32w1d: Tuesday

September 23, 2009

Tuesdays are the best day of the week: the day the babies’ gestational age turns over. It all started when I had my IUI on a Tuesday, way back when, and since then every Tuesday has been “turnover day.”

On Tuesdays I systematically go through the different online week-by-week fetal development websites, and learn that my babies are now the size of jicamas or that their toenails are fully developed.

On Tuesdays I open the spreadsheet I made to track gestational age and post-birth visitors (which requires all sorts of if/then decision trees). Maybe the best moment of the week is deleting the prior week’s gestational age column — yesterday, goodbye 31w. It simultaneously satisfies my OCD list mentality and also signals that yes, we really have reached a new milestone. The projected NICU stay goes down by one week with each deletion. It’s no longer out of the question that they might have little or no NICU time at all. This little ritual has become even more meaningful since I was hospitalized a month ago for preterm labor. The initial prognosis when I was having contractions 4 minutes apart and dilating quickly was that I might deliver that day (28w0d) but that maximum I’d maybe make it to 31w or 32w. 32 weeks, here I am.

On Tuesdays (and now also Fridays, since I’ve been in the hospital) I have an ultrasound, and every other Tuesday it’s an extended ultrasound to measure their growth. When I’m on the table, I say to myself that this is the best moment of the week. Listening to their heartbeats has lost its novelty after being hooked up to the TOCO and fetal monitors for more than an hour each day (down from over 2 hours per day when I was first hospitalized), but the ultrasound thrills me every time.

Yesterday was an even better every-other-Tuesday than usual, because I came home from the hospital. I was so afraid to leave the hospital a couple of weeks ago, but now it sure is good to be home.

27 Responses to “32w1d: Tuesday”

  1. Jamie Says:

    YAY!! I am so glad they let you go home!! I was hopeful that they would at some point since you’ve been doing so well.

    I remember when our goal was just to make it to 32 weeks — and now look… Amazing.

    Hang in there. Enjoy the comforts of home!

  2. Carrie Says:

    Hooray! You and the babies are doing so very well and you are getting SO close. I celebrated each comfort of home, and still do after knowing the loneliness that can come in the hospital.

    Tuesdays are good days indeed! We celebrate Sundays around here, for the same reason.

  3. jill Says:

    Happy 32 weeks! So glad you were able to go home! yay 🙂

  4. Callie Says:

    I’m so excited for you and the babies! You made it to football season! It’s great that you’re home as well. Sending good thoughts that they babies stay tucked warm and tucked in for several more weeks!


  5. I am SO glad you are home. I can’t imagine how good that must feel. Your little ones certainly are troopers!! Congrats on 32 weeks. Thurs is my “turn-over” day and I totally understand the excitement that the day brings. One step closer…

  6. Kari Says:

    Congrats on making it one more week!! Good luck!!

    ICLW

  7. fattykins Says:

    YAY! Hang in there, babies! You are now officially FALL babies! See if you can give us at least 2 more weeks, okay?

  8. BB Says:

    Yay… you are back home! Congratulations on 32 weeks! 🙂

  9. a Says:

    Glad you were able to go home! Congrats on 32 weeks – I’m sure you’re going to do very well for the remaining weeks.

  10. becomingwhole Says:

    Holding you and your autumn babies in my thoughts…so glad that you are at home, and even more glad that this makes you happy. Hoping not to get a birth announcement (relatively) soon.

  11. karlinda Says:

    Yay for making it to 32 weeks! That’s awesome. But don’t get too excited now – you want to make sure they hang in there for a few more weeks yet! 😀

  12. Wishing4One Says:

    Yeah for being home, Cassandra welcome home girl!!!

    32 weeks, i remember when you announced that you were doing the IUI to satisfy insurance or as a trick or something (sorry didnt go and look back).

    What an awesome time for you, for us, looking forward to seeing the twins, soon but not too soon. xoxoxoxoxoox

  13. s.e. Says:

    Such wonderful news. I have been following your story only 1 week and a couple days behind you. I too remember since 26 weeks the imminent possibility of a very early delivery. So I love celebrating with you this amazing milestone.

    I am so glad you are home holding those babies safe.

  14. May Says:

    Home home home!! Fabulous!!

    Have you started getting jokes about needing an induction yet??

  15. rosesdaughter Says:

    YaY!! so wonderful that they let you go home!! And congrats on making it to 32 weeks!!!!!

  16. Tiffany Says:

    Yay for 32 weeks! I can only imagine how excited you are!
    And welcome home! I’m sure that is absolutely awesome after being stuck at the hospital for so long!

  17. mekate Says:

    Welcome Home!
    and Happy happy happy 32 weeks. How wonderful that you’ve all decided to hang out together a while longer, and that you are all ok.

    thinking of you,
    Kate

  18. Elana Kahn Says:

    Yay for 32 weeks!!!! That is so awesome. I just loved ticking off every week and knowing that the babies were growing bigger and bigger every week.

  19. Kristin Says:

    I am so freakin’ happy for you. Everyday those little ones stay in there is a miracle. Keeping y’all in my prayers.

  20. Amy Says:

    Amazing news! So glad you are home!

  21. Lavender Luz Says:

    Oh, this is wonderful news in so many ways!

    Over the course of a day, there are many times I say to myself, “Cassandra’s babies made it another day,” and have a moment of gratitude.

    And you’re home!

    Still liking October 10.

  22. birdless Says:

    Congratulations on the excellent milestone! You are doing so great!

  23. Enna Says:

    Oh what wonderful news! That makes my heart so happy! Congratulations! Sounds like being a good patient has really paid off 🙂

  24. samcy Says:

    Bliss! Your own bed, your own pillows and most importantly of all – with babies still snug inside 🙂

    xxx

  25. Billy Says:

    32 weeks :-)!
    And yay for going home!!

  26. Photogrl Says:

    Yay for being home!

    Awesome.


Please leave a reply

