Thoughtful Thursday: URL

April 8, 2010

Thoughtful ThursdayThis is one of those “blogging about blogging” Thoughtful Thursdays.

How did you choose the name of your blog? If you had it to do over again, would you choose the same name?

I wrote all about the Radiohead song from which I got the name of this blog in my second-ever post.

The song lists all of the goals to which we aspire, simultaneously shining a light on our unquestioning pursuit of these goals.

The first few lyrics:

fitter
happier
more productive
comfortable
not drinking too much
regular exercise at the gym (3 days a week)
getting on better with your associate employee contemporaries
at ease
eating well (no more microwave dinners and saturated fats)
a patient better driver
a safer car (baby smiling in back seat)

It’s about living a conventionally good life. To me, it’s about questioning whether you really want to live each component of that conventional life.

Being infertile brings the purposeful pursuit of parenthood into clearer focus, although it also brings a lot of other crap with it too.

In choosing the name of the blog, I wanted a name that highlighted the quest for my elusive goal. I also wanted a name that would still apply once that goal had been achieved — I didn’t want to have to change the name down the road.

The only problem that’s come up is that many people insert “the” in the middle, as in Baby Smiling In The Back Seat. People also sometimes make back seat into one word.

Nonetheless, I’m very satisfied with the name I chose. I think it’s distinctive, evocative, and now, accurate — times two!

How did you choose the name of your blog? If you had it to do over again, would you choose the same name?

17 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: URL”

  1. Kristin Says:

    My original blog name (and current url) was The Fertile Infertile. I picked that name because, while I was dealing with secondary infertility, I still got pregnant really easily. I just couldn’t stay pregnant. I got to the point where I felt it wasn’t representative anymore so I changed the name of my blog but kept the old url so I wouldn’t lose anyone. I did a whole post about what the blog change meant (and added more in this interview)and I still love my new blog name, Dragondreamer’s Lair. I wouldn’t change anything about the way I named it or changed it.

  2. loribeth Says:

    I was trying to think of a name that would capture my experience as a woman living childless/free after both loss & infertility — which is certainly not the most popular life path, at least in terms of support, both inside & outside the ALI community. (I think there are far more of us out there than most people realize.) And I love Robert Frost. Hence, “The Road Less Travelled.”

    Since then, I’ve become aware of at least three other infertility-related blogs with the same name, & I’m sure there are others (IF-related or otherwise). It may not be original, but I still think it fits my situation perfectly, so I think I will keep it.

    I was also considering “Childless Mother,” which is the name of a poem I found that I also thought fit my experience.

  3. a Says:

    Every day when driving to work, some new driving insult would occur, and rather than shouting out profanities (since my daughter was in the car), I would shout “Are you kidding me?” She picked it up too. It’s pretty much my life philosophy – the response to the unbelievable crap that happens. The fact that it has a slightly relevant double meaning is just a bonus.

    I do like the name, and I don’t think I would change it.

    Fun topic – I love to know where these things come from!

  4. Elana Kahn Says:

    I chose it because it sounded like something my father would say…(ie the word musings). I would definitely pick the same name! I think it fits me entirely. As for my second blog (The Twinners), I named it after my twins, and I would name it the same thing again if I had to do it over again. πŸ™‚

  5. bestlight Says:

    I was playing around with the word “blog,” seeing what could fit with it. Total free association. I came up with Weebles Wobblog, and I liked it because it shows the constant dance that happens when we seek balance and excitement in our lives.

    I like it, but I have two beefs (beeves?) with it: (1) it’s hard to spell for people; (2) It comes last in everyone’s blogroll!

  6. Rebecca Says:

    Oooh, i always put a ‘the’ in your blog name mentally! Sorry!

    Both of my blog names come from song lyrics. There’s a song called Emily Kane by the band Art Brut, which has a lyric saying ‘there’s so much about you I miss/the clumsy way we used to kiss’. I like being ClumsyKisses, I use it everywhere. I am very clumsy.

    ‘Northern grin’ is from a Guillemots song ‘Made Up Love Song No. 43’, which has a line about ‘the symmetry in your northern grin’. I am northern, and I like to keep smiling.

