Thoughtful Thursday: Wish

December 24, 2009

Thoughtful ThursdayYesterday I had a stray eyelash in my eye. Once I’d removed it, I stared at the eyelash perched on the tip of my finger.

As I’ve written before, I’m a one-trick pony when it comes to wishes. For seven years, every eyelash, every birthday candle, every star, every coin in a fountain, and every 11:11 has had the wish of a pregnancy/baby. Once I was pregnant, I wished for the babies to have a healthy outcome.

Now, I have my healthy babies. Staring at the eyelash, I was stumped.

What do you wish for when you have your heart’s desire?

I ended up wishing good things for their health and development.

Make a wish.

It can be a wish for something under your Christmas tree, or something in the New Year, or something right now, or anything you like.

I have no powers to grant any wishes, but it can’t hurt to put it out there to the universe.

21 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Wish”

  1. Dora Says:

    Sorry I’ve been such a terrible commenter. I wish for SAFE, affordable, reliable childcare for when I have to return to work. Or else a big windfall, so I can stay home.

  2. Photogrl Says:

    I wish that in July I will hold 2 healthy babies.

    Thank you for doing “Thoughtful Thursdays”, I love to see the questions, others answers, and challenging my brain.

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  3. staciet Says:

    What a great wish. That actually is my regular wish–health for my family. πŸ™‚

    Wishing you happy holidays. There is so much to celebrate!

    May 2010 be a wonderful year for everyone!

  4. Ana Says:

    What a nice holiday thought!

    I wish for a safe & healthy delivery for me & baby this week.

    (I usually have the same wish as you & staciet, health and happiness for all my loved ones–I don’t want to leave anyone I love or any scenario I haven’t envisioned out of the wish…I have some issues with superstition I suspect)

    Happy holidays πŸ™‚

  5. a Says:

    Only one wish? I’ll have to wish for the safe return of my husband.

    Happy Holidays!

  6. manapan Says:

    Hehe… I’m with Ana. My wishes definitely smack of superstition in that I don’t want to leave people out. I always wish for safety, health, happiness, peace, and love for everyone. (With, of course, the underlying supposition that I am part of the set “everyone” and part of my happiness would come from having a healthy pregnancy and baby. I guess I’m selfish like that!)

  7. Elana Kahn Says:

    I wish I could find an excellent child care provider that’s within my budget. I want the person to LOVE babies and truly enjoy working all day playing with and caring for babies. I want her to be respectful of my religion and be VERY careful with my kosher kitchen. I want her to dress modestly when she’s working for me, and I want her to get along with my family. And I want to find her before the new year… πŸ™‚

  8. Carrie Says:

    Happy children who grow into happy and kind adults.

    (And the triplet tummy to vanish without surgery.)

    Wishing YOU and your sweet family a wonderful holiday!


  9. I wish for continued health and happiness for my family — all 3 generations.

    And that I finally finish my project and that it is successful.

    I wish for you health and happiness for you and your family as well!

  10. Kristin Says:

    I wish for health for my family and maybe, if I’m really lucky, one last pregnancy and baby.

  11. Cat Says:

    I always wish to have a good day. Healthy babies is an excellent wish. I also wish my dear friend success as she tackles her first IVF cycle this month.

  12. Michele Says:

    I wish for the same: health and happiness for our family, especially our children.

  13. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    I wish…

    …that in 2010, I will experience the moment of disbelief and craziness that would come with seeing two lines on a HPT, and that it results in a baby or two…completely healthy.

  14. Heather Says:

    Yup! I’m on to wishes for our health and happiness. And maybe I’ll throw in for Liam not to be so cranky over his teething. He’s truly miserable, poor kid.

  15. Jules Says:

    Hmm…. good question.

    Is it too much to wish for “perfection” (and for that matter what would it compromise?)

    I’ll settle with a little more sleep and answers to a couple difficult questions.

  16. jill Says:

    Oh I’m that same one-trick pony – I wish (on everything) for the chance to be pregnant and raise a child at least once in my life. I’m hopeful for 2010!

    Happy holidays and happy new year to you and your family πŸ™‚

  17. erica Says:

    I have put it out there. Here’s to hope and wishes coming true.


  18. I wish to be less stressed and less tired (and for my baby to sleep through the night), so I can enjoy my oh-so-desired baby even more.

  19. Shinejil Says:

    Uh, how about world peace? Health care and education for all children? An end to environmental degradation?

    Seriously, though, I’m with you: It was next to impossible to answer when people asked me what gifts I wanted. I really, truly don’t want anything. Oh, except a completed dissertation.


  20. I’m pretty anti-wish. I don’t have a good reason to be so, I’ve always just felt a little silly wishing for things when I blow out candles and the like. I don’t like not having my wishes come true, so I just make lists of the things I want and try to make them happen. Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn’t.

  21. St. Elsewhere Says:

    Just scouring through old TTs,

    Wow, my wish did come true…


Please leave a reply

