Thoughtful Thursday: Resolute

December 30, 2010

Thoughtful ThursdayAs New Year’s approaches, many people are in the midst of making resolutions to overhaul their lives.

Around our house, one motivation for resolutions has been, “Don’t be like that other person.” A common example: Though DH and I have never smoked, I’ve known others to quit smoking after loved ones were diagnosed with lung cancer.

A few years ago, DH made permanent changes to his diet after his father underwent cardiac bypass surgery.

Exercise jags have followed learning of heart problems from both sides of the family.

Seeing a particular person with a monobrow has sent me straight to the esthetician for waxing.

My MIL’s ingratitude has encouraged my own relentless writing of thank you notes.

A couple of blowhard relatives have inspired both DH and me to curb our own know-it-all tendencies.

There’s nothing like seeing someone else’s muffin top to send you to the mirror to check how your own pants fit.

A loved one almost dies in a car crash? You can bet you’ll drive more carefully from then on.

Do you make resolutions for your own reasons, or has someone inspired you through negative example?

15 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Resolute”

  1. a Says:

    Sometimes I use the behavior of others to judge my own actions. I like to watch Judge Judy to make sure that I’m not behaving like one of those idiots. πŸ™‚

    However, I don’t ever make resolutions – I don’t know why. I guess I’m not a goal-oriented person…

  2. jill Says:

    I don’t really make resolutions but I’m positive I do this all the time. I regularly see how other people act and try not to act the same or ask R if he thinks I do this or that.

    However, I find that the things I’m much more apt to stick to are the things I truly do for myself and not because I’ve seen someone else do the opposite.

  3. WiseGuy Says:

    I do not make New Year Resolutions.

    I am going to interpret this TT as more of the mental notes we make for ourselves as we traverse this journey called life.

    As far as my guidelines of what-to-do-and-never-do are concerned, I tend to use both observation of others as well as my own rationale guide me through.

    Plus, I have realized that number of things that I took for granted or obvious are actually things I am lucky to have. That means, that I now ‘register’ it better and make sure that I won’t let the kindness just pass by.

    My resolution to wear a helmet at all time when I am driving a two-wheeler is my own.

    My decision to not take calls when I am driving is my own.

    My decision to take the effort to expressly say ‘Thank You’ for a gift I receive is partly mine, partly learnt. I have grown up in a family where no occasions were necessary for the giving of gifts. I now am in a family where the gift-taking and sending is very calculated.


  4. You’re really making me feel like I don’t look outward enough. Seriously though, my answer is a rather emphatic no. Too busy gazing at my own navel. πŸ™‚

  5. WiseGuy Says:

    Happy New Year, BabySmiling!

  6. WiseGuy Says:

    …LOL, my grammar sucks!

  7. WiseGuy Says:

    Maybe I should finally take a resolution to read the comment through before hitting ‘post comment’. I never do.

  8. celia Says:

    I don’t make resolutions. I am not a joiner. But my husband and I have agreed to diet together this year. We both gained about 30 pounds from stress eating this year.

  9. Genevieve Says:

    I do a little of both πŸ™‚

  10. Heather Says:

    Oh yes! The one that comes easily to mind is having a set early bedtime for our kids as we saw all our nieces and nephews stay up to all hours and be cranky. The parents were cranky too. Our 10-year-old daughter used to go to bed at 8 PM when she was a baby and older too. Our twin toddler boys go to bed at 7 PM, as they are way cranky by then. They are easy on us that way, letting us have more time for ourselves in the evening.

  11. emk808 Says:

    If I make a resolution (which I usually don’t), it’s for myself…not because of something someone else did or didn’t do. They’re usually things like “lose weight” or “be a better friend”, but I never keep up with any of my resolutions so I kinda stopped making them. πŸ™‚

  12. BB Says:

    I dont usually make resolutions! Though on a general note I am hoping to loose all this PG weight!! Now that the bf’ing is nearing its end, I have no excuse to hog! I am hoping the babes make me run around to loose some of this flab.

    This is probably random, but I would love to meet you before you move (based on one of your previous posts)!

    Happy New Year!

  13. strongblonde Says:

    i think that i do both. i usually resolve to do something to improve my health (eg: floss more regularly, decrease alcohol, etc), something regarding organization (this year: a daily hand written journal entry about what the kids are doing), etc. i do, however, pay attention to the qualities that i DON’T like in other people and try to avoid those same behaviors/attitudes. i’m not sure i’ve ever really made those thoughts into a true resolution.

    i suppose this year i should try to use those “negative” people for good. perhaps i should resolve not only to NOT be like MIL, but also to use her inappropriate behavior as push to do a personal exercise in deep breathing, guided imagery, or meditation! πŸ™‚

  14. lifeslurper Says:

    Baby Smiling:

    Yeah….I never realised but now see after reading your post, yes I tend to make changes and resolutions to ‘not be like the other person’ – and now for the moment I reckon I’ve almost got every one of those things I don’t want to be in order….so now it’s time *sigh* to start working through the list of things where I want to be like the other person. It is a long list! Ugh! LOL!

    LS x

  15. Cat Says:

    It has nothing to do with New Year’s, but I’m determined not to be like my mother. She’s such an awful person that it’s not difficult, but my middle sister will still sometimes tell me I’m acting like her. There is no greater insult to me, so I try very hard to not be like her. So far my kids still like me, so I’m already ahead.


Please leave a reply

