Perfect Moment Monday: Clean-ish Sweep

August 24, 2009


Perfect Moment

(Note: Pregnancy mentioned, though the post is ultimately about infertility.)

A year ago, I wrote about the clean sweep I had to make of my house in advance of a visit from DH’s family.

I hid it all. Books on fertility and pregnancy. The few baby items I’d purchased or made over the years. Prenatal vitamins. Basal body thermometer. Stupid piece-of-crap ovulation predictor watch. Syringes. Sharps boxes. RE paperwork. Fertility medications, unrefrigerated and refrigerated. (The latter required a bit of creativity, as I described last year.)

The family is back. Just before they drove up, I made another sweep of the house (a rather cursory sweep, since I’m on bedrest and not supposed to be roaming around the house).

  • Books on pregnancy displayed prominently on bookshelf. Fertility and infertility books scattered among them — I will not hide them anymore.
  • Baby items are everywhere. We did have to move some of the bulkier items to different rooms so that the people sleeping in the babies’ room can actually get through the door, but that was tidying rather than hiding.
  • Prenatal vitamins out in the open.
  • BBT and ovulation predictor still hidden wherever I left them — they were useless to me, so who knows where they are.
  • RE paperwork left in the same pile in the office, under the mounds of OB and MFM paperwork.
  • Syringes, sharps boxes, and meds cleared out of the bathroom cabinet. They filled a grocery bag to overflowing, mostly with unused needles. Hundreds and hundreds of needles. Infertility aside, it would be a little weird to go into anyone’s bathroom and find a giant sharps box and hundreds of unused needles. More an act of courtesy than subterfuge.
  • Refrigerated meds haven’t been in the refrigerator for months (only a few leftover progesterone suppositories remain). I had stuffed them in a drawer somewhere during a prior clean sweep when I was pregnant but not yet telling people. This time, I am leaving them wherever they happen to be. Anyone who goes digging around the deep recesses of drawers deserves to find vaginal suppositories. Too bad they don’t have VAGINAL written in big letters on the package.

The perfect moments?

  1. I don’t have to hide my pregnancy, nor the intention to become pregnant, because I am finally pregnant. My giant belly and I are on bedrest; I couldn’t hide it even if I wanted to.
  2. If someone wants to snoop around and learns about our infertility history, fine. I am okay with that. I’m still not going to advertise it, but after 7 years of secrecy, if someone wants to ask the question, I will tell them the answer.

See what other perfect moments people have to offer on Perfect Moment Monday, hosted by Lori from Weebles Wobblog.

27 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Clean-ish Sweep”

  1. Fran Says:

    Cassandra thank you thank thank you thank you for your post on my blog, I really needed to feel hopeful and you gave me two blogs to look at which definitely helped me immensely. Big hugs to you and I wish you all the very best for your pregnancy. Love, Fran

  2. BB Says:

    I would imagine that it is such a releif (mentally) to not have to run around and have to hide (in your own house) all the IF related stuff!! Hope you have a good time with your DH’s family!

    You have been a great support to me and I can’t thank you enough for your insight in to the various situations I have faced recently! I admire your positive attitude! I can’t wait to see/hear about your healthy babies smiling in the back seat (of course in the next 8-10 weeks)!

    Happy ICLW to you too! 🙂

  3. trish Says:

    congratulations on your precious cargo …I know all about the hiding IVF.

    I hope the bedrest is a time to rest and put your feet up …when baby comes you look back fondly.

  4. birdless Says:

    That’s awesome! It must be easier to stop worrying about keeping secrets. Even before you were pregnant, didn’t you sometimes just want to tell everyone? I am keeping everything a secret but there are times I want to tell people, like my mother or sister, especially when they say something that hurts my feelings. I want them to understand, but I also don’t want to open that whole can of worms and open myself up to questions and having to talk about it. (That is where the whole blogging thing really helps though!)

  5. Lisa RM Says:

    I’m so happy for you! Not just the pregnancy, but not having to hide anymore.

  6. J Says:

    Congrats on your pregnancy!

