Show and Tell: Zen Non-Attachment Revisited Once Again

September 9, 2009

Show and TellSince I will not be leaving the hospital for at least a couple more weeks (currently 30w1d and counting), I might as well go back to the Show and Tell I would have posted a couple weeks ago had I not been hospitalized.

More than a year ago I showed you a lovely pot I’d made that I dropped on the concrete floor when I was taking it out of the kiln. This pot was intended to sit in my pantry holding garlic (hence some decorative holes for proper aeration). I talked about my approach of Zen non-attachment with pottery, and how that Zen does not extend to fertility.

Unattached Pot

I subsequently showed you other examples of ruined pots that required Zen non-attachment due to no fault of my own, ranging from smaller incidents inside the kiln to The Great Pottery Calamity of 2008.

I may approach things with a Zen attitude, but that doesn’t mean I don’t still want replacements for the ones I’ve lost.

During my most recent round of pottery, I was set on finally replacing the lost pot. I decided to make some backups so that I’d be sure to end up with at least one for myself — having long ago given away three very nice pots with similar shapes, some for garlic, some without holes, to members of DH’s family, who showed a range of levels of appreciation (you can probably guess who was insufficiently appreciative). Finally, I have my garlic pot… and then some.

success

My favorite of the bunch, not intended for garlic because there are no holes, from a different angle.
DSCF0810

A close replacement, in form and function if not color:
DSCF0807

Not that any cooking has been taking place in my house at any point during this pregnancy. But whenever garlic eventually gets purchased, it will have a home, finally.

23 Responses to “Show and Tell: Zen Non-Attachment Revisited Once Again”

  1. Michele Says:

    Those are gorgeous! And you are a better girl than I! There is no way that I wouldnt have hardcore attachment and cry at every break!

  2. Julie Says:

    As I have pretty much no artistic ability I’m impressed – love the idea for the garlic holder (considering hubby leaves ours just out and about)

  3. Amy Says:

    Those are all so beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

  4. BB Says:

    Wow… those are awesome! You are pretty artistic! I am so happy to see that you are in the 30’s (weeks) now! Great job you are doing! šŸ™‚

  5. Lynn Says:

    Those are gorgeous! You’re really very talented šŸ˜€

    I think its best to always (whenever possible) make a replacement for things. Its been pretty much a constant in my life that if I want something badly, it doesn’t turn out that I get it. Glad someone finally got what they wanted!


  6. Very nice! I love those! Every time you post a picture of your pottery, I look at them with such longing. They are always so beautiful and you always make them with such intensity. You make such beautiful objects.
    Thank you for sharing them with all of us.
    *HUGS*

  7. Mel Says:

    All are gorgeous, but I think my favourite is the second one up on the left (at 10 o’clock if it were a clock). You are an incredibly artist.

  8. Kristin Says:

    I so love your pottery. It is truly amazing.

  9. jill Says:

    Your pottery is just beautiful! I used to like to throw – it was so relaxing. I haven’t ever had a place near by to do it easily. I think I’ll look around and see if there are classes offered somewhere around here. šŸ™‚

    (Thinking of you and your babies all the time!)


  10. I love garlic and I love this garlic pot. You should totally have DH put some garlic in it now. Then it will be waiting for you many weeks from now when you’re back on your feet.

  11. Erika Says:

    These are beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  12. Lavender Luz Says:

    I am so lucky to have your designs. I love the floral patterns, and the zen-ness.

    And yet, I know that an intact model doesn’t always replace the original.

  13. Hema Says:

    Love your pottery. The one for garlic is a great idea. I would be looking for a pot like that if i can find one.

  14. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    Okay… yup… officially envious of your talent. Those bowls are beautiful!

  15. Delenn Says:

    Those are wonderful! I would love to be able to make such great looking (and functional) pottery!

  16. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Well, you are absolutely wonderful at it! Am so glad that you got what you wanted (and needed).

    Can’t escape focussing on “you can probably guess who was insufficiently appreciative”…

    Maybe if I wasn’t in a sour mood, I would have read that in-course.

  17. Billy Says:

    Your pots are so beautiful!
    I especially love the last two :-).

  18. Dora Says:

    They’re beautiful! That zen of non-attachment is so hard, but necessary, at least to some extent, when working in a fragile medium. My fave is the celadon one. I just LOVE celadon glaze. The carving is lovely on that one, too.

    It’s been many years since I did any pottery, but at a certain point I did stop giving pieces to people who were insufficiently appreciative.

  19. loribeth Says:

    You do gorgeous work, Cassandra! — I love the colours!

  20. Photogrl Says:

    Love the pots! SO cool!

  21. samcy Says:

    Absolutley stunning! I love how you used the holes as the middle of the flowers – so clever! I would have maybe also done a sun around them..

    xxx

  22. birdless Says:

    Those are awesome! My poor, neglected garlic just sits in a paper bag on a shelf, LOL.


  23. really beautiful pieces, your favorite is my favorite of the bunch as well. thank you for sharing


Please leave a reply

