Audit, Part 3

April 13, 2011

In Part 2, we left off with a need for receipts to document our medical expenses.

One set of receipts I didn’t keep was for acupuncture. At each visit, I’d only receive a little credit card slip. I always threw them out immediately because

  1. I didn’t think I had any reason to keep them.
  2. Those receipts fade quickly.
  3. I went to acupuncture once or twice a week, so there would have been just too many receipts.

So, I asked the acupuncturist to print out a record of all of the visits. The list was so long that it didn’t fit into one envelope, and in fact barely fit into two. One of those envelopes was so stuffed that the extra postage the acupuncturist used was insufficient, and the post office wouldn’t deliver it.

As I stood in line for 20 minutes at the post office to pay the 34 cent balance to get my letter out of postal limbo, it occurred to me: I paid the acupuncturist more than $4000 in 2008 alone. That really should have covered an extra stamp.

Thoughtful Thursday on a related theme tomorrow, then Part 4 of the saga on Friday.

3 Responses to “Audit, Part 3”

  1. a Says:

    I hope the conclusion of this story is the IRS saying “We are SOOOO sorry to have bothered you. Please don’t bother to pay taxes for the next 10 years.”

  2. Kristin Says:

    I want you to take a picture of the auditors face when he’s presented with all this proof.


  3. “I paid the acupuncturist more than $4000 in 2008 alone. That really should have covered an extra stamp.

    I find this hysterically funny. Someone had some blocked chi and it wasn’t you.

    Like A, I hope this has a happy ending, but I suppose it’s really too soon for an ending.


Please leave a reply