    I’m quickly learning about the art of the “Clean Sweep.” Thought hubby and I did a good job last time his parents came over, only to realize that we had forgotten the Parents Magazine stuck in the middle of the stack on the end of our coffee table… which my FIL called us out on *facepalm* Thank goodness I babysit and was able to chalk it up to getting it to learn “discipline techniques” for sitting!

  7. Lavender Luz Says:

    Good luck with the visitors. I’ll be interested to hear about what, if anything, they notice and any questions they ask.

  8. Nina Says:

    I wouldn’t hide it either, although, with twins, I would think it would be hard at this point! I’m glad you feel better about things. Good luck!

  9. Deborah Says:

    I actually remember that post and I am so happy to read this one. So glad you were able to come out of the closet with a glorious pregnancy to boot. Take it easy!

  10. Cara Says:

    Hooray for this. I am so happy for you that full discosure could be an option.

    You are gorgeous, I’m sure!

  11. Dora Says:

    So happy to read this. You sound absolutely at peace with it. YAY!

    Hoping for a peaceful visit.

  12. Chelle Says:

    I know the feeling! It is a huge relief not to have to hide everything. One benefit to us is that it is very rare that anyone actually comes to our house. But now, they can come on in (for the most part!).


  13. HAPPY ICLW!

    YAY for not hiding anymore! I’m so glad you’re at peace and able to shout it from the rooftops.

    I hope your bed rest is going well and you enjoy your visit.
    *HUGS*

  14. Annissa Says:

    YAY!!!!! How exciting to be on the other end of the clean sweep!! Congrats on your bun and I hope that everything turns out great!! Hope you have a great visit with family too 🙂

    Happy ICLW!! 🙂

  15. Wishing4One Says:

    Yeah for coming out! Hope your visit is awesome and I actually hope someone finds some papers and asks about it….

  16. Michele Says:

    Hope you have a nice visit with the family!

  17. Kristin Says:

    I am so happy that you are at peace with your past and so excited about the future.

  18. Carrie Says:

    What a nice change, to have it all hanging out (no pun intended…) and for everything to be in the open.

    I am thinking of you and the babies, and hoping your bed resting was made more interesting with some family visiting.

  19. Kathy Says:

    What a difference a year makes… What a great reflection on your life/attitude both then and now. I am sorry you are on bedrest, but so happy that overall things seem to be going well with your pregnancy. Congratulations (as though I know have been here before, likely through ICLW, I am not sure if I have come by to wish congratulate you and wish the best with your babies on the way)! 🙂

    Thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind words.

    Happy ICLW to you too! 🙂

  20. kathi Says:

    Such a big contrast between this post and the year-ago post! Sending good wishes your way and hope you are enjoying your family’s visit.

    :: ICLW ::

  21. Jen Says:

    Isn’t it great to have the freedom in your own home to display whatever you want? I hope you have a great visit with your in-laws.

  22. RebeccaR Says:

    I was in IF hiding for so long that it felt so strange for people to openly comment on my pregnancy. I was like “how do you know?” as I was waddling from hauling twins around in my uterus.

  23. strongblonde Says:

    the thing is: if they wanted to ask about the IF stuff, they would totally be admitting to snooping around your house, right? wonder if anyone will admit to it?

    🙂

  24. Eve Says:

    Yes, there is sooooo MUCH freedom in being ‘out’ about things. I see part of my ‘job’ as being someone so lucky to have been able to have a child after infertilty is that I can ‘infiltrate’ the ‘fertile community’ and help to sensitize people more to how difficult, shameful and lonely infertility is.

    Hope you’re hanging in there with the bedrest!

  25. Baby Hungry Says:

    How refreshing that must be. To actually not hide anything from anyone. During IF, I feel like I am living two lives…the one I let people see and the one dealing with not having a baby when I want one so bad. I am so glad you aren’t living that double life anymore!

    ICLW

  26. Dot Says:

    We keep all of our IF stuff in the spare bedroom closet. If anyone comes over I lock that bedroom door, don’t need any snoopers !

    Hang in there with your bedrest !

    ((HUGS)))

    ICLW

  27. becomingwhole Says:

    Not having to hide anymore….definitely perfect.

    ICLW


Please leave a reply

