26w0d: Turned on a Dime

August 11, 2009

After the happy-go-lucky fun of my 200th post, time for the not-so-good 201st.

Good news first: at the MFM today, ultrasound showed that the babies are developing wonderfully.

Not-good news: my cervix has shortened to less than 2 cm.

MFM called the OB and they decided that I should head immediately to the hospital for a non-stress test. Do not pass Go, do not collect $200. We did stop at home since it was on the way to get a book for me (Barren Bitches Book Brigade coming up!) and laptop for DH, anticipating that, best case scenario, I’d be at the hospital for at least a couple of hours. That was a wise move. I may start keeping books and laptops in the car for every appointment.

Non-stress test showed no contractions, nothing to be concerned about aside from the cervix.

I’m now on modified bedrest pending an OB visit in a couple of days and weekly MFM appointments after that. At least I have a good excuse for missing that meeting tomorrow.

Although I’m sorry they’re in the same (or worse) boat, it’s been so helpful to have several other pregnant-with-multiples-after-IF bloggers go through similar issues recently. Knowing what to expect kept me from freaking out when I was ordered to go to the hospital immediately. You should have seen DH’s face, though — as concerned as I’ve ever seen him.

Previously I’ve had the thought, “Shouldn’t they be monitoring my cervix more often?” I’ve also had the thought, “I love seeing the babies on the ultrasound, too bad it’s only once a month.” Be careful what you wish for.

Uneventful twin pregnancy (except for partial placenta previa, which has resolved) is now teetering on the brink of being eventful. Too eventful.

Fun infertility note: MFM decided that the abdominal ultrasound wasn’t enough for evaluating my cervix and that she needed a dildocam.

MFM: Have you had a vaginal ultrasound before?
Me, very chipper: Yes, over a hundred!

29 Responses to “26w0d: Turned on a Dime”

  1. rosesdaughter Says:

    Even though you are on bedrest, glad the babies are OK. Hopefully, modified bedrest won’t be too boring for you!

  2. Lavender Luz Says:

    I wonder what she thought when you said that so chipperly.

    I’m going for uneventful. How about you?

    Just sit tight, Twins. Stay comfy awhile and let Mama read (and then walk around and do stuff to get ready for you).

  3. Carrie Says:

    My jaw dropped when I read this. I am SO sorry your cervix is now misbehaving and in time out. I really don’t mean to joke because I am sure you are scared (although you are WAY more level-headed than I) and it is frightening when they shorten like that. As you know, mine has been shortening lately, but did initially grow when I started bed rest. Hoping that is what yours does.

    As for the bed rest, you are in good company, my dear. So glad you are already at 26 weeks and having no contractions. That is huge! Way to go, Twins! Keep up that stellar growth and stay nice and snug inside Mommy for a while, like 10 weeks. Mmmkay?

    Thinking of you! Tell your cervix to email mine if it wants to commiserate.


  4. Glad the babies are okay! Sorry to hear about having to go on bedrest. I’m glad they’re keeping a very close eye on you. Hang in there. At least there are no contractions. Hopefully the munchkins will stay put for a good while longer.

  5. jill Says:

    Oh no! Sorry to hear about the shortening cervix. I’m hoping that everything will stay put for a long while!!

  6. Kristin Says:

    Oh man…I am so sorry you are having to deal with this but I am so thankful that they caught it. Take care of yourself and I hope those little ones say in to finish baking.

  7. WiseGuy Says:

    Yikes!

    It is a good thing that there are NO contractions…

    And I am happy in a way that it was ‘caught’ in time.

    Want the rest of the pregnancy to go on uneventfully for you.

    And no more Taekwondo for you, you hear me?

    Take Rest and stay good!

  8. Two Kayaks Says:

    Glad that the babies are doing so well! Cervical issues are not uncommon during twin pregnancies, but it certainly makes for a nerve wracking experience, I’m sure. I hate that you are having to deal with this. It should be that, for those of us who have dealt with so much in the realm of infertility, our pregnancies should be smooth as silk.
    Get those feet up and let us know how you are feeling.

  9. Ana Says:

    Oh no. Thinking of you and hoping things go smoothly.

  10. Heather Says:

    Sorry things are becoming more eventful. The good news is that they are obviously checking everything to make sure you and the babies are OK. It’s great to see you do have a relaxed attitude about this. That will make it easier.

