2009: The Year in Pictures

January 3, 2010

Exactly one year ago today, my house was full of guests and I mysteriously disappeared for several hours to transfer two gorgeous embryos for IVF #2. I don’t have embryo pictures for Burrito and Tamale, so I like to think that this picture of their potential siblings bears a strong resemblance.

2009 was my most eventful year ever. Not the year with the most treatment cycles, but nonetheless the most eventful in terms of infertility and every other way — except my career, which played 2nd fiddle to pregnancy and babies this year. With that in mind, I offer you some of the highlights, in pictures.

January: In addition to IVF #2, I baked a cookie.

February: Went to NYC to be “healed”. The healing may or may not have directly led to finally getting pregnant for reals; I still have no idea if that’s what did it. I don’t believe that it could, but it’s hard to explain it away after 7 years of BFNs with a couple of miscarriages thrown in.

March: Found out I was against-all-odds pregnant on the way to Spain.

April: Met the Weebles Wobblog family and participated in Sock It To Me.

May: Met Dora. Fetuses started to look human.

June: Met Lollipop Goldstein and learned the sexes of my babies.

July: Reached viability and celebrated my blogoversary with a contest.

August: Went into preterm labor, narrowly avoided delivering at 28w, and began my stay of more than a month in the hospital.

September: Learned that I’d only just barely won the baby race in the family and spent the month in the hospital, where I received a few visitors.

October: Gave birth, struggled to recover, saw the babies (and myself) through a couple of weeks in the NICU, and brought the babies home.

Click through to see the Burrito.

Click through to see the Tamale.

November: Tried to manage life at home with two newborns including ongoing attempts at nursing and pumping, observed the babies’ due date, dealt with the idiocies of the health care system, and saw my Impossible Dream realized.

Click through to see my dream come true.

December: Wrapped up a year of Thoughtful Thursdays.

Many of you experienced wonderful things in the past year, but I also know that many of you had sucky 2009s. Onwards and upwards for 2010, everyone!

13 Responses to “2009: The Year in Pictures”


  1. What a year!

    I’m so glad I got to be part of it. Twice! (More, if you count Thoughtful Thursdays and other days).

  2. calliope Says:

    WOW! I loved seeing how your year evolved via photos

  3. staciet Says:

    2009 was a great year! May 2010 be even better! 🙂

  4. Two Kayaks Says:

    I feel honored to have been a part of your year. Congratulations on everything.

  5. Kristin Says:

    I love your year in photos…brilliant!

  6. Heather Says:

    Congratulations and Happy New Year!

  7. Dora Says:

    Way to go, mama! Hard to believe that when we met last Spring you we sporting a little bump, and I wasn’t showing yet. Now they’re here!!!! Safe and sound. We did it!

  8. Imogen Says:

    Oh wow, if feels like you baked that cookie only yesterday. Have enjoyed the ride through 2009 with you – thanks for blogging/sharing so much.

  9. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    What a beautiful roundup! Enjoy raising Burrito and Tamale….and good wishes for 2010 and beyond.

  10. Photogrl Says:

    LOVE the year in pictures!

    Especially, because now I know I started following your story in March…

    Great wrap up post.

  11. birdless Says:

    I love it too! What a wonderful year you had.


  12. Here’s to an amazing year gone and a new one full of firsts.


Please leave a reply

