his work ethic but in fact says that he just loves water. Tamale’s pee problem partly that she loves water like her father, and partly says that she just happens to make a lot of pee, and partly says that we should probably make more of an effort to change her diapers as often as possible.

Do you have a pee problem? What does your problem say about you?

16 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Pee”

  1. strongblonde Says:

    hahahaa. my pee problem is that hold my bladder too long. as a nurse i’ve gone 12 hours without going to the bathroom. i don’t like to make a habit out of it…..but i definitely don’t go to the bathroom often enough.

    another problem is that sometimes i’ll use the bathroom for “alone time” 🙂 i’ll take my blackberry in and stay in extra long. just to have a brief period of time with some privacy 🙂 lol. only when B is around with the kids, of course!!

  2. hardmanb Says:

    BIBS,
    This is off-subject, but read your comment in Melissa Ford’s blog on the email sent by Steve Jobs to the “Wolvog”:
    ”…Hmm. Right now I’d appreciate an email from a woman who’s been successfully able to balance work and family…. “

    Personal advice: Just love them and do your best and you WILL be successful, despite all your doubts…and someday your children will fully realize it, and drive themselves crazy trying to be as good a parent to their own children.

    Helpful Hint: Buy a used paperback at Amazon titled “Cheaper By The Dozen” by the Gilbreaths. They are the appreciative children of Frank and Lillian Gilbreath, the world famous icons of Industrial Engineering when IEs were “Efficiency Experts”. The book is a riotous, easy and loving read of these incredibly hardworking couple raising 12 children and a dog.

    Hardmanb

  3. celia Says:

    Have you tried nighttime diapers for Tamale? Peter was peeing through his till we switched. You might also try doubling with a larger sized diaper. I learned that trick from my aunt when my Mom was incontinent in Depends. So she wore double Depends and no leaks! Thank God.

    My pee problem is that I have a weak bladder. I totally jacked it up working in the kitchen for so long and having to hold it for hours and hours and HOURS when we were busy. It’s better now than it was but I am sure as I get more pregnant it will be Soggy Panty Time again.

  4. a Says:

    I am a holder. Depending on my fluid intake, I might go 4-5 times/day. My husband thinks that one should be peeing every hour, and if they’re not, they’re not drinking enough water. He needs hydration all the time. My daughter is a weird combination. She holds it like me, but must always be hydrated. What this meant for me was that from the time she was an infant, she would not pee during the night. That made potty training easier by an order of magnitude. I think she wet the bed maybe twice.

  5. Elana Kahn Says:

    I feel like I have to pee nearly all the time, and my bladder doesn’t seem to hold very much. I think it’s because I didn’t get potty trained until I was 4 1/2. It wasn’t because my parents weren’t trying, it was because I was too “busy” to be bothered with things like going to the toilet…diapers were just easier. So I didn’t really have to start holding my pee until I was pretty old, so I just don’t hold it very well. I also sometimes pee when I sneeze – but mostly that just happens when I’m sick. 🙂 I have no idea what my problem says about me…maybe that I’m just too busy in general.

  6. Heather Says:

    This post made me laugh. I am what I call “urinal retentive”. It’s what you said, sitting in front of a computer for so long that you hold off going as long as possible.

  7. St. Elsewhere Says:

    When in office, I tend to hold my pee. Usually, it could be because I couldn’t be expected to answer the cal right about then (as, am taking a class) or that I don’t want to make the effort to get up and walk down to the loo and relieve myself. In the latter case, often when I reach the loo, it is a national emergency.

    I am lazy, and I procrastinate on things – my pee habit says that I think.

  8. Kymberli Says:

    I have a pee habit like yours and St. Elsewhere’s. I’m either A. so engrossed in what I am doing that I forget to use the bathroom, or B. know I have to pee, but am too lazy to get up to go do it.

    Either way, it usually results in me waiting until the last possible second before an epic bladder explosion before I go to the bathroom.

    To echo St. Elsewhere – I am lazy, and I procrastinate.

  9. Two Kayaks Says:

    Fun! I am like you in that I will put off peeing until the last possible minute because I’m either too busy, too engrossed in what I’m doing or refuse to use a washroom other than my own at home. In teaching, we learn to hold it because we can’t always go when we need to. Often, I would come home at the end of the day not having been to the washroom once.
    Now that Chick is potty trained, she pees a GAZILLION times a day just because she loves using the toilet so much. Pea, on the other hand, waits until he has a gallon of pee in his bladder before he will fill up his diaper.