  11. Shinejil Says:

    Damn it! Here I was wishing you’d buck the trend and be one of those crazy twin moms who sails blissfully to 38 weeks and delivers two 8 pounders.

    However, I am glad you’re being followed carefully and they are keeping an eye on your cervix. And the lack of contractions is a very good sign.

    Hang in there!

  12. loribeth Says:

    Glad they are keeping a closer eye on you. I hope the bedrest helps!

  13. Mel Says:

    I’m right here for questions/venting/book discussion/distraction.

  14. Dora Says:

    So sorry to hear this. Stay in there little ones. Mommy wants to grow you big and strong.

  15. Elana Kahn Says:

    You remind me of my own twin pregnancy. Thank goodness they decided to check my cervix every 2 weeks, because it was under 2 at 20 weeks. They put in a cerclage at that point, put me on modified bed rest, told me to use progesterone suppositories and then checked me every two weeks. I made it all the way to 35 weeks, so it is totally doable! Good luck and hang in there!

    P.S. The doctor is now not even convinced my cervix was *really* incompetent. They took out the cerclage around 33 1/2 weeks and my cervix stayed at 2 cm dilated until I gave birth (by C-Section)–and I was having contractions all the time for those weeks.

  16. birdless Says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the cervix thing, but it is very good that it was caught in time. Glad the babies are doing so well!

  17. peeveme Says:

    Sorry to hear abotu the best rest but you sound like you are in good spirits and have it all in perspective. Yes, bring everything you could possibly need everywhere with you.

  18. Aunt Becky Says:

    So glad that they caught it, but whew! How scary!

  19. Michele Says:

    Bedrest blows (I was on home from 11w and put in the hosp at almost 21w, now almost 24w) but it is well worth it in the end. Every day we are in bed is another day that our babies are inside and dont have to worry about NICU time!

    Sending you positive thoughts!!!


  20. Good thinking grabbing a book and the laptop.

    Hope you don’t have to be admitted into the hospital and the bed rest does the trick.

    Good luck, hon.
    *HUGS*

  21. a Says:

    My aunt always used to tell me to carry a book in the car for those days when you’d get caught by a train. Guess that advice has other uses! Sorry to hear you’re on bedrest, but some days I would do anything to get out of a meeting!

    So now the MFM knows that you’re addicted to the vaginal ultrasound…

  22. BB Says:

    Praying for your cervix to hold up! Glad to know babies are doing well! Good luck {HUGS}

  23. strongblonde Says:

    arg. they’ve been monitoring my cervix every 2 wks with the transvag US. 😦 i’ve decreased a bit lately, but not like you. i specifically asked my ob last week what her cut off was. her response? 1cm. seriously? wouldn’t we have to worry about a head or foot falling out then??

    at least you get to do bed rest at home for now!!
    xoxo

  24. Jamie Says:

    Stupid cervix! Doesn’t it know the plan?!?!

    But I’m glad the twins are doing well and the placenta has gotten with the game plan.

    I hope you are able to enjoy your bed rest a little bit. Thank goodness for the internet!

  25. nancy Says:

    Well, glad the NST showed nothing going on in there. But scary, yes. Twins is such a scary thing around this time. But at least, like you said, you are prepared for it.

    Take it easy chickie. You don’t want to beat my 29 (or something like that) u/s I got with my singleton!

  26. Photogrl Says:

    Glad to hear you and the babies are okay…

    Stay strong, cervix, stay strong!

  27. Jules Says:

    Hope the bedrest works and things stay on the uneventful side. Never had them try an abdominal u/s for a cervical check – always got the wand.

    I got thrown in the hospital for what turned out to be just a weekend (thankfully) but at first they said it might be an extended stay. While couch-bedrest wasn’t fun, so much prefer that over the hospital. (although they did have a book cart which was pretty handy)

  28. mekate Says:

    I was just re-reading your positive holy fucking shit post, since i needed a lift and that always does it. Thank you-
    and shit about the cervix and the bedrest but HURRAH they found out about it so you can recline and all will be well.

    I am all for uneventful and will be pulling for you that you will, indeed, have no excitement about any of this for a number of weeks to come. Like, say, 10.

    good luck to you and sending warm thoughts your way,
    Kate


  29. Just getting caught up and wanted to let you know that I’m thinking of you. So sorry for this added stress 😦


Please leave a reply

