Thoughtful Thursday: Throw a Dart at the Map

July 28, 2011

Thoughtful Thursday

The topic I have been thinking about lately happens to be remarkably similar to the Creating Motherhood summer camp prompt for tomorrow. The first part of Calliope’s question:

If you could live anywhere for one month this summer, where would it be and why?

Because of my sort-of limbo, I’ve been thinking about a lot of different scenarios. A semi-permanent move (with or without selling the house) is one option, for a year or two probably. Or, if the house continues not to sell, we could go somewhere for a month or two. We could go somewhere that we wouldn’t want to live permanently but where one of us could find some intriguing temporary career opportunities. Or, we could go purely as a getaway (that is, rather than working from home, we’d both work from a temporary home in a different city).

In a way, we can almost go anywhere. Some possibilities are more exciting than others. For the option where we go for a couple of months, some really exciting possibilities start coming into play.

Here are some places that have come up in our discussions.

This part of limbo is really fun.

If you could live anywhere for a month or two, where would you go?

14 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Throw a Dart at the Map”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    France, the Loire/around Tours.

  2. Two Kayaks Says:

    J. and I have actually looked at real estate in Denmark. Like where we live now, the cost of living is high, but the education, health care and general opportunities are amazing.

  3. Ernessa Says:

    Just to narrow it down, I’m going to only list English-speaking places: London, Edinburgh, Dublin, Auckland, Belize, Hawaii, vancouver, Toronto, Austin, US Virgin Islands, Santa Fe, or Chicago — you know, not very many places…

  4. Ana Says:

    Definitely overseas, I think Europe. Though I’ve always been a bit curious about the west coast, I couldn’t pass up living overseas if actually given the opportunity.

  5. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    I’d love to spend time in Florence, Italy again. And Nav would happily spend a month in Paris. So Europe for us. I wouldn’t mind if the AF sent us overseas again but it’s extremely unlikely.

  6. celia Says:

    I would like to go to Puerto Rico. My favorite painting ever is there, Flaming June. Maybe that is a silly reason but there you have it. Hopefully when we are retired we will be able to go on a European art tour.

  7. Elana Kahn Says:

    I’d go to the UK for sure. I have always wanted to go there!!! I might also go to Israel, but I’ve been there before and would like to try somewhere new first.


  8. Where’s the Denver pin? πŸ˜‰

    Paris, for sure. NYC would be fun for a bit. Also, somewhere in NZ.

    It’s fun to think of the possibilities! Can’t wait to see where I might visit you πŸ™‚

  9. a Says:

    I’d go anywhere as long as they have suitable plumbing. πŸ™‚ No third world countries for this girl, and some of the first world ones I might consider slightly uncivilized too (I’m looking at you and your squatter toilets, Italy!).

    I’d like to go to England, Ireland again, Italy, France, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, NYC, Oregon, New Mexico, Hawaii, Spain…I could keep going on and on and on…

  10. strongblonde Says:

    your midwest pin is totally missing πŸ˜‰ b and i would love to go to europe. anywhere would be great, but i lean toward french countryside/italy. also love the idea of NZ or vancouver! ultimately, i would live most places for a few months. just a change of scenery would be great, in my opinion. it would be nice to live somewhere with good public transit, though. that’s the thing that seems to be missing in my town!!

    can’t wait to see how this story unfolds. i’ll have to live through you, i suppose!!! πŸ™‚

  11. St. Elsewhere Says:

    That is so fun!

    I can’t decide on a single place….maybe Turkey, or going to Pondicherry or Dharamshala…..

  12. Cat Says:

    Oh my gosh, how many pins can I use? I have been to very few places outside the U.S. and none of them were places I’d want for a getaway – think Mexican border mission work.

    If I could go anywhere for a month, my list would include:
    UK to see all the castles and centuries-old buildings
    Italy to eat and eat and eat and eat and eat until I die
    Greece, again to see the old buildings
    Australia to road trip through the outback
    Czech Republic to see all the awesome stuff my friends took pictures of on their recent IVF vacation

    Basically anywhere with cool buildings and/or good food.

  13. shinejil Says:

    Newfoundland! Cold cold cold. And maritime. And wild.

  14. Heather Says:

    We talk about where we’d like to move to that would be exciting. Places that come up are: San Francisco, Toronto, New York City, London, any place in Spain or France. It’s fun to think of things like that isn’t it?


Please leave a reply