  10. Jane Says:

    Funny … reminded me of my embryo transfer. I filled my bladder just perfectly, but after the doctor finished, he insisted I remain on the table until I could pee into the bedpan they placed below me. I couldn’t do it! I was so so so ashamed of having to pee in front of him and others. My bladder was extremely full by this point, I was so uncomfortable, and I couldn’t pee.

    I thought it would be such a relief when I finally did, but it was awful. Peeing in a bedpan is the worst thing ever.

  11. Ana Says:

    Love the pee-post!

    So, at 34 weeks pregnant, my life is a constant pee-party right now. But I’m generally more like you & many others, just being too busy and/or too lazy to go pee. Also not a big water drinker (I rarely get thirsty, unless I’m exercising or its REALLY hot). I think I’m pretty good at holding it—in school I rarely used the bathroom, and at work, I often go all day without it. The only time I’ve had issues was during my wilder days, after drinking a lot. I’ve had to pee in a parking lot earning myself the nickname “pee pee mcgee” (thankfully it has been forgotten)

    My husband, on the other hand, has major pee problems. Like yours, he drinks & pees all the live-long day at work. He really CANNOT hold it, and when he needs to go, it immediately becomes an emergency—I’ve seen him run for the bathroom (literally) and even have an accident once when he couldn’t run home fast enough from a dinner out. He also thinks that one should be pee-ing every couple of hours throughout the day to “keep things clean”.

    As for the little one, I haven’t noticed any issues yet, though he’s recently become fascinated with the pee-ing process, and watching himself (in the tub) and us pee is endlessly amusing.
    We have had to move to ginormous size 5 nighttime diapers because he does soak them through at night, though never had issues during the day, even when we are lax about changing him.

  12. Dora Says:

    My post-pregnancy pee issue is minor. After I seem to finish peeing I need to wait about 30 seconds to pee the last few drops. No big deal, just different than before.

    Sunshine was constantly waking up soaked until I found these diaper inserts. I just put one in her overnight diaper and it has pretty much solved the puddle problem. I also sometimes put an overnight diaper on her if we’re going to be out for quite a while.

  13. Cat Says:

    Um, I actually have a bladder of steel. I can hold it almost indefinitely and it comes in very handy. Sometimes, though, when I have to go, I have to go right NOW. So that’s inconvenient. But mostly it’s awesome.

    I used to have a boss with a pee problem. She wouldn’t want to stop what she was doing to go to the bathroom. Sometimes she’d even be doing a little dance while talking to me because she had to go so badly. It’s very awkward to tell your boss that’s 20 years your senior to just go potty already.

    As for Tamale, I assume you’ve tried the overnight diapers with extra absorbency? We had to go up a size from their usual daytime diapers when they even started soaking through the overnights regularly. So now they wear size 4 in regular diapers during the day and size 5 overnights. There are inserts you can get, too, to absorb even more. Diaper Doublers or something. I’m sure you know all this, but mentioning it just in case.

    My girls had more of a poop problem today than pee. Too many fresh peaches and blueberries, I think. It was messy.

  14. jill Says:

    This is too funny 🙂 I enjoyed reading about your family’s pee problems. Haha

    My pee problem is that it *really* annoys me. I really dislike going for some reason and will hold it all day long, even while drinking water regularly. When I go it’s because there is a lot and then I’m always self-conscious about other people in a public bathroom hearing me peeing forever.

    I also have the common dribble-when-you-sneeze/cough/laugh issue (grumble…) but I don’t have any of the common reasons why.

  15. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    Thanks for a lighthearted one this week. I never drink enough water so I’m rarely in the bathroom. Or the opposite and I drink too much tea and I’m in there all the time.

    My boys are both heavy pee-ers. Alex outgrew the biggest nighttime diapers but Benjamin wears them. Our solution is they wear Gerber All in One Waterproof Training Pants aka “squeaky pants” to bed. They have the cotton inner layer and vinyl outer layer. The lined ones are key as that absorbs the pee that leaks from the diaper. The just vinyl ones don’t absorb and the leak too.


  16. I am currently staving off peeing so that I can make this comment. Basically, I have the exact same problem as you and should really blog one day about what a pain it is for people who get super-focused to have to eat, drink, and pee.


Please leave a reply

