Audit, Part 4

April 15, 2011

Continuing where we left off

Another part of the audit prep involved figuring out all of the various visits to the RE, hospital, and acupuncturist during the year in question. When you have enough medical expenses to warrant a separate deduction (a mixed blessing, to be sure) you get to include mileage for each of your doctor visits.

When I’d prepared our taxes, I did a rough estimate. Reasonable, but rough.

Now, I needed a more careful record.

When I add it all up, it turns out to be even more than my rough estimate. The total is well over 3000 miles.

I drove over 3000 miles for infertility appointments in one year.

If I’d traveled that distance all at once, I could have gone to France instead.

Or Spain.

Or Brazil.

Or Peru.

Or, I could have gone to the North Pole. Maybe Santa Claus would have granted my wish for a baby.

Stay tuned for more audit “fun,” all leading up to an exciting bloggy event next week!

5 Responses to “Audit, Part 4”

  1. BB Says:

    Hehe… yes, we counted our IF miles too last year while filing our taxes! Craziness!

  2. a Says:

    That’s a lot of miles – although emotionally, I’d bet it was many times that.

    It’s crazy how much you have to spend to even get the deduction – they oughta just leave you a line (or maybe two) that says “What is your doctor’s name and phone #” so they could just call up and verify that you were a patient. Who cheats on their taxes by making up medical expenses? That should not trigger an audit.

  3. Kristin Says:

    Wow…talk about a lot of travel time for doctor’s visits. It can only help that the real travel amount is much higher than your estimate.

  4. strongblonde Says:

    you seem sooo calm for all of this. i’m totally impressed 🙂

    and i can’t believe your totals! i wonder what mine would look like. it gives me a stomach ache to think about our cost for 6 IUIs and 2 IVFs!


Please leave a reply

