Thoughtful Thursday: Calgon

April 28, 2011

Thoughtful ThursdayRemember the old commercial with the overwhelmed woman who finds peace by sinking into a bubble bath? “Calgon, take me away!”

My Calgon moment involves sitting down with a dessert — maybe a brownie, or a piece of cake — and some milk. Usually Burrito and Tamale have gone to bed for the evening, but sometimes I’ll take this break from life during nap time. There’s a marvelous moment with the first bite: it’s quiet, and I am all alone with no immediate demands on me, and aaaaah. The moment is just as sweet as the food.

What is your Calgon moment?

15 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Calgon”

  1. strongblonde Says:

    i wish that i could say that it was going to the gym. i DO really like that, BUT my moment is really REALLY good food and wine. last week we went to dinner at a local place that specializes in farm to table food. we did the tasting menu with the wine parings and it was so awesome. we enjoyed every.single.bite.

    we also just got our main bathroom redone. i have not taken a bath in almost 12 years. maybe i’ll become a calgon lady???

  2. a Says:

    It depends on the day – sometimes it’s sitting down with the computer after my daughter has gone to bed. Sometimes it’s pulling out a handful of chocolate chips (Ghirardelli’s 60% cocoa) and eating them one by one. Sometimes it’s sitting down with a good book – or even a bad one. But I definitely need some time to unwind every day.


  3. Oooooh….I love what you’ve described.

    Mine is right after kids’ bedtime, too. I have a little dessert, like you, and read some of my favorite blogs. I love it because it’s My Time.

  4. Kymberli Says:

    My Calgon moment is almost literally just that – a good book and a warm bubble bath (with a side of Frank being optional).

  5. St. Elsewhere Says:

    I live for Calgon moments.

    It is mostly me alone in the house with chocolate and a good movie to watch, and nothing weighing on my mind.

    A dark room and me sitting, listening to a song I have been waiting to listen to in solitude for a while.

  6. jjiraffe Says:

    Mine is going to Jamba Juice before picking up the kids. They know me and get my Matcha Green Tea Blast right away, and I can read my blogs for a few moments. Heavenly!


  7. Haha, when I read the title I was like “what?” Calgon in Holland and France (and probably elsewhere in Europe) is a water softener for your washing machine…! So now I have this jingle from the early 90s in my head “wasmachines leven langer met calgon!” (washers live longer with calgon). 😉

    Ok, back to your question: my moment is on the days that I have my son at home (normally Tuesdays and Thursdays, but this week the sitter is on vacation, so it’s been every day) and when I’ve put him down for his afternoon nap, I get in bed myself, put three pillows behind my back, sit/lie with my laptop to read some blogs, write comments, answer emails, check FB, and more often than not, take a little nap myself. Complete and utter ‘me’ time (so as you can imagine, this moment is right now when I type this!).

  8. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    Mine is a bowl of good dark chocolate ice cream. The darker the better and if it has extras (chocolate chips, brownies, nuts) mixed in, then even better. We recently started bringing up our bowls and putting them in our upstairs mini-fridge/freezer and waiting until the boys are asleep to enjoy the ice cream together. Some days (who am I kidding, every weekday) it’s our only time together.

  9. Elana Kahn Says:

    I need one of these moments, but on my diet I don’t get any. *sigh* Maybe when I make a peanut butter/chocolate whip and bite into that. That’s a little piece of heaven. 🙂

  10. Mel Says:

    Usually, reading, but sometimes it’s lying down on the sofa with my iPod and tuning everyone out for two or three songs.

  11. Ana Says:

    Hmmm. Usually a glass of wine with some good dark chocolate at the end of the day. Lately its been getting into bed EARLY with a good book.

  12. Ernessa Says:

    My Calgon moment is usually right when I wake up. I have a whole 30 minutes to read while my husband takes a shower. Heaven! I also love the walk home from the gym. Totally blissful, just listening to my music as I walk home. I also love seeing all the people starting to come out of their houses and the stores opening.

  13. jill Says:

    This is interesting because I almost want to say I have no moments like that at all. And I really need to find some. Because of how I choose to organize my life (BADLY), I live with constant stress of things I put off, need to do, but don’t want to do. A calgon moment for me would have to be those rare times when I finish a really horrible project (usually for work) and the weight is lifted. The rare massage is nice too 🙂

  14. Heather Says:

    A glass of wine and some cheese or a piece of dark chocolate after the kids have gone to bed. While watching recorded episodes of Family Guy. LOL

  15. Damara Says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only momma to indulge in desserts after the kids go to bed! For me it’s usually ice cream.


Please leave a reply

