33w1d: A Very Merry Un-Birthday To You

September 30, 2009

Or, if you prefer They Might Be Giants to Alice in Wonderland, “It’s not my birthday, it’s not today!”

Last night was quite a night. I finally understand the contractions that people always talk about; all of my others have been silent or at least painless. This time they were 3-4 minutes apart for hours, and painful. If I consider them painful, that’s saying a lot — the doc estimates that my 5 out of 10 pain rating might be someone else’s 10 out of 10. My bizarrely high pain tolerance is sometimes unhelpful (as when I didn’t feel any contractions at all at 28w), sometimes handy. “Do you want pain medication for the contractions? We can give you the medication we give to women in labor.” Naah, 6 out of 10 pain I can take. The pill pushers (and IV pushers) don’t know what to do with me.

Somehow, despite many hours of full-blown contractions last night, my cervix stayed at 5 cm. And eventually the mag kicked in, and the contractions have stopped.

My reaction to the drugs is also blowing minds around here. With my first mag experience at 28w, I had plenty of side effects, but fewer than average. This time, almost nothing. It’s having the desired effect, but so far not the usual side effects. Vastly preferable to my reaction to fertility medications, where the desired effect was on the low side (except for Infamous IUI #7 in which I had enough follicles to set new world records for higher-order multiples) but I had plenty of bitchy side effects. All of the good and none of the bad on mag? Am I being punked?

The head perinatologist doesn’t think I’ll give birth today, or even tomorrow. I’ll stay on the mag for two more days, long enough for this round of steroids (first was at 28w when I was originally admitted) to take full effect, and then we’ll see what happens. If my cervix resumes dilating during or after the mag, we’ll just deliver.

Know what that means?

October! T minus 4 hours and counting.

In my mind, the plan to stay on mag for a couple of days is the doctors’ secret plot to get me to October. Of course I know it’s not, and DH thinks I’m obsessed with October, but a girl’s gotta have goals.

No matter how long it takes (very likely this week, but maybe at 34w, probably not beyond), I’m definitely having the babies here in this big hospital (>1 hour from home) instead of at the little hospital 15 minutes from the house. Now that I’m this far dilated, they won’t release me, and my regular OB won’t take me back! I feel more confident about the care for myself and especially the babies here, with a proper NICU and high-risk OBs/MFMs on the premises 24/7 for whom my case is no big deal rather than frightening.

As my bloggy friend Carrie (30.5w along with triplets) has been saying since August, “October or Bust!” At the risk of jinxing us, it looks like we made it!

Now I have to come up with a new goal. How about “as long as possible”? Or “any day that’s not today”?

17 Responses to “33w1d: A Very Merry Un-Birthday To You”

  1. Lavender Luz Says:

    Whew. I’ve been thinking about you all day.

    Why do I have that Barry Manilow song going through my head (albeit a couple of hours prematurely)?

    “Looks Like We Made It.”

    Still thinking of you.

  2. Valerie Says:

    Yay! I’m so happy for you. I couldn’t wait to read your post after work wondering how you’re holding up. This is is such great news.

  3. loribeth Says:

    Wow — here’s hoping they hang in there until at least tomorrow. And maybe a few more tomorrows after that too. ; ) 33 weeks is awesome, but of course, it would be great to have them in there a little longer, too. Thinking of you!

  4. Carrie Says:

    OCTOBER OR BUST!!! We’ve almost arrived- and I am on West Coast time. Can I pretend I am on East Coast time too? πŸ™‚

    I am so glad you are not the typical responder to Mag. I’ve heard it described as a “drug of torture” and like having sand in your eyes and mouth. Thank goodness your body is ignoring all of that.

    Thinking of you constantly over here!

  5. Kymberli Says:

    So good, all good, very good. I thought that when we heard from you again it would be to announce the delivery – I like this news better! Soon and very soon…so glad that you’ve made it into October!

  6. Sarah Says:

    October or bust!

  7. Wishing4One Says:

    I am getting so excited! Glad to hear all is well and anyday now we will all be celebrating with you my friend.

  8. Quiet Dreams Says:

    Yay for October babies! So happy to hear from you! πŸ™‚

  9. Michele Says:

    YAY!!! It’s October!!! It’s midnight on the 1st and you made it!!!

    Crossing my fingers that you go to 34w. I’d be even happier to see you at 36w but I’m hoping for that beautiful 34!

  10. nancy Says:

    oh boy. And then watch the mag get stopped and all babies just hang out like they’ve been wanting to stay in forever.

    So happy they are in thier cooking as long as they have. This is fabulous. I’m praying intil 37 weeks!

  11. Elana Kahn Says:

    NIIIICE!!! You made it! Well now I have to make a new prediction for you, don’t I. 10/4 or 10/10… 10/4 because of policemen saying it and 10/10 because it’s cool…

  12. luna Says:

    hooray for october! good job little ones. and you too mama.

  13. samcy Says:

    I’ve been thinking of you and wondering if they came – glad to hear they’re still baking some more! Wishing you all the best honey – I know you can wait to meet them but I can’t wait πŸ˜‰

    xxx

  14. Kristin Says:

    I’m glad Lori said it first. As soon as I read β€œLooks Like We Made It”, I started hearing Barry Manilow. I am so glad you are still pregnant.

  15. Photogrl Says:

    Yay for October babies!

    My vote is for “Any Day but today!”


  16. Yay! You all made it! So happy! I hope you’re able to keep us posted…


  17. Looks like you could definitely have your sweet babies before I have mine! October is a good month. πŸ™‚ Will be lurking and waiting…


Please leave a reply

