Show and Tell: Rattled

February 10, 2010

Show and TellIt has been far too long since I participated in Show and Tell. This particular object is also long overdue.

Earlier this week, I showed you the act-of-faith mobile that we bought for our theoretical baby just a couple of days after my first beta from Perfunctory IUI #7. First, I’d like to follow up on that post. The view that I depicted had all of the pieces lined up. FYI, here’s what it looks like when a breeze is blowing and the components spin independently. Burrito and Tamale seem to like looking at it whether it’s lined up or jumbled.

The other act-of-faith purchase during that trip was a rattle. We were in the ancient synagogue in Barcelona, itself an incredibly special place. It is the oldest synagogue in Europe. It’s just two rooms underground. Everyone forgot it was a synagogue for a few hundred years and instead it was being used for various purposes including a storage closet. The first day we tried to visit, we got there after closing time because it was so hard to find because it’s just a little door on a random street.

When we finally made it inside the next day, we were treated to the cutest little tour of two rooms. Sort of like visiting someone’s studio apartment and being given a 10-minute tour, if that studio apartment had been built almost 2000 years ago. We wanted to support their grassroots attempt to preserve history — they don’t even have an entrance fee — but their gift shop was beyond tiny. I have more stuff on top of my TV than they have in their gift shop. (I really should tidy the top of my TV…)

Among the few items for sale was a rattle with some Hebrew letters and Judaic symbols. There was no price tag, so they made up a number. We shrugged and paid them happily.

Burrito and Tamale aren’t yet at the stage where they play with rattles, but it’s getting close. I’m not sure what they’ll think of this rattle compared to all of their other toys, but to me it’s very special.

11 Responses to “Show and Tell: Rattled”

  1. Quiet Dreams Says:

    That’s a great story behind the rattle. I’d love to visit some of those old, hidden Jewish places in Europe.

  2. a Says:

    That’s a great story and an awesome rattle! We were thinking of going to Spain, and my daughter was fascinated by the picture of the cathedral in Barcelona in the tour book I brought home. A 2000 year old synagogue would be awesome too!

  3. Delenn Says:

    Awesome rattle!

  4. Elana Kahn Says:

    I love it!! I wish my twins had that kind of neat Jewish souvenir.

  5. Malky B. Says:

    Great story behind that rattle and how modern it looks considering where it came from.

  6. Lavender Luz Says:

    I love finding place like that. How did you hear about it?

    What a terrific memento. One of portending.

  7. manapan Says:

    I love it!

  8. Ana Says:

    I just love that you guys took the leap of faith & bought those items. Its great that you now have these reminders of the earliest days, and the awe you must have felt. 🙂

  9. Kristin Says:

    What a cool rattle and I love the story of how you got it!

  10. Cat Says:

    If it’s as squishy as it looks, they’ll love it!

  11. pandabox33 Says:

    Cheers to lost places, and new discoveries !


Please leave a reply

