Get Ready for Jokes About a Dozen Eggs

August 17, 2009

I wondered what the next super-higher-order multiple birth might be. Would someone top 8? Ever get to 9? 10? Would anyone ever be “eating for 12” as DH and I joked when my own betas were sky-high? Now I have an answer.

At least the woman pregnant with 12 babies is in Tunisia and the media coverage might not be as crazy as it has been for Octomom (or Octomum as the Brits apparently call her).

Stop giving the rest of us a bad name!

11 Responses to “Get Ready for Jokes About a Dozen Eggs”

  1. jill Says:

    That is just crazy! How is that even possible when so many woman have issues carrying triplets…

  2. strongblonde Says:

    arg. i hadn’t heard about this yet!!

  3. Carrie Says:

    This is the last thing we need! Who are these crazy doctors??

  4. Staciet Says:

    That while idea leaves a bad taste in my mouth. It just kills me that these women take such incredible risks with their own lives, not to mention the lives of these babies they are trying to have. If it turns bad, and with so many at one time, it is just a matter of when, it can (and does) get very, very bad.

    There is a family who just recently had sextuplets (I think they are in Texas) at 23 weeks. Two have died. The other 4 are fighting and doing okay for babies of that gestational age, but they all have serious brain bleeds. And that is a tale of only half as many babies.

    Maybe I am just jaded.

  5. Michele Says:

    I read in my twin book that the most spontaneous conceptions was 15! It was in Italy and they had to deliver the babies at 4 months. This was well before u/s technology (I want say late 1800s or early 1900s but I dont remember) and the docs had no idea. They thought she has miscalculated her due date. So, they did what was then a really scary c/section and kept delivering and delivering and delivering… So sad. No one survived. 😦

    But what doctor in his right mind does stuff like IVF with that many eggs? Or even IUI! I mean, John and Kate were IUI people and six babies! My goodness!

  6. Mel Says:

    For the love. This is the first I’m hearing of it. That is so damn scary.


  7. Ugh! I just can’t believe this would be IVF. It’s got to be IUI, but still 12??? That’s insane and such a risk for all involved.


  8. I hadn’t heard about this either! This is insane! And she wants to have a vaginal birth? Does she not even realize how early she’d have them if they all make it?

  9. Cat Says:

    Ugh.

    Oh and, ‘It was not clear if she had IVF treatment or an alternative procedure called ovulation induction treatment.’ Are you freaking kidding me?! I can’t imagine anyone transferring TWELVE embryos. This cannot possibly be IVF. And if it was ovulation induction with or without IUI, that doc should be investigated for not calling off the cycle with all those eggs brewing.

    I hope that somehow this works out for the mother and babies.

  10. K Says:

    If this carries on the human race will start to make the rabbit reproductive system look redundant!!!


Please leave a reply

