Show and Tell: Flat

August 27, 2009

Show and Tell

We interrupt this week’s regularly scheduled Show and Tell pottery-themed broadcast to bring you this special report…

DSCF0846

Red and blue babies’ heart rate lines, beautiful as they have been the whole time in the hospital. Black contraction line now wonderfully flat instead of contracting strongly every 4 minutes.

Ignore the “No FM” sign; that means I was not hooked up to the monitor when I took the picture. I can’t very well stand up and take pictures while I’m strapped down to triple monitors.

Magnesium sulfate has stopped the contractions. The cervical shortening continues. Even though there’s almost no cervix left to shorten further (from 2 centimeters last week to .9 centimeters Tuesday to only .5 centimeter Wednesday, consistently 80% effaced Tuesday and Wednesday, 1 centimeter dilated at first on Tuesday then 2-3 centimeters dilated Tuesday night and Wednesday), there is hope that we will make it to September. Maybe even October. These are not supposed to be summer babies. These are autumn babies. Do you hear me, babies? Wait until the leaves start falling, please. The leaves are very pretty around here. Wait and see.

I’ll be in the hospital for at least a few more days, possibly weeks. Every doctor laughs when I say that I’ll stay here for 3 months if they’d like, but I mean it.

19 Responses to “Show and Tell: Flat”

  1. WiseGuy Says:

    Am so glad that the contractions have stopped. And I can totally sense your anxiety when you say that you could do this rest thing for 3 months if so told.

    I want you to stay calm.

    And dear babies, please listen to your mother…she will let you know when it is time. Please be good.


  2. Good to read that the contractions have stopped. I hope the babies stick around for a few more weeks so they can get a little stronger. Seems you’re in good hands. Hang in there.

  3. Carrie Says:

    Thank God for the Mag sulfate. I am so glad the contractions have stopped and you are stable now.

    I’d like to talk to your cervix: Okay, Cervix. You have received plenty of attention and now you just need to stay still and strong. Relax, take a nap, and don’t move.

    Babies, the fall is a wonderful season in which to be born. I tell my babes that each day, too. Let’s be good little kiddos and listen, okay?

    Thinking of you three constantly. Thank you for updating us.

    HUGS!

  4. Cindy Says:

    I’m glad the contractions have stopped….you’re in my thoughts.

  5. samcy Says:

    I’m glad that they’ve stayed in honey! Praying that they stick around for a lot longer 🙂

    xxx


  6. My heart leapt into my throat when
    I read your last post! I’m so glad that the contractions have stopped and I hope that these babies behave and stay right where they’re supposed to stasy for the long haul.

  7. Jamie Says:

    Looks like a great strip! Just what we want to see!! 🙂

  8. Michele Says:

    I tell the babies every day that they cannot be August babies… That they must wait until September at least but that October would be better and if they can hold out until Nov 7th, I’d be the happiest mommy in the world…

  9. Katie Says:

    I’m glad that things are going well now. Keeping you and the babes in my thoughts.

  10. Lin Says:

    Excellent news…(((HUGS)))

  11. Dora Says:

    So glad to hear the contractions have stopped. But, damn! What to do with your naughty cervix! Thank you for keeping us posted from your hospital bed. Hope blogging is keeping you at least a little distracted.

    Hope you prove those docs wrong and keep those kids inside for another 3 months!

  12. Jules Says:

    Completely missed this post with the TT going up.
    Glad the mag is keeping things calmer.

    Hoping in the least you get September babies but they can wait longer of course (even better).

  13. Photogrl Says:

    The blue and red lines make me smile, but the nice FLAT black line makes me GRIN!

    I’m glad the mag is working it’s magic.

    Babies, listen to your Momma, she really does know best.

    Keeping you all close in my thoughts and prayers.

    ((HUGS))

  14. Lavender Luz Says:

    Whew! Glad they are staying put. How are you staying busy? Have you read every blog post written this week? You’ll probably cream the rest of us at Blogger Bingo.

  15. Staciet Says:

    Yeah for drugs. I am so happy that your little ones are staying put. They mind well! I hope that means they’ll do the same when they get here in 3 months!

    Hugs. Thinking good thoughts for you.

  16. Kristin Says:

    What a fabulous picture! Stay put babies.


  17. Oh my God, I’m so happy they stayed in. October! October! to the little ones and your cervix. You’re so brave and strong.

    I’ve been thinking about you a lot and also praying and hoping for you and the babies. Now, I’m chanting October!

  18. becomingwhole Says:

    Stay, babies, stay. It’s nice in there. I mean, it’s nice out here, but all in good time. Good thoughts, and hope, and peace going out to you, your mommy, and daddy.


  19. It’s the desire to do anything and everything you can to make sure your little ones are safe and healthy. Glad the contractions are gone. Just keep baking those babies! I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to be in the hospital constantly but, if it helps, right? Hang in there, we’re with you all the way.


Please leave a reply

