Limbo Rock

July 22, 2011

You have got to be kidding me.

After a couple of weeks of expecting my multi-faceted limbo to resolve imminently, earlier this week I was told, “Maybe at the end of this week, but for sure by August.” Aaaaah!

The potential new job needed one more piece of information before making a decision. I gently asked that the process be moved along, for the sake of extricating myself from my work here. I didn’t get into the need to sell a house, get a new place (which someone else may be sniping from under me), move far away, find new child care, etc. The start date is the same regardless of when the answer comes. I also didn’t get into the need to get the hell out of limbo.

Then, yesterday, an email saying they’d call me today, what time am I available.

I said I am available any time.

The phone hasn’t rung yet. It is 9:23 p.m.

Is this a test?

Aaaah!

Don’t move that limbo bar
You’ll be a limbo star
How low can you go?

6 Responses to “Limbo Rock”

  1. Mel Says:

    Oh my G-d — I freakin’ go crazy with those sorts of things. If I tell someone I’m going to call, I call. When you know someone is waiting for an answer, you don’t drag it out. Sending good thoughts. You know I hope you get this news soon.

  2. strongblonde Says:

    good grief. this is exactly what happened when i moved jobs. i can’t even believe you have to go through it, too. it totally sucks. 😦

    here’s to hoping that things progress at a more swift pace!!

  3. a Says:

    Grrr! How frustrating! Hope they call with a fabulous offer soon!


  4. Oh, dear. I’m in limbo in a similar situation and with a similar vagueness-bordering-on-unresponsiveness, but my stakes are not nearly as high as yours.

    Gah! Maddening! I hope they call you tomorrow morning.

  5. Cat Says:

    Oh geez. That totally stinks. I hope they’ve called you by now!


  6. Aaarggghhh! Did they finally call….?


Please leave a reply

