Thoughtful Thursday: Song

July 1, 2010

Thoughtful Thursday

Welcome to July’s Intelligentsia, the people who commented on every Thoughtful Thursday post for the month of June.

#18 (l’chaim!): newly pregnant Wiseguy from Woman Anyone?
#14: the possibly-about-to-give-birth Photogrl from Not the Path I Chose
#9: also newly pregnant Elana from Elana’s Musings
#8: A from Are You Kidding Me?
#4: Rebecca from Northern Grin

New members:
Coffeegrl from Okaasan Mommy (in the month she gave birth, no less)
longtime bloggy friend, first time Intelligentsia member Strongblonde from Strong Blonde

Thoughtful ThursdayIn the same vein as last week’s post about the movie into which you’ve mentally inserted yourself

What song have you mentally inserted yourself into? Did it ever come close to coming true?

I’ve already written about the song after which this blog is named and my favorite infertility-themed indie rock. But those aren’t the first songs into which I’ve inserted myself.

Oh this is so gross now, looking back. So gross because of the content, and because of the song itself.

Young Girl by Gary Puckett and the Union Gap.

I’ll wait a moment for you to stop laughing, or gagging, or both.

Okay then. Once upon a time, almost two decades ago, I had a crush on a local indie musician. Local as in he lived a couple miles away from my house, across the street from one of my friends. He was well-respected regionally, and since then has gone on to be part of an internationally well-known band in addition to doing his own well-regarded solo work. No, I won’t tell you who he is.

But back then, he was only slightly famous. He was also not the kind of guy that teenage girls swoon over. He is not attractive at all, like really not attractive. Instead, he is incredibly smart, and witty, and did I mention that he is a musician?

I imagined him doing a cover song of Young Girl, just for me. Looking out into the audience and winking knowingly.

It’s one thing for a teenage girl to have a crush on Jon Bon Jovi, or even Kip Winger for that matter. It’s quite another to have a crush on a rock star that you might happen to run into at the supermarket.

Thankfully, I never ran into him at the supermarket or anywhere else, and I was too young to get into his shows. Our statutory rape love affair was never to be.

Teenagers are stupid.

What song have you mentally inserted yourself into? Did it ever come close to coming true?

12 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Song”

  1. a Says:

    Kiss Off by the Violent Femmes, maybe? I was kind of a hostile (as one of my friends used to say) teenager.

  2. a Says:

    Or wait! Better for the angst-ridden teen…

    How Soon Is Now? by The Smiths!

  3. Kristin Says:

    Hmmm, back in my teen years (early teen) I used to love Sister Christian by Night Ranger and imagined myself in the lead roll.

  4. niobe Says:

    Huh. I’ve never done that. I’ve never even come close to doing that.

    When I listen to songs, I’m always mentally editing them — trying to decide how I would have changed the lyrics if I had written them.

  5. Dora Says:

    “Did it ever come close to coming true?”

    Heehee! When I was 22 I spent the night with a very cute, very hot, famous bass player. If I posted a song, it would give it away. It was a night to remember. A morning to remember, too 😀

  6. strongblonde Says:

    omg! i made the list 🙂

    um…i was IN LOVE with LLCoolJ. maybe i still am a little bit. lol. needless to say i used to believe that he was singing about me in “i need love”. hahahahahahaha. it never did come true, but b knows that i still love him and may faint if i ever got to meet him!

    other songs had deep meaning, but i can’t say i ever inserted myself into them! 🙂

  7. Rebecca Says:

    Freak by Silverchair. God, yes.

    My ex girlfriend would tell you Amphetamine by Everclear is about me in her mind. It sort of makes me happy. I’m perfect in a fucked up way, apparently…

    Hey, I hope the pregnancy vibes carry on down your list of people who always comment!

    Hope your babies are doing well 🙂

  8. Elana Kahn Says:

    Hmmm…that’s a really tough one!!! How about Austin by Blake Shelton. Before I met my hubby, I always wanted to find someone who would love me so much that even after we were “broken up” he would still have a message on his machine basically saying he still loved me. 🙂


  9. I actually made up stories for my friends in which we became the girlfriends of various members of Bell Biv Devoe, b/c we were their dancers and you know, they couldn’t resist falling in love w/ us.

  10. Mel Says:

    I am seriously drawing a blank here. I could relate to the attitude in Sister Golden Hair by America, but I’m not sure I saw myself in that song. More that I saw other people I knew in it.

  11. WiseGuy Says:

    Cheers indeed!

    I did not really insert myself into it…but two songs/videos really caught my fancy.

    One was (and still is) ‘Father Figure’ by George Michael. Needless to say, I am still to ‘experience’ it. Do I want to experience it? Mmmaybe yes!

    The other one happens to be ‘No More I Love Yous’ by Annie Lennox.

  12. Photogrl Says:

    Wow, how can I be a WEEK late chiming in???

    It has to be the late pregnancy brain 😉

    There are many songs over the years I’ve inserted myself into…especially in my teen years. LOL. I don’t think any of them ever came true.

    As cheesy as it sounds, Miley Cyrus’ “Mountain to Climb” was the one song I listened to non stop leading up to, and throughout my IVF cycle.


Please leave a reply

