26w4d: Status Update

August 15, 2009

Non-substantive status update on pregnancy and bedrest, for anyone who may be wondering. The next post will be more interesting.

Glucose screen positive. 3-hour test next week. I’m not worried. Probably a false positive anyway, but if not, as long as the babies stay put, I will deal with whatever comes. 

fFN negative! Hooray! This is such a relief. This means that I very likely will not go into labor for at least two weeks. 26 weeks and 28 weeks are totally different worlds, prematurity-wise. And, it will hopefully be months longer.

My thrilling plans for the rest of the day:

  • Finish reading BBBB book.
  • Take a shower. I’m saving this up for a big treat later.
  • Do a few hours of work, logistics permitting (Typing while on my side is difficult. I’ve ordered voice recognition software, but any suggestions from bedrest veterans until it arrives?).
  • Watch a DVD with DH.
  • Continue to remain 100% caught up on my blog-reading and random web-surfing.

I have been considering a field trip upstairs to sit on a different sofa (and see my cat), but I may save that for tomorrow.

Except for the difficult logistics of being sideways at all time, things are great. Especially after the negative fFN, I am thrilled and grateful for each uneventful day that passes.

9 Responses to “26w4d: Status Update”

  1. Michele Says:

    Yay about the neg fFN test! (I want one but with the cerclage in the false positive rate is 60%; not sure I want that baggage.) I agree: typing on your side blows. Sometimes it takes me hours to get through just email and blogs because I have to change sides and moving my laptop in the hospital bed because of wires is not conducive. But at least we can still type and have the internet! 🙂

    Hoping the next 2w bring you closer to full term! Yippee~

  2. Mel Says:

    Bedrest is freakin’ hard. Sure, it’s nice to be horizontal for a few hours. After that…not so much. No good advice–just sympathy.

  3. Carrie Says:

    I had to do the 3 hour test with my daughter, and it was horrid. Make sure to bring plenty to do while you wait.

  4. Kristin Says:

    Bed rest sounds miserable but the rest of the news is great!

  5. Carbon Says:

    There is no way to make horizontal typing easy or fun. But, until you get voice recognition you could try this: http://www.lakefolks.org/cnt/

    On-screen keyboard with word prediction. So, you click the letters with your mouse and to speed up the process a bit it suggests words before you have to type the whole thing out. One-handed at a bad angle may yet be more efficient…

  6. Staciet Says:

    Yay about the neg fFN test! 28+ weeks here you come! You’re right, that is a huge thing to celebrate. 🙂

  7. Shinejil Says:

    Living on the edge! Though I can definitely appreciate the fun of switching couches/beds.

    Great news on the tests, with the exception of course of the 3 hour glucose threat test. Unsolicited advice: bring something protein-y that you can gobble down immediately afterward. Take your laptop and watch a DVD, or read a seriously engrossing but not too complicated book. The first hour, for me, was the worst.

  8. Ana Says:

    Great news on the fFN. 28 weeks is DEFINITELY different than 26. Hopefully they’ll stay tight for much longer, of course.

    Hopefully, also, the 3 hour glucose test is negative. If not, you’ll survive. Its all worth it, right?!

    No advice on the bedrest, never been there, can’t imagine.

  9. Chelle Says:

    Well hello there! This bedrest thing certainly does suck. The highlight of my day is taking a shower! at least I have a laptop now, I was going CRAZY. Although, I need to learn how to type on it. 🙂 It is great that the fFN test came back okay. I had one when I went into the hospital, but that was over two weeks ago.. I’m sure it’s fine. I take my GT next week… And I thought he was going to test me early?! oh-well. Like you, I’ll do whatever I have to do. I am sort of freaking out because my cervix hasn’t been measured since 18 weeks. I didn’t realize it until yesterday. At 24 weeks, she didn’t look at it at the u/s. I just keep saying it will be fine.


Please leave a reply

