Summer Camp Day 4

July 4, 2011

Day 4 of blog summer camp at Creating Motherhood!

Today’s prompt: What has most surprised you about being an adult?

When I was a kid, anything seemed possible if you worked hard enough and wanted hard enough.

When I became an adult, I learned that some things are close to impossible no matter how hard you try and how hard you want, like getting pregnant.

I also learned that you can’t count on very many people in this world, even in your own family.

I learned that intelligence, education, and hard work don’t get you nearly as far as connections, charm, and getting intelligent educated others to do the hard work for you.

Bonus: A reprieve of Summer Camp Day 1! Specifically, a photo of my temporary blogging spot, one weekend only. It looks an awful lot like camp, but it was actually a weekend getaway on a lake. Although it wasn’t camp, there were canoes, watermelons, and bug spray.

There are lots of other adults at this camp!

3 Responses to “Summer Camp Day 4”

  1. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Oooh, I hope you enjoyed the getaway!

    Stupid question: Is that big black thing next to the laptop a synthesizer?

    As a kid, I was fed the idea that good things happen to good people. As an adult I realized that all things happen to all people.

  2. babysmiling Says:

    @St. Elsewhere: Yes, it is.

  3. strongblonde Says:

    it sucks. sometimes you can say/do all of the right things and work your ass off and things still don’t go as you’d expect. i really don’t like the “everything happens for a reason” response. but now? now that i have little M and T? I wouln’t trade them for the world. that doesn’t mean that i WANT to go through infertility. but i wonder what my kids would have been like without each other or without us going through the whole process. did it change me as a parent? ok. uhm…sorry. way to hijack a comment/blog post!


Please leave a reply

