33w: Milestones

September 29, 2009

When I was admitted to the hospital five weeks ago, I had a series of milestones in my mind that I wanted to achieve before giving birth.

Not August? Check.

DH’s birthday? Check.

Autumn? Check.

The Jewish New Year of 5770? Check.

Past the Days of Awe and Yom Kippur? Check. (Bedrest and hospitalization did not allow for Tashlich, so last year’s will have to do).

October? Hmm…

I’m back in the hospital at 33w. 5 cm dilated, having more contractions. Can these babies wait another 26 hours until October? I’ll let you know either way.

I’m not afraid for their health anymore. But I’m a little freaked out that after all these years, I’m finally going to meet my babies.

37 Responses to “33w: Milestones”

  1. Kymberli Says:

    Oh, wow. I’m thinking of you and the babies (and DH, no doubt he’s freakin’) and keeping you all in my prayers. I will be waiting rather impatiently for future updates.

    xoxo


  2. You have done so well to make it to 33w. Whether they come now or in October I hope their arrival goes smoothly for all of you. I’m thinking of you. Take care. *hug*

  3. jill Says:

    OMG I’m thinking of you!! I’m sure you and the babies will be just fine but I’m hoping that they can hold on at least a few more days.

    But how very exciting!

    Wishing you all the happiness in the world! πŸ™‚

  4. Quiet Dreams Says:

    Hold on babies! Aaaiiieeee! So glad you made so many milestones…hoping for October, too, but mostly hoping for health for all of you.

  5. BB Says:

    OMG… I am praying that you can hang on for just a lil longer! I am sure everything is gonna go well! All the very best to the four of you! {HUGS}

  6. Enna Says:

    How very exciting! I’m so happy for you that you and the babies have made it to 33 weeks and I wish you and your family all the best in the next days and hours- what a thrilling moment in your lives!

  7. rosesdaughter Says:

    WOW! 5 centimeters??? Wishing you the best of luck!! Keep us posted!

  8. Carrie Says:

    OH MY GOD!!!! This is so thrilling!

    33 weeks is AWESOME and I cannot wait for you to meet your children, at long last.

    Many, many wonderful wishes for whatever the next 26 hours bring you… maybe they’ll still be October babies!!!

    HUGE hugs!

  9. Elana Kahn Says:

    Hey 33 weeks is nothing to sneeze about. It’s awesome. I’m going to say babies will be here tomorrow…with contrax and you at 5cm, I don’t think you’re going to make the 26 hours… I’m going to say you’ll have the twins within the next 12 hours (so before 11am EST). I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  10. Sue Says:

    Meeting the babies is going to be amazing.
    I can’t wait to hear how you get on.
    Sue x

  11. Kristin Says:

    OMG, hang in there little ones. Quit driving mom crazy and give her a couple more days (although that isn’t likely). Hoping and praying for healthy, strong babies.

  12. Michele Says:

    Hang on until October babies! (Preferably the end of October at least!)

    Fingers crossed for good news no matter when the babies come.

  13. staciet Says:

    Wow! I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you!

  14. WiseGuy Says:

    Waiting anxiously for your news….

    Sending positivity your way!

  15. samcy Says:

    You have done SO well! Thinking of you all in this time πŸ™‚ (can’t believe you’re *this* close to meeting them)

    xxxx

  16. Cindy Says:

    I’m thinking of you as you prepare to meet your beautiful babes….

  17. Heather Says:

    So happy you’ve gotten this far!!!!! Can’t wait to hear about your good news. October is a nice month for a birthday. Our first was born October 6, 2000, but I was due on Halloween with her. She thinks she was jipped as she wishes she could have a Halloween birthday. The past two years we’ve had her birthday party later in the month and had a costume party. That’s the plan again this year.

  18. Ana Says:

    Thinking of you….how exciting!

  19. birdless Says:

    How exciting! I’m thinking of you and wishing you and your babies a safe delivery.

  20. Cat Says:

    Glad to hear you’re still hanging in there. 33 weeks is awesome, especially with all you had to do to get here. Good luck with the delivery!

    P.S. If you’re freaked out to meet them, just wait until they let you take them home. By yourself. With no one else but you and DH to keep them alive and well. That’s more than a little terrifying (but also pretty damn wonderful).

  21. Nishkanu Says:

    Woo-hoo, babies! Sending you lots of wishes for good health and happiness, whether they arrive in September or October.

  22. Dora Says:

    Ya know, they’ve been such good little children, staying put so long. But kids are kids, so I think today is their birthday!

    I TOTALLY hear you about being freaked out! It is just plain freaky when you’ve waited so long. Wonder if that’s why, no matter how tired I am, or how much I doze while reading in bed, when I turn out the light, I can’t sleep.

    xoxo to all of you!

  23. MeAndBaby Says:

    How exciting! Congrats!! Can’t wait to read about the birthday celebration.


  24. Wow! How exciting and scary at the same time. Meeting the babies will be so rewarding. Thinking of you (and waiting anxiously for more news)!

  25. Lynn Says:

    Oh! Praying that they’ll hold on til October! You’ll be so overjoyed when you see them, you’ll forget all about being nervous. Eagerly awaiting news!

  26. Lavender Luz Says:

    Woweeee! Woweeee!

    I’ll be madly clicking “refresh” over the next few days to get the latest.

    Please know that my thoughts are with you. Imagine that scene in the Red Tent where your Sisters are supporting you.

    XOXO, Cassandra.

  27. heatherh Says:

    congrats making it to 33w!!! tahts amazing, and soo exciting to finally meet your little ones


  28. This brings the biggest smile to my face. I can’t wait for you to meet them πŸ™‚

  29. xj2608 Says:

    Much luck for the next few hours and beyond! I hope you achieve all of your goals, and the babies arrive healthy and complaining at the top of their lungs.

  30. Shinejil Says:

    Oh boy oh boy oh boy! How exciting!

  31. Photogrl Says:

    Holding ALL of you in my thoughts and prayers…

    ((HUGS))


  32. Sending you and your little ones good thoughts for a beautiful and safe birth, no matter when it happens.

  33. Beth Says:

    Wow- so exciting, and awesome (in the real sense of the word, not like an ’80’s teenager). Wouldn’t it be fun to have one in September and one in October, separated by just a few minutes? regardless of when you meet the twins, good luck and good health to you all.


  34. Thinking about you EVERY single day. I’m reading, just not commenting as much. I usually have a baby or two in my arms and it makes commenting difficult…you’ll see!!

  35. CC Says:

    I sit and imagine how my “meeting the babies” moment will go. I think I will be 100% freaked out about it actually happening. Good luck! You’re almost done.

  36. Sarah Says:

    Yeah! I hope they wait until tomorrow!

  37. Kate Says:

    Ooh! Good luck. How exciting, and how great that you’ve almost made your October goal.
    I’m praying I make it to 33 weeks too. Mid-Jan, I can deal with. These little contractions I’ve been having since 16.5w had just better settle down already! Or at least they’d better not be changing my cervix.


Please leave a reply

