Mothers’ Day

May 8, 2011

From my birth until 2001, I only thought of Mothers’ Day from the perspective of a daughter.

From 2002-2008, Mothers’ Day primarily called attention to my status as a non-mother.

In 2009, I was a hopeful almost-mother, toward the end of my first trimester with Burrito and Tamale.

Last year, I celebrated the day with my babies, and I sent the appropriate greetings to my mother, grandmother, MILs, grand-MILs, et al.

This year, I celebrated the day with my toddlers, and only almost burst out crying once when I thought of my own mother being gone.

At the time, I had no idea that 2010 would be the only Mothers’ Day of my life that I’d both be a mother and have a mother.

At least it happened once.

18 Responses to “Mothers’ Day”

  1. Kristin Says:

    {{{Hugs}}}

  2. Heather Says:

    So sorry! (((Hugs)))

  3. Ana Says:

    I am so sorry. Hugs & best wishes sent to you from across the internets.

  4. strongblonde Says:

    hugs

  5. Kymberli Says:

    Thinking of you….

  6. a Says:

    Wow. Stunning realization. I’m sorry that you got only one…

  7. Mel Says:

    Sending love. This post just made my heart pause for a moment.


  8. You just made me count my blessings in a whole new way.

    Abiding with you this week, BabySmiling. I am sorry for the empty space in your heart.

    XOXO

  9. Ernessa Says:

    I was actually think about you on Sunday for this very reason. The first Mother’s Day without your mom is hard. But yes, at least you had one. Hang on to that.

  10. Photogrl Says:

    Big, huge ((hugs))!

    It’s such a day of mixed emotions once your mother is no longer here…I understand.

  11. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Sending you a hug.

    Life turns out so strange at times…

  12. BB Says:

    Thinking of you! {HUGS}

  13. Calliope Says:

    You have been on my mind this week. A lot.
    Why is it that we don’t live on the same street??
    I have been horrible at blog commenting – but you are always in my heart. xo

  14. Gail K Says:

    Here from the Roundup. Thinking of you.

  15. Serenity Says:

    Here from the roundup. I have goosebumps.

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

    xoxo

  16. Betty M Says:

    Here from Stirrup Queens. Such a short post but so much said in it. Thinking of you.

  17. Sara Says:

    I’m so so sorry.

  18. JustHeather Says:

    Here from the Creme de la Creme.
    How very special and yet sad. I totally understand this feeling and mourn the fact that I will never get to experience it myself. *big hugs*


Please leave a reply

