Shopping Trip

August 15, 2009

This post has nothing to do with infertility, pregnancy, bedrest, any of it.

Last weekend, before bedrest, DH and I went to dinner. Afterwards I suggested that we stop at a kitchen store. Our can opener disappeared a couple of weeks ago (really, just vanished! bizarre!) and we’ve been living a canless existence.

For several minutes I carefully perused the floor-to-ceiling display of different can openers. I debated the pros and cons of different models with myself, since my husband does not tend to have opinions about such things. Finally, I made my selection (the kind that opens cans on the side, at the seal, leaving no sharp edges). Then…

Me: I just want to look over here at one thing. It won’t take long.
DH: I just realized that I voluntarily accompanied you to a kitchen store. We could be here all day.
Me: No, I’m not getting anything else. I’m not supposed to be doing anything in the kitchen anyway, too much standing.
DH: Can we go then?
Me: Let’s just walk the long way around to the cash register.
DH: (silent compliance)
Me: I don’t think I ever told you that sometimes when I’m upset, I come here and walk around to make myself feel better. Not often, but sometimes.
DH: That’s amazing. That is the opposite of how I react to kitchen stores. The exact opposite.

10 Responses to “Shopping Trip”

  1. Mel Says:

    He’s a fool, a fool! Kitchen stores soothe. They comfort. After all, where do we take solace and community other than the kitchen? It’s the gathering space in a house. And a kitchen store is like a kitchen multiplied by 100.

  2. Carrie Says:

    LOL! Kitchen gadgets set my mind at ease also. Anything related to cooking or baking, actually.

    I have that can opener! It ROCKS but the best thing about it is that no one who comes over can use it and I get to watch them try and listen to them tell me it is broken. 🙂 Always fun.

    Hang in there… do some virtual kitchen store shopping: http://www.williams-sonoma.com/shop/cooks-tools/index.cfm?cm_type=gnav

  3. Kristin Says:

    I love kitchen stores. Funny story about your hubby’s reaction.

  4. jill Says:

    Haha it must be a common guy thing. My husband feels the exact same way. I’m not a big shopper but I could browse in a store forever. But Rich, he wants to leave even before he gets in there.

  5. Wishing4One Says:

    LOL here too. I LOVE LOVE LOVE kitchen stores. Super S not so much, but is pretty patient when we would go, he just wandered off. (not too many cool kitchen stores here in Cairo, if any they are super small not large and grand like back there) Glad to hear all is well with you. I bet being horizontal is not so easy, and I don’t have any great suggestions, sorry. I can’t believe that so much time has passed already. It feels like you were just telling us about being pregnant! Anyway not too much longer and your miracles will be here, can’t wait!


  6. HA! I completely laughed out loud when I read what your husband said! I love it!

    Hope you’re not going crazy.
    *HUGS*

  7. strongblonde Says:

    🙂 kitchen stores, school supply stores, and health/beauty stuff all make me feel better. need a new brush? i’ll get it! anyone else besides me excited about all of the new tab options and different sizes of post-its? lol.

    glad the test was neg btw. you’re right: huge difference between 26 and 28 wks. lemme know if you watch any good movies!!!

  8. loribeth Says:

    ROFL!!! You have summed up the difference between the sexes in a nutshell!!

  9. Nity Says:

    I take it you’re the cook in the family… :o)


  10. Hahaha! I’m with DH — but bookstores… now that’s a different matter. Num-num!


Please leave a reply

