Thoughtful Thursday: Choose Your Own Adventure

December 16, 2010

Thoughtful ThursdayYesterday I had an adventure. Burrito, Tamale, and I met Mekate from I Can’t Whistle, along with her beautiful not-quite-6-week-old daughter. We don’t live near each other, but we each drove a while and met halfway. We went to a holiday crafts fair, had lunch, and did some shopping. It was even more of an adventure for Kate since she is so new to motherhood and Della is so new to this world. Kate was exactly like I thought she’d be: warm, inquisitive, full of wonder, bursting with love for her baby.

If it hadn’t been 20 degrees F (and our babies had been different ages, or playing inside with their daddies), I might have liked to go hiking with Kate and watch her appreciate nature. But the craft fair was great too — it’s nice to go with someone who appreciates the care that artists put into their work and who also has an eye for aesthetics.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had adventures with other bloggers — and there are many other adventures I would enjoy having with them.

With Lori of Write Mind Open Heart (formerly Weebles Wobblog), and her delightful children, I went to a beautiful chocolate shop (as well as shopping and her house and dinner). Another time we went to the beach. When I’d first told her I was going she’d proposed going to Red Rocks. I’d still love to do that sometime.

With Mel of Stirrup Queens, we went for coffee. That was not so adventurous. Maybe one day my twins and I can accompany Mel and her twins on one of their many adventures — perhaps exploring a quaint town, or picking berries at a farm.

With Dora of My Preconceived Notion, as pregnant women we went looking for tasty treats and shopped in midtown Manhattan and to dinner in the Village. With our babies we went to Central Park. New York is full of so many possible adventures for our next meeting.

I have only hung out with Calliope of Creating Motherhood in a hotel lobby, but now that she’s moved to Philly, I would love to bring our little ones to Sesame Place.

As for adventures with bloggers I haven’t yet met, it would be amazing to visit Wishy from Wishing 4 One in Egypt. Or
Lost in Translation from We Say IVF They Say FIV in France. Or Wiseguy from Woman Anyone? in India. We could do almost anything, given that just being in Egypt/France/India with these lovely ladies would be an adventure in itself.

Choose your own adventure! Pick a blogger and a place to go with them or activity to do with them.

12 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Choose Your Own Adventure”

  1. strongblonde Says:

    I’d love to meet Dee from Where’s My Two Lines? She’s in South Africa and just had her triplets. She’s one of the first blogs I was reading and I think that she may have left me one of my first comments. We’ve exchanged lots of emails and support over the years and I would love to meet her and give her a hug in person!

    Now that you’re moving I think that our adventure may never happen 😦 Maybe I need to convince you guys to come to my neck of the woods?? 😉

  2. Elana Kahn Says:

    I would love to go visit Eileen from “We got hitched. We bought the 4 bedroom house. We had twins! Now what?” http://eileenburnsjin.blogspot.com/ She lives in California, somewhere I’ve never been. Then she could come visit me in Boston (where she used to live) and we would have a grand old time!!

  3. a Says:

    I might get to meet Eve from Impersonating Normal…she lives nearby.


  4. Of course, you are top of mind to see again. I think it will be a bit more frenetic than it’s been before 🙂 (with the exception of BlogHer).

    Wishy’s on my list, too. And so is Wiseguy. Luna from LifeFromHere and Calliope, even though I’ve already had the pleasure. AnnaPires in Portugal.

    Ahhhh….my kindgom for a LearJet!

  5. WiseGuy Says:

    LOL…food figures hugely on my list…

    In no particular order…

    I would like to meet Clare from ‘The Pitter-Patter’ and get a taste of Morocco through her…

    I would love to meet One_Hit-Wonder for sundaes and chocolate hunting…

    And Kristin from Dragondreamer’s Lair for a day out with her kids.

    I would love to meet Barbara@burble for a quiet visit to lonely forts and beaches and watching the sun set…

    The thing is I could really find something to do with you and almost all of them.

  6. Genevieve Says:

    I got here from WiseGuy! And I think you must be in the Eastern PA region, so HOWDY! I would like to do a meet up with all of us, and our newly arrived Calliope as well.

    And it would be amazing to do a tour of my around-the-world bleeps. Better get rich and get a new passport first….

  7. celia Says:

    Sesame Place is two exits from my house!

  8. jill Says:

    Oooh I’d love to have a dinner/lunch with a whole bunch of IF bloggers. No one specific really, there are a lot that I’d love to see there. I’ve never met anyone else dealing with IF and I really think it would be a great experience.


  9. What a great post to come back to TT after a short hiatus on my part (and you posted it on my birthday so even better)!

    You’re very welcome to come to France so we can have a joint adventure. It would be great to meet you!

    I did meet one IF blogger, sassy, from http://eyeheartinternet.wordpress.com/ (now unfortunately a private blog) last year, who lives two hours south from where I am. That was really nice. And someone who lives in St Martin found my blog and subsequently went to my RE for IVF treatment (and it worked). When she was staying here during the treatment she and her hubby came over for dinner. That was also very special.

    Other than that, I’d love to meet athena from http://mystuffandthings.wordpress.com/- whose blog I’ve been following since I started blogging myself – and browneyedgirl from http://preshusme.com/ – who has a son (also after IF treatment) about the same age as mine – and we shared quite a few experiences during our pregnancies.

    I’ll try to catch up on the other December TT entries (and I do still want to react to the double career post you did in November) – but with the holiday craziness it might take a while…


  10. Oh, I completely forgot to mention the place or activity… For athena, I’d like to be treated to one of her vegan specialties, and I’ve never been to the New Haven area, so that would be two whole new adventures for me. With browneyedgirl I’d like to watch our sons hit it off together.

  11. Cat Says:

    I’d love to meet you at Glacier in a few years when your twins and my triplets are old enough for some hiking.

  12. Cat Says:

    Oh, and meeting Sprogblogger would be wonderful, too. I’d love to bake or cook something with her!


Please leave a reply

