Thoughtful Thursday: You

February 25, 2010

Thoughtful ThursdayWe’ve talked about qualities from your partner and other relatives that you might like to see in your (future) children, but we haven’t talked about you.

What qualities would you like to pass on to your children?

My #1 personality trait is conscientiousness, in all senses of the word. It’s served me well.

I’ve always had tremendous self-control, even as a young child. Hopefully that will balance out my husband’s genetic contribution.

Burrito and Tamale both seem to have inherited my straight-as-can-be hair. Perhaps this will save Tamale many hours of blow-drying and flat-ironing someday — unless she wants curly hair instead.

I love to learn. I love to experience all sorts of things that expand my mind and my horizons.

I am patient.

I am brave at the doctor’s.

I am never bored.

I am good with technology but I also appreciate antiquities like record players and pocket watches.

I am helpful.

When I love someone, I love them like crazy.

What qualities would you like to pass on to your children?

20 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: You”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I’d love my children to get my creativity (I know Joey has my artistic creativity).

    I hope they get my desire to help people.

    Ummmm, I hope they get my ability to love myself and tolerate my body despite it’s flaws.

  2. Michele Says:

    Let me see… I’d like them to have my creativity and my compassion, as well as my passion for the things I hold dear.

  3. Elana Kahn Says:

    I want to pass on my love of life, my tenacity and my smartness. 🙂

  4. a Says:

    Ha! I’ve already answered this in the last couple posts, I’m sure…

    My daughter already looks like me, which is OK, because she’ll always be cute. I’d like her to have my ability to ease through school (but not my lack of ability to study). I’d like her to have my love for reading, my ability to be still, and my patience (as opposed to the lack that my husband has), my ability to go along to get along if I need to, but my feistiness too.

    Mostly, I just hope she has a pretty happy and mostly carefree life.


  5. I really want Betty to get my practical optimism. And I also hope that she inherits my love of people — even the ones I don’t particularly like. I really hope she’s able to vet boys or girls as well as I was and not waste too much of her time in a bad relationship. I also hope she’s open to lots and lots of new things like I am. But most of all, I hope she inherits my teeth and my general level of good health.

  6. Lavender Luz Says:

    I want to inherit those things from you, especially the hair. And the bravery.

    From me to my children, I would like to pass on:

    Curiosity
    Authenticity
    Healthy habits
    Sense of humor
    Remembering phone numbers
    Skills with a budget
    Ability to draw amazing people into my life

  7. Rebecca Says:

    My loyalty and my spontaneity.

  8. samcy Says:

    I would love for my children to inherit my love for reading, my compassion for others and my quirky sense of humour…

    xxx

  9. Ana Says:

    I would love my little monkey (and future children) to inherit my love of reading, academic abilities (especially with standardized tests…its a lame talent but served me VERY well in life!), sense of humor, frugality (cheapness?), desire for healthy eating & exercise, and respectfulness of others’ feelings.
    There are, of course, many other traits I hope he doesn’t inherit but I won’t go into that…

  10. Heather Says:

    My love of math and ease of learning it. My tenacity to get things done and make things happen. My ability to not stay mad very long. I can forgive very easily.

  11. coffeegrl Says:

    Hmmmm… This feels harder than the last ones.
    I’d like my kids to get my love of reading. I’d also like them to inherit my patience and my love of learning. A nice singing voice would be lovely (I’m not the next American Idol but can definitely carry a tune).

  12. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    What would I like my kids to have from me?

    – My curiosity.

    – My love for poetry and general nature.

    – My laughter. I laugh with an open heart…and I seem to be smiling always.

    – My heart (in a certain way).

    – My ability to cherish something notwithstanding the general public opinion over it. If I like it, I like it.

    – Sincerity and Trustworthiness: People reveal things to me. I can keep secrets as well.

  13. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    …and the knack to do everything that one wants to before they die….

  14. Mel Says:

    I want them to get my open-mindedness. I want them to care about other people. I think I spend the most time teaching that, but I also think it’s an instinct. Sort of the same way Josh and I can walk over the same carpet and I notice it needs to be vacuumed and he doesn’t notice at all. I want them to learn how to notice that another person needs their help or attention.

  15. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    …my love of the sea…

  16. Shinejil Says:

    If I could only pass on one thing, it would be a passionate, curious, always restorative love of the natural world, of forests, streams, fields, that kind of thing.

  17. Photogrl Says:

    I would like my children to have my ability to befriend anyone, my craftiness, and my ability to listen to others.

    And, of course, my mean baking skills! 😉


  18. I would like my children to have my
    – loyalty and trustworthiness
    – organizational skills
    – compassion
    – love for music and literature
    – love of traveling and discovering new places

  19. jill Says:

    This is a tough one. I’m not really sure what qualities I have that I’d want to pass on to a child. I do think that it would be so amazing to see physical traits of both my husband and I melded into a child.

  20. strongblonde Says:

    i’ve been thinking a lot about this since you posted it. still unable to articulate a good answer.

    …hopefully my kids won’t get that trait.

    …or my procrastination 🙂 lol.


Please leave a reply

