Perfect Moment Monday: Smiles

March 15, 2010


Perfect Moment

(children mentioned)

I’ve been having a rough time again as I continue to deal with birth complications, the aftermath of which I now believe is far worse than I was told — and likely worse than any of my doctors thought. More on that soon, after I see what a new doctor has to say.

Anyway, I’ve been having a rough time physically, which extends to having a rough time emotionally. I was feeling particularly awful a couple of days ago when Tamale woke up at 3:45 A.M. Then as I was about to put her to bed, Burrito woke up at 4:10 A.M. Then we all slept for an hour and half until they were both up again, and I was beyond exhausted.

In the middle of feeding them both, I paused to burp them, with each baby sitting on one of my legs facing the other baby.

Then Burrito smiled at his sister for the first time ever.

Then Tamale smiled back at her brother, also the first time ever.

Then Burrito laughed at her smile.

Then Tamale laughed at his laugh.

It went on like that for several incredible minutes.

In all my life, it’s the most joy I’ve ever felt.

It was literally the most Perfect Moment I’ve ever had. Just when I needed it most.

19 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Smiles”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Beautiful! This must be what all the multiple parents are describing when the babies truly start to see each other. 🙂

    So sorry about the continued complications. Hoping things improve soon.

  2. Kara Says:

    Hi! I was clicking around reading blogs and found this entry. It made me tear up, it’s just so cute. How precious. 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

    Kara

  3. BB Says:

    Aaaw that is so precious! They must be so much fun now!

    I hope your birthing issues are resolved soon. Take care!

  4. Two Kayaks Says:

    What an incredible moment for you! Yes, it seems as though when we are on our last leg, the babies do something to make us realize why we do it all in the first place.


  5. That’s such an adorable scene. And how cool for them to see each other and recognize that bond.
    I’m reading this early in the morning and I’ll take this cute image into my day.

  6. jill Says:

    I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been feeling crappy 😦 I hope the new doctor has some good information for you.

    The moment with your two little ones sounds wonderful!

  7. Dora Says:

    So sorry you’re feeling bad from the birth complications. Please keep us posted after your dr’s appt.

    What an awesome moment! Major joy! 😀

  8. niobe Says:

    Thinking of you….

  9. strongblonde Says:

    isn’t it crazy? for so long they have not even really noticed each other….now M and T do the same thing. they even wrestle around with eachother in the “gym” and hold hands a lot. it’s just too cute!!!

  10. Kami Says:

    Those are the moments when no sleep is ok. I love that story. I hope mine will do the same one day.

    Hugs,
    Kami

  11. Lavender Luz Says:

    I can only imagine the elation, on top of the exhaustion.

    I am abiding with you, Cassandra. I’m sorry you’re going through a rough time now. Hope the clouds part soon, and that you get more beautiful moments like this to help you along.

  12. a Says:

    That must have been wonderful!

    I hope that the complications resolve favorably…


  13. What a beautiful perfect moment! I’m sorry that you have been feeling awful. I hope that the new doctor can help.

  14. Quiet Dreams Says:

    Such a lovely picture you painted for us. It made me smile.

    I hope you feel much better very soon.

  15. Lynn Says:

    That is such a lovely, lovely image! I hope I get to experience something like that someday.

  16. Photogrl Says:

    What a beautiful, perfect moment! 🙂

    Praying that you get some answers and relief from the physical ailments soon.

  17. Cathi Says:

    It’s so, so sweet when they start to interact on purpose. We might wish otherwise in the coming years, but right now it’s adorable and precious.

    I hope you feel better very soon!

    BTW, how do you burp both facing each other on your lap? Do they sit by themselves now or hold onto you to stay upright?


  18. What a beautiful moment, especially when you needed it so badly. I know it can be very tough (and I have only one and no birth complications and I was a mess for the past few months…). Hang in there and I hope you feel better soon.

  19. katery Says:

    oh… my god, that is possibly the cutest thing i have ever heard. i hope you’re doing well 🙂


Please leave a reply

