Perfect Moment Monday: Lockout

May 30, 2011

Since Lori is going on hiatus for a while with Perfect Moment Mondays…

My perfect moment? Locking my keys in my car!

I’d gone to the bank in a neighboring town for one of many visits in which I’ve been trying, unsuccessfully, to close my mother’s accounts. You know what’s more troubling than closing your dead mother’s bank accounts? Being unable to close your dead mother’s bank accounts, over and over.

Anyway, a few doors down from the bank is a brunch restaurant that I enjoy but rarely get to visit. I put in my lunch order then headed to the bank. I quickly learned that this visit would once again not prove successful. This realization occurred so quickly that my food was not yet ready. So, I decided to clean out the car. It is very satisfying to clean out literally hundreds of fallen Cheerios, along with receipts, used tissues, and all of the other debris that collects in the car. Then I went into the restaurant to pick up my order.

When I got back to the car, I realized that in the process of cleaning out the car, I’d locked my keys inside.

I instantly realized that I was having another cupcake moment.

Instead of heading right back to the office so that I could gobble my lunch hunched over my keyboard, I had to wait 45 minutes for AAA to arrive. So, I sat on a bench in ideal weather, lilacs in bloom, listening to Radiohead, savoring my delicious lunch.

Maybe I should lock my keys in my car more often.

Head over to Write Mind Open Heart for the last Perfect Moment Monday for a few months.

6 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Lockout”

  1. jjiraffe Says:

    Great post. I’m so sad Lori’s going on hiatus with the Perfect Moments, although I understand why.

    I love Radiohead. I hadn’t played them in a while, but one of their songs inexplicatedly popped into my head today: Morning Bell. Weird, I wonder what that means (for Radiohead songs always mean something in my life). I remember you mentioned that the name of your blog was from “Fitter, Happier” and I was instantly a fan.


  2. Ah, yes. Those detours that take us off track to get us back on track.

    Ugh on the frustration of closing your mom’s accounts. But doesn’t it feel good to have a cheerio-free car? Even though it lasts only about a tenth of a mile.

  3. Cat Says:

    That sounds like a wonderful lunch break!

  4. Heather Says:

    Sometimes like that you really do think that things happen for a reason. I hope you are able to close your mother’s accounts soon. I’ve heard trying to close out estates are tough. My old boss went through it with his father a few years ago.

  5. Delenn Says:

    Talk about making lemonade out of lemons! So glad you were able to enjoy the little things.

  6. Kristin Says:

    I’m glad you got that moment to decompress.


Please leave a reply

