Perfect Moment Monday: Meetup

August 9, 2010


Perfect Moment

Just returned from NYC. I didn’t go to BlogHer, but I attended the ALI post-conference meetup in addition to seeing Dora and Sunshine the day before (and some other non-blog NYC things, too).

Perfect Moment #1: Sitting in Central Park with Dora and Sunshine. Burrito and Tamale both interested in Dora and both curious about Sunshine, but Sunshine and Tamale really hit it off. Hilarious laughing back and forth, cracking each other up, the rest of us not in on the joke but laughing too.

OMFG that baby is cute.

Perfect Moment #2: At the meetup, seeing Burrito and Lori’s daughter Tessa have their own moment. Burrito was quite taken with the pattern on Tessa’s dress and kept touching the fabric. Tessa was quite tickled at being tickled by a grinning baby.

Perfect Moment #3: Finally meeting bloggers like Calliope, Niobe, and Kristen whom I’ve “known” online for a long time. Almost entirely what I expected, in all the wonderful ways you’d imagine.

Perfect Moment #4: Three bloggy friends, Mel, Lori, and Dora had met Burrito and Tamale when they were fetuses — actually, Lori met them at both the embryo and then the fetus stage. It was wonderful for Burrito and Tamale to finally be able to meet these wonderful ladies, but even better considering that these women (and so many others) had been around when babies were just some distant, seemingly unattainable goal, when all I had to show for my years of effort were bruises, medical bills, and empty sharps containers.

Special thanks to my husband for sitting patiently in the corner, wrangling babies, while I did my thing.

L’shana habaah b’San Diego?

7 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Meetup”


  1. Twas so wonderful seeing you and your handsome (and patient) husband and gorgeous babies. Tessa, Reed and I were amazed that those berries (straw? blue?) had turned into these moving, laughing, babbling creatures.

    Loved being with you, if only for a short time and in a group. Let’s do Denver again, there or elsewhere.

  2. strongblonde Says:

    i’m hoping we can work something out for next week 🙂

  3. Kir Says:

    sorry I missed you..but like you I had so ,uch fun meeting so many women I’ve only known online til now. It was a highlight of not only my week, but my life. 🙂

  4. Heather Says:

    Wish I was there. Glad you had a great time!

  5. Dora Says:

    “these women (and so many others) had been around when babies were just some distant, seemingly unattainable goal, when all I had to show for my years of effort were bruises, medical bills, and empty sharps containers”

    Yes! Yes! Yes! Introducing my daughter to women who were there through the struggle. Who I could talk to about follicles, CM, and injecting hormones in public restrooms. Who comforted me through failed cycles, and celebrated each milestone on the way to a healthy delivery. Yes! Perfect moments.

    Oh, am I crazy for your two. Simply scrumptious! BTW, although I like hot tamales, my favorite are sweet tamales. Mmmmmm!

  6. Cat Says:

    Glad you had such a good time!

  7. Kristin Says:

    I am so glad I got to finally meet you and I’m even more glad that you forgive me for temporarily drawing a blank with your name. Sometimes when I think of people in terms of blogging nom de plumes, it is hard to switch to their real names.

    Burrito and Tamale are absolutely gorgeous.


Please leave a reply