  7. Heather Says:

    I still love my blog name and I still think it’s very appropriate now that we’re finished fighting infertility, although I’m sure I’m still quite infertile. I came up with Joys in My Life to remind myself I already had lots of joy in my life, but I was on a quest for more. I already knew I was infertile and we had our first daughter from infertility treatments when I started blogging about our struggles to have more children. I also wanted to blog about yoga, cooking, travel, my husband and daughter and all the other joys in my life. The tagline has changed from “Zen and the Art of Infertility” to “Zen and the Art of Family Life” as with my yoga practice and religious studies in the past, I’ve been drawn to Buddhist philosophies, even if I am Catholic. I also had to read and write a paper in college on the book “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance”, so it’s kind of a play on all that.

  8. Wild Irish Roses Says:

    My blog name, Wild Irish Roses, is named because of something my parents used to call me when I was little — I was always their “little Irish rose” because of my coloring. My father is Welsh/Irish, and I’m very pale, with dark hair and blue eyes — traditional Celtic coloring. I loved that nickname, so when I had to name my blog, I started to play around with that idea, and finally came up with Wild Irish Roses, to symbolize all the parts of my life that weren’t meant to be but somehow grew up anyway and are now beautiful. I would absolutely pick it again, but I would change my actual blog url to reflect it πŸ˜€

  9. Photogrl Says:

    My blog name stems from many things that were going on in my life at the time.

    I was in the midst of struggling to have another child, and had just been forced into a new, less desired position at work. Everything just felt out of control and I just kept asking myself, “How did I end up here?”.

    Hence, “Not The Path I Chose”.

  10. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    For me, it was a random pick really…something that hit me, and I typed it in, and I liked what it was.

    I think starting an IF blog separate from the general-life blog significantly consumed more of my cognitive abilities. The name was just a creative outburst.

    I love my name…and its beauty is that I can take it from an IF blog to a PG/parenting after IF blog without changing the name.

  11. staciet Says:

    I have loved reading these responses! It is so interesting to see the thought processes behind the names. πŸ™‚

    My blog name came from a button I saw on one of the first blogs I ever read. It blinked and said, “Heeeeere storkey, I want a baby!” I could so relate. We had been trying for so long at that point, and I had already had two miscarriages, three iuis, and two IVFs. Plus the name still is appropriate now because we are trying again.

    Who knows what I’ll do if/when we finally do have another child. Not sure if I’d change the name or not.

  12. Calliope Says:

    great question!
    I always knew that my path to motherhood was going to involve intervention of the medical and donor sperm variety. I had to create my motherhood- hence creating motherhood. My original blog name was actually erstellen muttershaft (which is creating motherhood in german) because not only am a part German, but I always cracked up that the German word for motherhood was so apt.

  13. Wishing4One Says:

    My blog name started in 2006 as “After 10 years Finally IVF” and that developed into Wishing4One. Initally I did not know much about blogging and had no idea people I did not know would read my blog, let alone find it. I started it as online journal for myself and a few select family and friends. Once people started visiting I was amazed. You know I do not remember how I chose Wishing4One, but I would not change it. I love it. Even if we are lucky enough to indeed meet our two babies this Fall, I will keep the name and perhaps change the tagline to reflect our babies, God Willing. So no exciting source for my blog name but it is special to me.

  14. Mel Says:

    Josh actually picked it. I remember telling him that if I was starting a blog, it needed a name, and he gave me that one. And I love it. Even though I often stray from discussing IF, the name still fits and I love it. I can’t see myself changing it, but never say never.

  15. Cathi Says:

    I named our blog (that so far hasn’t even been shared with the family for whom it was intended so I’m the only one who uses it) “The OurLastName Invasion”. I chose the name because when I was pregnant and reading about parenting triplets, specifically childproofing/multiples proofing, it sounded more and more like an invasion rather than a birth.


  16. I wanted something that reflected my situation – undergoing IF treatment in a foreign country and since in French almost all abbreviations are different than in English, that’s how I came up with the name. I still like it and I know that because of that name a few non-French women here found it and it helped them getting information on how to deal with the French medical system. etc.


  17. Fierce and Nerdy popped into my head as soon as I thought about doing a community blog. The song “White and Nerdy” had some popularity, and I loved it, so I guess it just came together from there. I really can’t imagine calling the blog anything else.


Please leave a reply

