Thoughtful Thursday: Automatic

September 2, 2010

Thoughtful Thursday

Say, do you remember dancing in September? Never was a cloudy day. Welcome to the September Intelligentsia, the people who commented on every Thoughtful Thursday post for the month of August.

#19: Wiseguy from Woman Anyone?
#13: Ernessa from Fierce and Nerdy and 32 Candles
#12: Lost In Translation from We Say IVF, They Say FIV
#11: Elana from Elana’s Musings
#11: Jill from All Aboard the Pity Boat
#10: A from Are You Kidding Me?
#8: Mel, a.k.a. Lollipop Goldstein, from Stirrup Queens
#6: Rebecca from Northern Grin
#5: Ana
#3: Strongblonde from Strong Blonde

18 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Automatic”


  1. Not anymore, but for like 2 months after my mom died, I reached for the telephone to call her, then would realize…

    I still think of that as some of my most terrible moments of grief.

  2. a Says:

    I still do the baby-soothing sway…


  3. First, I’m abiding with you still after your loss.

    My answer is more of an anti-automatic variety. I got a new car two days ago and am hyper-aware while driving now, after being almost completely on auto-pilot for the last several years. Yikes! It’s weird to go from comfortable to vigilant.

    Not exactly what you asked for, but kinda.

  4. Elana Kahn Says:

    I can’t really think of anything I do automatically that isn’t relevant any more. Hmmm… I might have done the belly rub thing after the twins were born, but I can’t really remember. I do it now, but I’m pregnant again so I have an excuse. lol

  5. Rebecca Says:

    I don’t know. I do some things so reflexively that I don’t notice. I do check for our cat all over the place. She is sneaky and scares me a lot. I am also paranoid about keeping my back doors in my car locked ever since my mum had her bag snatched out of the car.

  6. JJ Says:

    Im so sorry for the loss of your cat 😦

    I am very “smell” oriented for memories–so as I know this will become bittersweet for me one day, I love that I use the lotion my mom used when I was growing up-and still does. Makes me think of her every day. So it has become my “automatic” memory trigger.

  7. Kristin Says:

    I honestly can’t think of anything I do automatically like that. I wouldn’t be surprised if there is but I can’t think of anything at the moment.

  8. strongblonde Says:

    for a long time after i switched from a manual to an automatic i would push the “clutch” down even though it didn’t exist, lol. now, depending on what car i’m driving i reach for the gear shift in the wrong place. i still go in and out of the house quickly, too, to prevent miss cleo from escaping.

    …that’s all i can think of off of the top of my head though. 🙂

  9. WiseGuy Says:

    Nothing profound…but lifting and pushing a creaking door to close/open it, even though it had been repaired…things of that sort…

    And naming a room after my grandma. Even after she died, for a long time we referred to the room as her room.


  10. It’s weird – I know there IS something that I do automatically even if it’s no longer relevant, but apparently it’s such a habit that I don’t notice at all, because I can’t for the life of me think of what it is! (this must be my least intelligent comment for a TT, I hope this doesn’t disqualify me from the intelligentsia!)

  11. Mel Says:

    Sort of–I keep old phone numbers in speed dial on our phone, even after someone dies or moves. I have to scroll by those numbers daily, and I keep that habit of seeing them because I enjoy thinking about those people and remembering. Even if it makes me sad too.

  12. Photogrl Says:

    I’m sorry about the loss of your cat…((HUGS))

    Happy to be finally back up to commenting on TT…as for me, still after 5 years, reach for the phone to call my mom to share good or bad news. I also automatically turn right out of my driveway everytime I leave the house, regardless of which way I need to go. Why? Because it’s the way I would need to go to work. Or maybe I’m just against left turns…I don’t know. 😉

  13. Dora Says:

    Can’t really think of anything. One thing I remember, which is not quite the same, but years ago I too in-line skating lessons. At one point, when attempting to stop, I lifted my heel and angled my toe down. The instructor laughed and said, “They’re not ice skates.”

  14. Dora Says:

    Typo. Obviously that should be “I tool in-line skating lessons”

  15. Dora Says:

    Oh, man! I’m tired. “I tooK in-line skating lessons”

  16. Cat Says:

    I rest my hand on my stomach a lot more than I did pre-pregnancy. I also sway every time I’m standing still, regardless of whether I’m holding a baby or not. I try to be conscious of it and stop if there’s no reason to be swaying, but I’m sure I don’t catch myself all the time.

    This isn’t quite the same, but I find myself on “autopilot” a lot when I drive. If I mean to go someplace out of the ordinary routine, but start out on a route that I take often, I will usually go to the usual place instead of where I meant to go. This has been worse with the post-babies sleep deprivation.

  17. jill Says:

    That’s so sweet… they will always be “in there” in a way 🙂

    I totally can’t think of anything I do like that but I bet I will notice a few now after reading this post!

  18. Cat Says:

    I realized another one. In July a spider nest hatched and there were baby spiders all over my ceilings for the first few days and then stragglers for about two weeks after that. I’m still checking my ceilings several times everyday looking for more spiders. Yuck.


Please leave a reply

