Murphy

September 21, 2009

I knew it. I just knew it.

Less than a week after predicting that the eldest of DH’s younger siblings would probably have a baby in 2010, and that I’d win the baby race by only the tiniest margin, I found out she is pregnant after all. I found out one day after she POAS. She got pregnant the first cycle after going off the Pill. The Pill that she’s been on since I first met her, over 15 years ago. And I am the only person she has told about the pregnancy. Now I must counsel her daily on pregnancy symptoms and crib safety and how long her wedding dress will still fit and when she should announce to the family and which hand-me-downs I will be giving her. Did I mention that she is 4 weeks pregnant?

After DH read my Dibs post, he said, “Not 2010! Maybe 2011.” And I corrected him, “No, 2010.”

DH: She’s not even getting married until the summer.
Me: But she’s already pulled the goalie. She’s just gone off the pill.
DH: How do you know?
Me: Don’t ask me why, but she confided in me.
DH: That’s really weird. You’re not close at all.
Me; Yup.
DH: What is her hurry?
Me: It probably has something to do with me being pregnant. Who knows.
DH: But you have no way of knowing that she’ll get pregnant right away. Maybe it will take 7 years like it did for us, and she’ll have a baby in 2017.
Me: No, it will be the first cycle that she tries.
DH: Why?
Me: Murphy’s Law.

At least I saw you coming this time, Murphy, you bastard.

34 Responses to “Murphy”

  1. Cat Says:

    Isn’t that always the way? My sister has a friend with three kids: two were conceived while on the pill and one while using a condom. Talk about Fertile Myrtle.

  2. Enna Says:

    Well, you certainly predicted that one!
    I can’t believe how this stuff works, so crazy that for some it hardly takes trying and for others it consumes months and years.


  3. I say we throw Murphy onto one of his beds then fold him up and brick him behind a wall. Who’s with me?


  4. DAMN! Nice call! Stupid Murphy and his damn “laws”.
    *HUGS*

  5. staciet Says:

    I’m with GeekByMarriage! That would be a wonderful solution.

    Stupid Murphy.

    I am sorry, though. It really should be your turn in the spot light, and you shouldn’t have to share it with someone who is two seconds pregnant. That’s only right after all you’ve been through to get here! Hugs.

  6. jill Says:

    Oy isn’t that always the way…

    I have a friend who “pulled the goalie” recently – she says she doesn’t want kids, long story – and I just KNOW she’s going to annouce any minute now. She knows about my issues and the other night she said “wouldn’t it be funny if your sisters were like you and couldn’t have kids either?!” Uh yeah, that would be SO funny. I don’t even know what prompted her to say that but needless to say, it stung.

  7. Carrie Says:

    GAAAH. That drives me crazy!

    You might want to become some kind of fertility psychic, yes?

  8. samcy Says:

    You still beat her to the post πŸ™‚ that would give me HUGE satisfaction!

    Murphy needs to be SHOT!!

    xxx

  9. rosesdaughter Says:

    Ain’t that a b****?

  10. Kristin Says:

    That’s so damned unfair. I’m so very glad you are getting there first though.

  11. loribeth Says:

    Why does Murphy always have the edge?

    And why do the men always doubt us on these things??

  12. Gabby Says:

    Girl – you so knew this one! An IF woman’s intution is so powerful.. I am so so glad you are pregnant already. this would be so so tough if not! Thank God!

  13. becomingwhole Says:

    This one hits kind of close to home…I have come to think that GeekByMarriage is effin BRILLIANT, however. I also think that you might have a future as a fertility psychic, as Carrie said.

  14. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Ah Murphy! Somebody’s chasing you with a crowbar!

  15. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    You have any readings for me?

  16. BB Says:

    Haha… crazy IF! We get good at predicting stuff with this F’ed up hormones! Well, you bet her anyways, so let’s try to leave it at that!

  17. Cass Says:

    Sheesh, isn’t that always the way!!? Ugh 😦

  18. Dora Says:

    Bitch! Hope she’s one of those preggos who’s skin breaks out terribly and whose hair gets greasy and nasty 20 minutes after shampooing. Imagine the wedding photos! πŸ˜€ Oh, yeah, and big swollen cankles and feet that won’t fit into delicate bridal shoes.

    Still, just imagine how adorable your twins will be all dressed up at the wedding. They will totally steal her thunder.

  19. nancy Says:

    That effing sucks.

    Well, you did it with more style. So there. ~ ~hugs~

  20. meepit79 Says:

    Murphy is seriously a giant goober. I hope his law comes and bites him squarely on the behind.

    Glad you got there first though. I thought your diversionary tactics with your husband were brilliant.

    ICLW

  21. Heather Says:

    Yup. That’s how it always works! I shared my daughter’s birth year of 2000 with two of her cousins. Both of my husband’s SILs were pregnant with me that year. It was so nice being pregnant with the boys this year as I didn’t have to share the thunder with anyone!!!

  22. nh Says:

    Isn’t that the way. Down with murphy!

    ICLW

  23. Shinejil Says:

    Next time I see him, Murphy’s in deep shit.

  24. Fran Says:

    I loved you last comment!! made my laugh!!
    Anyway, fair play to the fertility of this young one, I wonder if she any to spare!
    Love, Fran

    ICLW

  25. birdless Says:

    That’s insane! Just figures too.

  26. Photogrl Says:

    Never fails, does it?!?

    What’s DH saying now?

    Damn, you Murphy…damn you.

  27. Elana Kahn Says:

    I hate that…. I hate it sooooo bad. Seriously.

  28. Nina Says:

    Winning by an inch is still winning, babe! I know it hurts. But you know you’ll love him/her/them when they get here just as much as if it had taken longer. Just concentrate on keeping the little ones in for as long as possible.

  29. Ana Says:

    Arrrrghhh. that’s all I can say. reading about that just got my blood pressure up.

  30. Mel Says:

    Oh, Murphy sucks balls πŸ™‚ But good call, at least?

  31. Katie Says:

    EEESH….. figures. Murphy is a bitch.

    ICLW

  32. Tiffany Says:

    Ugh! I know exactly what you mean? I still don’t understand why or how that works. But it’s just one of those things, I suppose!

  33. molnarm Says:

    Huh, thats just too bad.


Please leave a reply

