Thoughtful Thursday: Relative

February 18, 2010

Thoughtful ThursdayLast week we thought about the qualities in your partner that you’d like to see passed on to your present or future children.

Of course, partners aren’t the only contributors, either to genetics or environment. What about the rest of the family?

What qualities of your and your partner’s relatives would you hope to see passed on to your child(ren)?

Although I never imagined it could happen, given my coloring, Burrito inherited his grandfather and great-grandmother’s strawberry blond hair. Other than that, so far it’s hard to tell what they’re getting from the rest of the family. Here are some things I wouldn’t mind seeing in them someday:

  • Generosity from my mother
  • Ability to charm anyone and adjust to any situation from my father
  • Intellectual curiosity from DH’s father (and DH and me too)
  • Enjoyment of gift-giving from DH’s stepmother
  • Love of animals from DH’s mother and paternal grandmother (and DH too)
  • Willingness to stand up for beliefs from DH’s paternal grandfather
  • Longevity from DH’s maternal grandmother
  • Compassion from DH’s sister — not the Murphy sister, a different one
  • Openness from my paternal grandmother, who’s game for just about anything and remarkably silly for a woman in her 80s
  • Incredible closeness to their twin from my twin cousins

What qualities of your and your partner’s relatives would you hope to see passed on to your child(ren)?

14 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Relative”

  1. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Ooooh, there is a whole bounty that I would like my kids to pack up there! 🙂

    I would love to have my children pick up my father’s superb sense of humour.

    I would love them to:

    * have my mother’s sense of art, and poetry, and nature.

    * have my brother’s intelligence.

    * have aunt X’s open heartedness and gift-giving tendencies. (and her complexion)

    * have aunt Y’s nature of being able to stay cool even in adverse situations.

    * get their passion, determination and honesty from my maternal grandparents.

    * get the concept of ‘keeping some space for oneself’ from my maternal grandmother.

    * get that super ability of being able to effortlessly accomodate own and extended family and be a universal father figure and ‘popular guy’ from my paternal grandfather.

    I would so love for my kids to have all of that.

  2. a Says:

    Because I am shallow, I want my daughter to get her (paternal) aunts’ body types – tall, skinny, decent size boobs.

    Because I’m just wrong, I’d like her to get my mom’s family’s ability to drop dead suddenly, rather than suffer from lingering illnesses.

    I’d also like her to get my brains, her father’s sense, my dad’s sisters’ artistic talents and joie de vivre, my husband’s grandmother’s independence and straightforwardness, my MIL’s gardening ability, my SILs’ fashion sense, my love of reading, and a huge inheritance from some wealthy stranger, so she’d never have to worry about material things.

  3. Kristin Says:

    I’d love for my children to develop the sense of honor and duty shared by my hubby, his dad, and my dad.

    I want to see them have the willingness to go above and bey9ond the call of duty to help people like my mom and sister.

  4. Elana Kahn Says:

    I hope the twins have my dad’s sense of humor and his brains too. He was a really smart guy!

    It’s really hard to say anything about my mom’s side of the family because she was adopted…. But I hope they get some good genes from her too. lol

  5. jill Says:

    My mom’s ability to care for others in times of need and to be calm in emergency situations. Also her very youthful appearance.

    My dad’s intelligence and desire to learn about all sorts of different things. Also, his full head of only slightly gray hair (and he’ll be 58 this year!)

    My paternal grandparent’s generosity and friendliness. (and their ability to cook amazing Italian food!)

    And I have the same one you have:
    Longevity from DH’s maternal grandmother – she was making her way to 100 when she died last year.

  6. Lavender Luz Says:

    I love the way you make me think.

    * From Aunt Tami, a playfulness
    * From Aunt Sheri, deep wisdom and faith in oneself
    * From Grandma H, compassion
    * From Grandpa H, earnestness
    * From Aunt Jen, loyalty
    * From Grandma D, kindness
    * From Grandpa D, curiosity and intelligence
    * From Crystal, live in the moment
    * From me, plan for the future
    * From Joe, work ethic
    * From Michele, focus
    * From Andy, I wish I knew…

  7. coffeegrl Says:

    Great question! Let’s see:
    My mother’s: love of the home and making it a special place for all of us
    My grandfather’s: sense of humor
    My father’s: gentle kindness
    My sister: tenaciousness
    My mother-in-law: graciousness
    My sister-in-law’s: intelligence
    My great aunt’s: sense of adventure and independence


  8. There are a lot of qualities that come to mind but here are the most important ones I think:
    My mom’s compassion and warmth
    My dad’s entrepreneurial spirit
    My sister’s ability to listen
    My maternal grandma’s generosity
    My maternal grandpa’s wisdom
    My paternal grandpa’s sense of humor
    My father-in-law’s artistry
    My mother-in-law’s gracious determination
    My sister-in-law’s earthiness

  9. Photogrl Says:

    Love this question!

    ~ From my grandfather, his intellect and need to figure out how things work.
    ~ From my grandmother, her patience
    ~ From my Aunt Sherrie, her ability to take risks, and try anything once
    ~ From my in-laws, their money smarts

  10. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    …Oops….this is how it should read:

    * get the concept of ‘keeping some space for oneself’ from my paternal grandmother.

  11. Ana Says:

    I really had to think about this one…for some family members i’ve decided to leave out to follow the whole “if you can’t say something nice…”

    from my mom—flexibility/adaptability
    from my dad—playful sense of humor & fun; intellectual curiosity & love of learning
    from my sister—perseverence (i.e. stubborness) which has really served her well at some points in life

  12. Carrie Says:

    What a wonderful list.

    My mom: patience, diplomacy, understanding
    My dad: the drive for an answer
    My brother: discipline in academics
    My mother-in-law: ability to laugh at life

    It will be so interesting to see how these traits manifest in our children. I wonder every day how similar the twins’ personalities will be versus our fraternal guy; already they are so similar in their temperaments.

  13. Mel Says:

    It’s funny because the twins greatly resemble in elements of their personality the people they are named after. My family is known for the feisty nature of its women and I hope the ChickieNob always keeps that fighting spirit.


  14. To tell you the truth, I haven’t thought much about this. It’s been more like what I hope she DOESN’T inherit, but now that you bring it up:

    -My dad’s charm would probably serve her well in whatever field she chooses to go into.

    -But more than that, I hope she’s smart like my mom.

    -And her tummy will be happier if she picks up her cooking skills from my MIL (as opposed to me or my mother, who was a terrible cook)

    -Both my husband and my sister are really hard workers who don’t even know how to procrastinate when there’s work to be done. I hope she inherits that.

    -My mother notwithstanding, her side of the family tends to live long lives, so yes to that.


Please leave a reply

