Show and Tell: Blogoversary Contest Winners

August 5, 2009

Show and TellMy Blogoversary Contest is over! We have two winners! Congrats to the winners, and thanks to everyone who entered!

The first one came easily, but it required an extra round of guessing to get the second winner — I think the title of the second winning song scared some people off. I’ll reveal their prizes at next week’s Show and Tell. In the meantime, here are the identities of the winners as well as the winning selections.

First, honorable mentions to S for pointing out a lyric I never noticed in Neon Bible:

A vial of hope and a vial of pain,
In the light they both looked the same.

…and to Kristen for guessing My Body Is A Cage. Yeah, that would seem like a logical choice for my IF anthem (as Rebecca pointed out in her comment, too obvious?), but not as much as the winning songs. It is a damn fine song, though. Haunting and evocative; the organ really amplifies the chord structure. Good stuff.

Second prize goes to Lori from Weebles Wobblog. I swear, it’s not fixed. It’s not some conspiracy to make her the #1 collector of my pottery. Yes, she won a little vase in my very first contest and I also brought her a little dish when I visited her house. But Lori won because she wasn’t afraid to guess (Antichrist Television Blues). Most of the song is not infertility-related — in fact, apparently the song is about Jessica Simpson’s father — but one part literally screams IF to me:

Dear G-d, would you send me a child?
Oh! G-d, would you send me a child?

Lord, would you send me a sign?
’cause i just gotta know if I’m wastin’ my time!

Take a listen — that section is at the 3-minute mark (cued up if you click through rather than watching the embedded video below).

I think that many infertiles have asked the universe to send us a sign because we just want to know if we’re wasting our time.

First prize goes to Birdless, who delurked just for the contest. Through her careful reading of the lyrics, she correctly guessed that the Arcade Fire song which most speaks to my infertile heart is Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles).

I am waitin’ ’til I don’t know when,
cause I’m sure it’s gonna happen then.

The ideas of waiting (and waiting and waiting) and of not knowing when is very familiar to those of us who have struggled with family-building. There’s also an explicit reference to unborn children in the song:

My eyes are covered by the hands of my unborn kids,
but my heart keeps watchin’ through the skin of my eyelids.

Here is my very favorite section of the song, both lyrically and musically. More than anything else I’ve ever seen, it truly sums up my seven years of infertility. Waiting, then not paying attention to waiting, then waiting more, then showing patience, only to see that patience get me nowhere:

They say a watched pot won’t ever boil,
well I closed my eyes and nothin’ changed,
just some water getting hotter in the flames.
[interspersed with marvelous swelling orchestration]

Oh, the orchestration. You really need the album version to hear the orchestration. Go to 1 minute 55 seconds.

And finally, a call for true patience. Not patience as in pretending that you’re not paying attention but really you’re peeking with one eye open, but truly believing in the good things to come.

Just like a seed down in the soil you gotta give it time.

Partly I wanted to hold this Blogoversary Contest because it’s fun to hold contests and give out pottery, but I also wanted to share these songs with all of you. When you’ve finished shoveling your car out of the snow and you’re driving to the RE at the crack of dawn for the 5th time that week, these songs make the trip a little easier. Trust me.

See what the rest of the class has to Show and Tell.

8 Responses to “Show and Tell: Blogoversary Contest Winners”


  1. Congrats to the winners!

    Beautiful songs and the lyrics are so touching. I’m glad you found something to make that drive a little less painful.
    *HUGS*

  2. birdless Says:

    I never win anything! 🙂

    I was familiar with Arcade Fire, but not that particular song actually. I went and read the lyrics you had posted because I like lyrics, and I was very curious about the song you were getting at. Thanks for the fun contest! I am going to have to buy some Arcade Fire on itunes now.

  3. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Congratulations to the winners!

    *Wink Wink* at Lori. She promised me she would give me the prize if I helped her correctly guess anything on your contest. Just j/king.

    You are so correct the lyrics are beautiful and heart-touching.

  4. Carrie Says:

    Congrats to the winners! I love, love the Arcade Fire! One of my IF songs is “Wake Up” from the album Funeral:

    “Something filled up my heart with nothing.
    Someone told me not to cry.
    Now that I am older,
    My heart’s colder
    And I can see that it’s a lie.”

    This was so much fun! Thanks for keeping us thinking!

  5. Lavender Luz Says:

    Yippeeee! I am going to build myself an entire china cabinet full of Cassandra-ware.

    Or, maybe ship pieces off to Wise Guy.

    Thanks for turning me on to this amazing music.

  6. Wishing4One Says:

    I think Cassandra-ware should be collectible on ebay soon. You are wonderful giving us so many chances to win your brilliant work. My mom loves her little vase!

  7. birdless Says:

    Hey, I thought of you when I saw the movie trailer for “Where the Wild Things Are” because it uses the song “Wake Up” in the trailer. Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFDcaTI0cl8

  8. Kristin Says:

    Huge congrats to the winners!


Please leave a reply

